Jamie Thomson - A Fiend in Need - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408316566
    • Publication date:01 Mar 2012
Books in this series

A Fiend in Need

Book 2

By Jamie Thomson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the body of a weedy schoolboy, returns in another darkly hilarious adventure... Brilliantly funny and subversive, this is the Funny Prize-winning Jamie Thomson at his best.

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the body of a weedy schoolboy, returns in another darkly hilarious adventure... Brilliantly funny and subversive, this is the Funny Prize-winning Jamie Thomson at his best.

Sooz, a 13 yr old girl from Surrey has become the Dark Mistress of Dirk's other worldly kingdom, the Darklands. Thanks to the Ring of Power given to her by Dirk, his minions recognise her as their ruler. Sooz immediately sets about redecorating Dirk's Dark Tower to the taste of a young girl.

But Sooz has to face her toughest challenge when an army of fanatical paladins and orcs gather to march against her. Despite their centuries of hostility to each other, they prefer to form an alliance rather than accept Sooz's new regime.

And what of Dirk? He continues on slaving away at school, plotting ways to rescue Sooz. Eventually he is able to advise her on life in the Darklands and Sooz is able to hold back the fanatical paladins.

Biographical Notes

Jamie Thomson is a British writer, editor and game developer. He is the author of numerous 'choose-your-own-adventure' gamebooks, and he also co-wrote three books for the Fighting Fantasy series.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408315125
  • Publication date: 01 Mar 2012
  • Page count: 448
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
An hilarious read. — Carmarthen Journal
Lots of fun... enjoyable and very inventive. — Books For Keeps
Combining hilarious humour with great suspense and an action-packed narrative. Will be a hit with its readers. — School Librarian
Boys of 11+ love Jamie Thomson's second laugh-aloud page-turner. — The Times
Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Orchard Books

A Galaxy Too Far

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Harry was just an ordinary teenage boy from Croydon when he was abducted by aliens and accidentally became the captain of their starship. His quest to get back home to Earth continues - but now he's acquired an alien 'son' and a new spacecraft, and he's being pursued by an eight-foot robot bounty hunter...Could this be a galaxy too far for Harry?Another hilarious story from the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning author of the DARK LORD series.

Orchard Books

The Complete Book of Beasts

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Every hero needs the Book of Beasts! Contained in these pages is everything a Beast Quest fan needs to know about over seventy different Beasts, as featured in the bestselling series.Gain secret knowledge, learn incredible facts, and study amazing colour pictures. This unique book is a must-have for any Avantian hero!

Orchard Books

The Wrong Side of the Galaxy

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

Skolo the Bladed Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Okawa the River Beast

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Evil never rests in Avantia, and a deadly new enemy lies in wait for our heroes. Okawa the River Beast lurks in his muddy lair, ready to trap unsuspecting travellers. Can Tom and Elenna escape the Beast's clutches, or will they meet a watery end?The latest action-packed bumper special edition in this hugely popular adventure series.

Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the body of a weedy schoolboy, returns in another darkly hilarious adventure... Brilliantly funny and subversive, this is the Funny Prize-winning Jamie Thomson at his best.Fear me, o miserable worm!I, the Great Dirk, take up my pen once more to record the utter misery that is SCHOOL. My sworn enemy, Hasdruban the White, has infiltrated Whiteshields School and seeks vengeance on me. Naturally, I will triumph. But it is the Dirkest Hour indeed...BUY THIS BOOK OR SUFFER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: -Being struck with a Blast of Ravening Flame-Banishment to the Slave Pits of Never Ending Toil-Torment by the Hewer of LimbsTHE CHOICE IS YOURS. MWA HA HA!

Hodder Children's Books

Famous Five Colour Short Stories: A Lazy Afternoon

Enid Blyton, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Jamie Littler

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series.It's so terribly hot, the Famous Five are having a lazy afternoon... but the gang don't get the peace and quiet they imagined! What are the men on the motorbikes up to? Can they be stopped?In addition to the Famous Five novels, Enid Blyton wrote a clutch of short stories based on the characters. These were published in magazines and collected in the Famous Five Short Story Collection (Hodder). For the first time, the complete and original text of A Lazy Afternoon (1956) appears in an individual volume, illustrated with brand new colour art by Jamie Littler.

Orchard Books

Shattered

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Hodder Children's Books

Shock For The Secret Seven

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Secret Seven are siblings Peter and Janet, and Jack, Barbara, Pam, Colin and George. Together they are The Secret Seven - ready to solve any mystery, any time - in Enid Blyton's classic series of 15 mystery novels.In book thirteen, dogs are disappearing from the village, but the Seven are so busy arguing and falling out with each other that they don't even notice. Then poor Scamper becomes the latest victim and it's all systems go for the Secret Seven!First published in 1961, this anniversary edition features the original text as well as extra stories, a quiz, additional artwork and insights into Blyton's life and writing process. Both cover and inside illustrations were created by Tony Ross in 2013.

Orchard Books

Fractured

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Kyla's memory has been erased,her personality wiped blank,her memories lost for ever.Or so she thought.Kyla shouldn't be able to remember anything. But she can - and she's beginning to realise that there are a lot of dark secrets locked away in her memories. When a mysterious man from her past comes back into her life, she thinks she's on her way to finding the truth. But the more she learns about her history, the more confusing her future becomes...Set in a disturbing future world, FRACTURED is an engrossing, fast-paced read that establishes Teri Terry as a master thriller writer.Book 2 in the acclaimed SLATED trilogy.

Orchard Books

Nixa the Death-Bringer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Taladon the Swift has returned! But to Tom's horror, his father is a ghost. To save Taladon, Tom must battle the Ghost Beasts and collect the pieces of the shattered Amulet of Avantia. First is Nixa the Death-Bringer - will her deadly disguises lure Tom to his death?

Orchard Books

Equinus the Spirit Horse

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Equinus the Spirit Horse crashes through the forests of the Forbidden Land, stealing the life force of other creatures. Tom must dodge the Ghost Beast's flying hooves and take the fragment of Amulet that Equinus guards - or Tom's father will remain a ghost for ever...

Orchard Books

Rashouk the Cave Troll

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Lurking in the Dead Peaks is Rashouk the Cave Troll. The Ghost Beast smells out his victims' fear - and turns them to stone. It will take all of Tom's courage to capture Rashouk's piece of the Amulet of Avantia, but failure means never seeing his father again...

Orchard Books

Luna the Moon Wolf

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

At night, the Dead Wood comes alive with wild animals made ferocious by the spell of Luna the Moon Wolf. To save his father, Tom must collect the pieces of the Amulet of Avantia - which means battling Luna's murderous magic...

Orchard Books

Blaze the Ice Dragon

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

The volcano at Stonewin is frozen over and the lands are blasted with a deadly cold. This is the work of Blaze the Ice Dragon, sent by wicked Wizard Malvel to thwart Tom's quest to save his father. Can he defeat Blaze and win the next piece of Amulet before it's too late?

Orchard Books

Stealth the Ghost Panther

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Serpio the Slithering Shadow

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Tauron the Pounding Fury

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Flaymar the Scorched Blaze

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Tom must confront Flaymar the Scorched Blaze - Kensa the Sorceress's fiery Evil Beast - sent to terrorise the land! Can the Avantian hero overcome her fearsome heat and douse her flames?