René Goscinny - Asterix and the Soothsayer - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866420
    • Publication date:17 Nov 2005
Books in this series

Asterix and the Soothsayer

Album 19

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The 19th album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

One dark and stormy night, a sinister visitor arrives in the little Gaulish village. Prolix, who claims too be a soothsayer, prophesies that when the storm is over the weather will improve. And it does! Now the credulous villagers believe every word he says, but Asterix has his suspicions of the smooth-talking Prolix. Who is really right about the soothsayer?

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866413
  • Publication date: 16 Dec 2004
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Ten days. The most beautiful cities Europe has to offer. And a love story - or two... The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their trip around Europe practically from the moment they became BFFs in primary school. And, now, it ought to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university. But things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten. There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and his best friend Gabe, the boy Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. And there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is definitely into guys, not girls. Five friends. Ten days. Paris, Amsterdam, Prague, Florence, Barcelona. And a messy, complicated, can-this-really-be happening love story, or two ... because how could there not be?

Franklin Watts

Terrorism

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Franklin Watts

Immigration

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

People have many different reasons for leaving their home country, but they are nearly always looking for a better or safer life. This book considers the pull factors that attract people to another country and the push factors that drive them from their home country. It looks at movements of people in the past, the impact of current immigration and the arguments that people put forward in favour or against welcoming immigrants to a country. It asks readers to think about what they can do to learn more about this global issue and the people affected by it.

Franklin Watts

Health and Disease

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Health problems have a significant impact on the wellbeing and even the life expectancy of many people in low-and middle-income countries. This book looks at the factors that influence life expectancy and at what constitutes a healthy lifestyle. It explores the fight against disease throughout the world and the role of healthcare industries. It asks readers to think about what they can do to promote good health, in their own lives and the lives of others.The Our World in Crisis series features in-depth explorations of major issues faced by people across the world today. Each book features case studies, photos and infographics to present statistics. They are a great resource for children aged 10+ who want to look behind the headlines in a world of fake news or for citizenship education.

Wren & Rook

The Revolution Handbook

Alice Skinner
Authors:
Alice Skinner
Franklin Watts

A-Z of Growing Up, Puberty and Sex

Lesley De Meza, Stephen De Silva
Authors:
Lesley De Meza, Stephen De Silva
Franklin Watts

The Cat's Tale

Lynne Rickards
Authors:
Lynne Rickards

The Emperor challenges the animals to a race across the river, and the first 12 to cross will form the 12 animals of the zodic. Cat wants to win, but Rat has a cunning plan ...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Turquoise 7 stories are perfect for children aged 5+ who are reading at book band 7 (Turquoise) in classroom reading lessons.

Franklin Watts

Cave Boy and the Egg

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey

Cave Boy and his dad are hunting for food when they come across an enormous egg. When they take it home for dinner, they get an even bigger surprise!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Turquoise 7 stories are perfect for children aged 5+ who are reading at book band 7 (Turquoise) in classroom reading lessons.

Franklin Watts

The Dinosaur Bone

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale

Robbie is dinosaur mad! When Dad suggests the family go on a dinosaur bone hunt, Robbie and his sister Jen are on the case. Suddenly, they think they've found one ...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Turquoise 7 stories are perfect for children aged 5+ who are reading at book band 7 (Turquoise) in classroom reading lessons.

Franklin Watts

The Very Worst Wizard

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Wayland

the Cold War?

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

Sleeping Beauty: La Belle Au Bois Dormant

Anne Walter, Marjorie Dumortier
Contributors:
Anne Walter, Marjorie Dumortier
Franklin Watts

Ben and Izzy's Story - Living with Anaphylaxis

Andy Glynne
Authors:
Andy Glynne
Franklin Watts

Naomi's Story - Living with Leukaemia

Andy Glynne
Authors:
Andy Glynne

This powerful and eye opening picture book uses the first-person testimony of Naomi, a 10-year-old girl with acute lymphoblastic leukaemia. Naomi bravely explains what it was like to find out she had cancer, when she lost all her hair and what it was like spending so much time in hospital.The intimate and direct impact of using Naomi's real first-person testimony encourages us to empathise with her situation, and to understand how some children's lives are very different from their own. Naomi talks about school, family, friends and explains the confusion and chaos caused by cancer.The BAFTA award-winning stories were originally produced as animations for the BBC. Aimed at children aged 9 and up, these powerful and evocative stories have now been captured in book form as rich, visual testimonies of the impact an illness has on a child's daily life and how they cope and are able to enjoy the life that they have.

Franklin Watts

Oolaf the Hero

Andy Elkerton
Authors:
Andy Elkerton
Franklin Watts

Goldilocks and the Three Bears

Jasmine Brooke
Authors:
Jasmine Brooke
Franklin Watts

The Terrifying Teacher

Claire O'Brien, Santy Gutierrez
Contributors:
Claire O'Brien, Santy Gutierrez

Horrible Histories meets Wimpy Kid in these funny stories mismatching characters with careers. The stories are colour chapter books perfect for the independent reader. Mr Bloodaxe is not like any other teacher at school, he is just a little bit scary, or possibly even terrifying! He has a striking resemblance to a famous Viking of the same name and his lessons are far from comfortable...Race Further with Reading is a series designed to build reading confidence with illustrated stories in manageable bite-size chapters, which encourage a sense of achivement at completing each one. They follow on a level from the Race Ahead with Reading series with stories of 2,000 words. The books are perfect for children aged 6-8 or who read book band 11.

Wayland

WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Orchard Books

I Will Not Ever Never Eat A Tomato

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child

Wayland

Players and Skills

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford

Cricket is a game steeped in history and tradition. But it is also one of the most exciting, and rapidly changing, sports in the world. New, fast-paced, forms of the game such as the IPL have attracted a younger fan base, and sponsorship deals and increased media coverage mean that top cricket players are some of the best-known, highly paid, sports stars on the planet. Generation Cricket celebrates the rejuvenation of the game, giving readers a sense of the drama, action and skill involved in playing the game.Generation Cricket: Players and Skills looks at everything involved in playing cricket, from batting, fielding and bowling to scoring, equipment and the pitch. The rules of the game, including the ever-complex LBW law, are explained, along with how runs are made, and the numerous ways a player can be 'out'. The book also looks at some of the key people involved in a cricket match, including the umpire, wicket keeper and captain. Different bowling and batting techniques, from seam, swing and spin bowling to cover drives and hook shots, are also explained. Star Player features provide information about the men and women at the top of the sport both now and in the past, including Sachin Tendulkar, Ashton Agar, Charlotte Edwards, Kevin Pietersen and Muttiah Muralitheran. A comprehensive guide to the players, skills and tactics involved in a game of cricket, Generation Cricket: Players and Skills is ideal for cricket lovers aged 9 and above, either for project work or simply as a great leisure read.