René Goscinny - Asterix and the Normans - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866222
    • Publication date:22 Jul 2004
Books in this series

Asterix and the Normans

Album 9

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The ninth album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

A Norman invasion of the Gaulish village! But only trendy teenager Justforkix, visiting from Lutetia, fears them, for the Gauls have their magic potion. But the Normas themselves want to learn the meaning of fear: can Asterix and his friends teach them? Another secret weapon is brought into play...and at long last the bard Cacofonix wins the appreciation due to him.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866239
  • Publication date: 16 Jun 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

A World of Computers and Coding

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford
Franklin Watts

The Maya

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Which genius ideas and inventions began with the Maya? What did they develop that we use to this day? In this book, aimed at readers aged nine and over, find out how the Maya built their cities to suit the landscape and population, traded their resources and developed a complex system of writing. Discover their brilliant developments in farming, astronomy and cloth-making and how they have influenced the way we live today. The 'Genius Of' series explores the major discoveries, inventions, influence and legacies of key periods in history.

Franklin Watts

The Benin Kingdom

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Which genius ideas and inventions began in the Benin Kingdom? What did the people of the Benin Kingdom develop that we use to this day? Find out how a collection of separate villages and communities grew into a strong, united kingdom and developed a network of successful trading relationships. Discover the brilliant developments in town planning, language, art and medicine that have influenced the way we live today.The 'Genius Of' series explores the major discoveries, inventions, influence and legacies of key periods in history.

Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume Two

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie's gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn't. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family ... and himself. Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.

Franklin Watts

Beating Stress and Anxiety

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio

Aimed at young tweens, this book will help you to overcome feelings of stress and anxiety and develop good mental health. How do you feel right now? Everyone experiences stress and anxiety at times in their lives, but sometimes the feelings build up and can affect our physical and mental health. This book will help you to recognise the signs of feeling stressed and anxious and what you can do to feel better. There are hints and tips on quick ways to improve your health that you can try every day or whenever you need to. The text has been approved by a consultant working in the field of young people's mental health and includes information on further sources of help and advice.

Franklin Watts

Your Brain and Body

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio

Aimed at young tweens, this book will help you to look after your brain and body and develop good mental health. How are you today? Your brain and body work as a team. What you do with your body - what you eat, how you exercise and how much sleep you get - affects your mood, while your thoughts and feelings affect how you feel physically. This book will help you to understand how your physical and mental health are closely linked. There are hints and tips on quick ways to improve your health that you can try every day or whenever you need to. The text has been approved by a consultant working in the field of young people's mental health and includes information on further sources of help and advice.

Wayland

What is Masculinity? Why Does it Matter? And Other Big Questions

Jeffrey Boakye, Darren Chetty
Authors:
Jeffrey Boakye, Darren Chetty

Masculinity is being discussed more than ever before, in a range of contexts. People talk about 'toxic masculinity', claim that there is a crisis in masculinity or argue that we need to 'reclaim masculinity'. There have always been many ways of being a man, and many people who have claimed that there are correct and incorrect ways of being a man. This important and timely book looks at the big questions surrounding definitions of masculinity, and discusses where ideas of masculinity have come from and the effects of gender stereotyping. The authors and contributors share their experiences of and perspectives on masculinity and invite readers to think for themselves about the issues involved.

Orion Children's Books

Hangman's Crossing

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The second book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meet the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out. Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.) Jake may have already outrun and outwitted a grim reaper - saving his own life, as well as the soul of an innocent ghost - but his spooky adventure has only just begun . . . In return for helping ghost, Stiffkey, resolve his unfinished business and travel to the Afterworld, Jake has now been awarded an official position working for the Embassy of the Dead, protecting ghosts in need. He didn't ask for it and, to be honest, he doesn't necessarily want it, but saying 'no' to the Embassy isn't an option. Now Jake must journey even deeper into the mysterious world of ghosts where, on a rowdy night undercover at the Hangman's Social Club, he overhears a plot to destroy the very fabric between the world of the living and the dead. With his ghostly gang at his side - hockey stick-wielding Cora and Zorro the fox - Jake must do the impossible. He has to be a hero. Again. His life - and ultimately his death - depends on it.

Wayland

Who are Refugees and Migrants? What Makes People Leave their Homes? And Other Big Questions

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young

What does it mean for people to have to leave their homes, and what happens when they seek entry to another country? This book explores the history of refugees and migration around the world and the effects on people of never-ending war and conflict. It compares the effects on society of diversity and interculturalism with historical attempts to create a racially 'pure' culture. It takes an international perspective, and offers a range of views from people who have personal experience of migration, including the campaigners Meltem Avcil and Muzoon Almellehan, the comedian and actor Omid Djalili and the poet Benjamin Zephaniah. Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards, the book encourages readers to think for themselves about the issues involved. There is also a role-play activity asking readers to imagine themselves in the situation of having to decide whether to leave their homes and seek refuge in a new country. Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need It?What is Gender? How does it Define us?What is Consent? Why is it Important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where do Values come from?What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter?What is Masculinity? Why Does it Matter?What is Politics? Why Should we Care?

Franklin Watts

Your Emotions

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio

Aimed at young tweens, this book will help you to understand your feelings and develop good mental health. How are you feeling today? Positive emotions can make us feel that the world is a wonderful place, but feeling sad, angry and hopeless can make us think the opposite is true. As we get older we learn how different experiences affect us and become more skilled in managing negative emotions and expressing our feelings. This book will help you to understand your emotions so that you can make good decisions that will shape your behaviour and allow you to build strong relationships with the people around you. There are hints and tips on quick ways to improve your emotional health that you can try every day or whenever you need to.

Franklin Watts

Social Media and You

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Orchard Books

Torka the Sky Snatcher

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume One

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman
Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at the issues around sexuality - what it means, being lesbian, gay or bisexual, coming out, homophobia and accepting yourself and being happy in your own skin. It includes talking and debating points and is perfect for someone starting to question their sexuality or for PSHE lessons.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo