René Goscinny - Asterix and the Normans - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866222
    • Publication date:22 Jul 2004
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013160
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2014
Books in this series

Asterix and the Normans

Album 9

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The ninth album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

A Norman invasion of the Gaulish village! But only trendy teenager Justforkix, visiting from Lutetia, fears them, for the Gauls have their magic potion. But the Normas themselves want to learn the meaning of fear: can Asterix and his friends teach them? Another secret weapon is brought into play...and at long last the bard Cacofonix wins the appreciation due to him.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866239
  • Publication date: 16 Jun 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Adventure Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson

Wayland

Game Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson
Orchard Books

My Little Pony Winter Wonderland Creative Colouring

Orchard Books

Enchantimals: Best Friends Forever

Meet the Enchantimals of Wonderwood and their animal besties! Keepers of their forest home, they maintain balance, peace and harmony amongst all living things.When Patter Peacock and her bestie, Flap, get washed away from their home, they end up in Wonderwood. They meet four new friends who show them the sights and make Patter feel right at home. Flap feels homesick and doesn't want to stay, but Patter doesn't seem to notice. When Flap tries to make his way home alone, Patter and her new friends race to find him, and realise that home is where your friends are. Based on the Enchantimals animated special, Finding Home.

Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: A Friendship to Remember

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Magic, Magic Everywhere

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Orchard Books

Twilight Sparkle to the Rescue

An adorable board book story featuring favourite My Little Pony characters.Learning to fly is a bit tricky ... But when Twilight Sparkle's friends need her help, can she find the courage to spread her wings and fly to the rescue?With a reassuring message about believing in yourself, this fun story is perfect for sharing with even the littlest pony fans.

Orchard Books

Go, Rainbow Dash!

Wayland

Resting and Sleeping

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Chariot Race

Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad
Contributors:
Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad

The next action-packed adventure from Asterix and Obelix!The roads across Italy are in disrepair. Defending his name, and to prove Rome's greatness, Senator Lactus Bifidus announces a special one-off chariot race. Julius Caesar insists a Roman must win, or Bifidus will pay. Open to anyone from the known world, competitors arrive from far and wide, including Asterix and Obelix. With Bifidus secretly scheming, who will win this almighty chariot race?

Orchard Books

Discover Art with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew

Orchard Books

Learn to Draw with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew

Wayland

Charles Darwin

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the End of Olympus

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn
Franklin Watts

Sound

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Moving Up with Science: Sound looks at how sound moves; how fast sound travels; and what happens when sound waves reach our ears. Discover how sounds can be high, low, loud or quiet.Find out all about the science in the world around us with Moving Up with Science. Written to support the National Curriculum at Key Stage 2, each title explores key scientific topics through a combination of concise information and fun experiments. Suitable for readers aged 7 and up.Written by an award-winning science author, Peter Riley.

Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Friendship Games

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Missing Scroll

Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad
Contributors:
Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad

Asterix, the Gaul is back for more funny, fast-paced adventure in this cheeky and energetic comic, the New York Times bestselling thirty-sixth Asterix album.Julius Caesar has finished writing the history of his campaigns in Gaul. His publisher, Libellus Blockbustus, foresees a huge success ... but there's a snag. The chapter about Caesar's defeats by the indomitable Gauls of Armorica. Cut it, Blockbustus advises, and everyone will believe that Caesar conquered all Gaul!Or will they? Newsmonger and activist Confoundtheirpolitix takes the chapter to Asterix's village. Can the Gauls make sure the truth is revealed?Multi-million selling Asterix is much loved across the world, perfect for children age 7-11 and hilarious for kids and parents alike. Following in the footsteps of Goscinny and Uderzo, the thirty-sixth Asterix album by Ferri and Conrad is a number 3 New York Times bestselling title.

Wayland

Boudicca

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison

Queen of the Iceni tribe, Boudicca, led a rebellion against Roman rule that is still remembered to this day. This biography tells the story of Boudicca, from her becoming the Queen of the Iceni tribe on the death of her husband, to her great battle against the Roman Army. Thousands were killed in these bloody rebellions, and Boudicca was finally defeated by the Roman Army led by Roman Governor, Paulinus.Through the story of Boudicca and her rebellion, readers learn about the Roman Empire and its impact on Britain. Looking back, we learn of the Roman invasion, the nature of their society and culture, and the legacy that they left behind. We look too at the discovery of Roman artefacts and writing, and how they have been used to construct a picture of the time. Readers will learn to draw conclusions from the evidence provided - a great basis for class discussions.History VIP biographies each look at the life of a famous Briton telling the stories of these Very Important People with clear, lively text. Amazing facts are added with feature panels and lively illustrations give visual information of the time and society the VIP lived in. With these key biographies students learn how individual people's actions have shaped the course of history.Key terms are defined in an easy-to-use glossary encouraging readers to use historical terms in their own work.Features include:In other news - these panels give context and help readers to understand the society and events of the wider world in which the subject livedTrue or False - questions lead students to question information and to interact with the facts they are presented with.What they said - quote features bring the subjects to life using their own words!WOW! - Boxes add humorous or amazing information to astound the reader and bring out the hilarious side of history

Wayland

King John

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison

Was King John really the cruel and terrible king that history paints him as? This biography explores the life of King John, from his ascension to the throne, through wars with France and his own English barons, to the signing of the Magna Carta. This Great Charter was a turning point is English political history and heralded the beginning of parliament.Through the story of King John, readers will learn about the changing nature of the monarchy in Medieval Britain, and the changing roles of the church and state in Medieval society. Readers will learn to draw conclusions from the evidence provided - a great basis for class discussions.History VIP biographies each look at the life of a famous Briton telling the stories of these Very Important People with clear, lively text. Amazing facts are added with feature panels and lively illustrations give visual information of the time and society the VIP lived in. With these key biographies students learn how individual people's actions have shaped the course of history.Key terms are defined in an easy-to-use glossary encouraging readers to use historical terms in their own work.Features include:In other news - these panels give context and help readers to understand the society and events of the wider world in which the subject livedTrue or False - questions lead students to question information and to interact with the facts they are presented with.What they said - quote features bring the subjects to life using their own words!WOW! - Boxes add humorous or amazing information to astound the reader and bring out the hilarious side of history