René Goscinny - Asterix and the Normans - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866239
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2005
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013160
    • Publication date:03 Apr 2014
Books in this series

Asterix and the Normans

Album 9

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The ninth album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

A Norman invasion of the Gaulish village! But only trendy teenager Justforkix, visiting from Lutetia, fears them, for the Gauls have their magic potion. But the Normas themselves want to learn the meaning of fear: can Asterix and his friends teach them? Another secret weapon is brought into play...and at long last the bard Cacofonix wins the appreciation due to him.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866222
  • Publication date: 22 Jul 2004
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wren & Rook

Incredible Journeys: Discovery, Adventure, Danger, Endurance

Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Contributors:
Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous 3

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Elsie the Engineer Fairy's magical item, engineers everywhere lose their very special skills! Can the girls help Elsie defeat him and save the magic of engineering from being destroyed?

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

History in Infographics helps children to visualise facts and statistics using a clever and appealing mix of graphics and numbers. The colourful, high-impact design will appeal to a wide range of children, from visual learners to struggling readers, capturing and then holding their attention. Infographics are a really exciting, different way to learn about core historical topics, and are ideal for fact-hungry children, revision work, and to improve the quality of presentations. History in Infographics: The Mayans allows children to explore the Mayan civilisation like never before, finding out how people lived, what they ate, what they wore, how they were ruled, the games they played and how the civilisation died out. Children can discover that the Maya were the first people to make hot chocolate, and how they did it, that they went to war to capture prisoners they then sacrificed to their gods, and all about other South American civilisations, including the Aztecs and the Incas. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and history lovers of all ages, the Mayans have never seemed more exciting!

Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy vs. The 30 Second Thief

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Skull

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Authors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf

Told with heart and humour, The Boy at the Back of the Class is a child's perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn't always make sense.There used to be an empty chair at the back of my class, but now a new boy called Ahmet is sitting in it.He's nine years old (just like me), but he's very strange. He never talks and never smiles and doesn't like sweets - not even lemon sherbets, which are my favourite!But then I learned the truth: Ahmet really isn't very strange at all. He's a refugee who's run away from a War. A real one. With bombs and fires and bullies that hurt people. And the more I find out about him, the more I want to help.That's where my best friends Josie, Michael and Tom come in. Because you see, together we've come up with a plan. . .

Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it's as fatal as it sounds) and now he's running for his life! But luckily Jake isn't alone - he can see and speak to ghosts.Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) - Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox - have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Hodder Children's Books

Summertime Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enjoy a whole summer of fun with this fantastic collection of 30 short stories - the perfect holiday read for children aged 7 and up. From picnics in the sunshine to daring outdoor adventures, celebrate the excitement and magic of summertime with these fun-filled short stories by Enid Blyton. Ideal for newly confident readers, these entertaining tales are the perfect length for reading aloud at bedtime or in the classroom. Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Read all of Enid Blyton's bestselling short story collections: Springtime StoriesSummer StoriesHoliday StoriesSummer Holiday StoriesStories of Wizards and WitchesChristmas TalesChristmas Treats***Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Wayland

The Kew Gardens Children's Cookbook

Caroline Craig, Joe Archer
Authors:
Caroline Craig, Joe Archer

This beautiful kitchen-garden cookbook, produced in association with the Royal Botanic Gardens at Kew, contains step-by-step guides to show how easy it is to grow peas, beans, potatoes, carrots and more in your garden, in patio containers or in window boxes or on an allotment. Then transform your home-grown produce into delicious meals and desserts by following easy, step-by-step recipes. By having fun growing different plants, children won't be able to wait to try their tasty produce, encouraging great, healthy eating habits.Learn all about how plants grow, from seeds to seedlings, watering and weeding, to harvesting and composting. Information on minibeasts and garden creatures show how nature works together to help plants grow.Includes advice on cooking tools and utensils and healthy and balanced diets.For inspiration in the garden and the kitchen ... a how-to guide to growing and eating your own fruit and vegetables - Daily ExpressColourful and beautifully illustrated, it is a great aid for fostering a love and understanding of fresh produce and an awareness of a healthy diet - The LadyIf your small child is even vaguely interested in helping you in the garden, or on the allotment, then I'd urge you to get him/her this great book... - Judy Bown, Dig my Veg

Orchard Books

Claw the Giant Monkey

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Avantia is under threat from an evil wizard. To save the kingdom, Tom must defeat six terrifying Beasts and collect the pieces of magical golden armour. Join Tom as he journeys into the Dark Jungle to do battle with Claw the Giant Monkey...Don't missZEPHA THE MONSTER SQUID - SOLTRA THE STONE CHARMER - VIPERO THE SNAKE MAN - ARACHNID THE KING OF SPIDERS - TRILLION THE THREE-HEADED LION

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 8

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this collectors' edition, books 22 to 24 are brought together in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX AND THE GREAT CROSSING, a storm blows Asterix and Obelix off course. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to. Julius Caesar sends Caius Preposterus, graduate of the Latin School of Economics, to corrupt the indomitable Gauls in OBELIX AND CO. Obelix's menhir trade is soon thriving - but does wealth bring happiness?In ASTERIX IN BELGIUM, the Gauls compete with the Belgian tribes to determine who is the bravest. But if the two groups unite, will Caesar meet his Waterloo?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.