Albert Uderzo - Asterix and the Black Gold - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752847740
    • Publication date:20 Mar 2003
Books in this series

Asterix and the Black Gold

Album 26

By Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The 27th album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

Phoenician merchant Ekonomikrisis has forgotten the druid Getafix's order for rock oil - an essential ingredient in the magic potion. So Asterix and Obelix go prospecting for black gold in the Middle East. Can they also outwit the Roman secret agent Dubbelosix and his amazing folding chariot, equipped with all the latest spy gadgets?

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752847139
  • Publication date: 15 Nov 2001
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

The Secret Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. JACK, RUBY AND DANNY FACE A DEADLY ROBOTIC FOE! RUBY'S MOTHER HAS VANISHED INTO THE DEPTHS OF THE JUNGLE. TO FIND HER, TEAM HERO MUST EXPLORE A NEW, VAST LANDSCAPE - AND DO BATTLE WITH A GIANT ROBOT! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Ninja Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. TEAM HERO ARE IN DEEP WATER! JACK, RUBY AND DANNY MUST RECOVER AN ANCIENT STATUE FROM A CURSED LAKE - WITH A SUPER-SLEEK AND SWIFT ASSASSIN ON THEIR TAIL!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Anansi and the Box of Stories

Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Wayland

Food

Anita Loughrey
Authors:
Anita Loughrey

Get kids engaged in maths with real-life problem-solving. In each fully illustrated title maths topics are carefully explained in different scenarios. Children are then given problems to solve around the scenario. Topics covered include measurement (inches and centimetres, to litres and millilitres and units of time and days of the week), problems with numbers (by adding, subtracting, division and multiplication and using roman numerals), how to use fractions, decimal places and percentages, shapes (2-D and 3D) and statistics, such as tables, bar graphs, pie charts, and line graphs. The level of maths progresses as you go through the book, building a sense of achievement. It includes tips and tricks to make maths problem-solving easy.Each book is framed around a high interest area, perfect for children aged 7-11.

Wayland

Impressionism

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

When the Impressionists first started exhibiting, they shocked the world with their bold brushstrokes and compositions and their adventurous use of colour. Today, over 150 years later, Impressionism is celebrated as an international success story, making artists such as Monet, Renoir and Degas household names. An accessible and in-depth guide to some of the most popular and significant art movements, Inside Art Movements explores their origins, evolution and legacy in today's world. For readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

The Stone Age and Skara Brae

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe Series: Operation Rhino

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 9

Albert Uderzo
Authors:
Albert Uderzo

This special collector's edition features books 25 to 27 in one fabulous volume. In ASTERIX AND THE GREAT DIVIDE, can Asterix, Obelix and Getafix ensure a happy ending for star-crossed lovers Melodrama and Histrionix, whose fathers are rival chieftains? Watch out for some interesting new magic potions... Asterix and Obelix must go prospecting in the Middle East in ASTERIX AND THE BLACK GOLD. Can they outwit the Roman secret agent Dubbelosix and his amazing folding chariot?In ASTERIX AND SON, who can have dumped a baby outside Asterix's hut? Why are the Romans after the baby - and just what plot is the treacherous Brutus hatching against Julius Caesar?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap Complete Five Book Collection

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 8

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Where's Dogmatix?

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

A fabulous sequel to WHERE'S ASTERIX? featuring the loveable Dogmatix and his friends in a variety of fun, action-packed scenes.Younger readers and fans of WHERE'S WALLY? will be absorbed for hours as they search for Dogmatix amidst the hustle and bustle.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 6

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

This special collectors' edition features books 16 to 18 in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX IN SWITZERLAND, a poisoning means Asterix and Obelix must go to Helvetia for an antidote. Can they overcome cuckoo hourglasses, yodelling and holes in the cheese?A housing estate lies at the heart of Caesar's new plan to crush the Gauls in THE MANSIONS OF THE GODS. Will the villagers be tempted by the chance to make money when the Roman tenants move in?In ASTERIX AND THE LAUREL WREATH, Chief Vitalstatistix wants a stew seasoned with Caesar's laurel wreath. Asterix and Obelix must fetch the wreath, but will their plan end in disaster or their own Roman triumph?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 5

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

This special collectors' edition features books thirteen to fifteen in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX AND THE CAULDRON, Asterix is guarding a cauldron of money when the cash disappears! He and Obelix try gladiatorial contests, theatrical performances, even bank robbery to regain the money.Chief Huevos y Bacon's son is taken hostage in ASTERIX IN SPAIN. Asterix and Obelix go to his rescue, but taking him home means tangling with the tourist industry, flamenco, and a wild aurochs in the bullring!In ASTERIX AND THE ROMAN AGENT, Caesar sends Agent Tortuous Convolvulus to make the Gauls suspect each other of teachery! Can Asterix and friends outwit the wily Convolvulus?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collector's edition, books nineteen to twenty-one are brought together in one fabulous volume. In ASTERIX AND THE SOOTHSAYER, a sinister figure arrives in the Gaulish village. Prolix claims to be a soothsayer and the villagers believe every word he says, but Asterix isn't convinced... The Corsican chieftain, Boneywasawarriorwayayix, needs Asterix and Obelix's help to foil the evil designs of Praetor Perfidius and oppose Julius Caesar's army in ASTERIX IN CORSICA.In ASTERIX AND CAESAR'S GIFT, Legionary Tremensdelirius gets the title deeds to the Gaulish village as a bonus - then swaps them with tavern landlord Orthopaedix for a drink. But Asterix and his friends aren't keen to hand over their village!There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

600 Stickers

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Put together your favourite Asterix pictures, using these 600 stickers, and have fun with plenty of games and puzzles in a book that is full of surprises!

Orion Children's Books

Where's Asterix?

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 4

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collectors' edition, books ten to twelve are brought together in one fabulous volume. In ASTERIX THE LEGIONARY, Obelix is in love - but the lovely Panacea is engaged to Tragicomix, a conscript in the Roman army. Asterix and Obelix must join up to resue him.In ASTERIX AND THE CHIEFTAIN'S SHIELD, Caesar plans to hold a triumph using the shield of his defeated enemy, Vercingetorix, but the shielf is missing! Romans and Gauls race to track it down.The athletes of the ancient world assemble in ASTERIX AT THE OLYMPIC GAMES. Asterix and the Gauls enter the games, but magic potion is banned! Can our friends win without it?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.