Anita Naik - The Girls' Guide to Growing Up - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781526360182
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
Books in this series

The Girls' Guide to Growing Up

By Anita Naik
Illustrated by Sarah Horne

  • Hardback
  • £9.99

A sensitively written, friendly guide to growing up, specifically aimed at younger girls.

A friendly and reassuring guide for girls as they approach puberty, explaining the changes that will happen to their bodies as they grow up and how these changes might make them feel. Covering everything from periods and breast development to body hair and personal hygiene, puberty and parenting expert Anita Naik addresses any worries that girls may have relating to what is 'normal'. She reassures readers and boosts their confidence, encouraging them to feel positive about the changes they will experience as they go through puberty. The book also includes lifestyle advice on topics like healthy eating and exercise.

Topics covered:
What is puberty?
Your puberty timeline
Breasts and bras
Same age, different stage
Skin changes
Sweat, smells and personal hygiene
Hair in new places
Down there
What are periods?
The practical side of periods
Coping with periods
Sex explained
Making babies
New feelings
Managing your moods
Healthy eating
The power of exercise
Self-esteem and body image
Privacy and your body
Puberty for boys
Boys have worries, too

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750298957
  • Publication date: 13 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland
Contributors:
Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland

Prepare to take a chronological journey, from over 200 million years ago, when tiny Saltopus hopped around in search of food, and pterosaurs took to the skies, through to huge dinosaurs such as Brachiosaurus and Allosaurus of the late Jurassic Period. Travel right up to the mass extinction event of the Cretaceous Period, which wiped out three quarters of all life on the planet...Perfect for readers aged 7+ who want to find out more about the time of the dinosaurs, and their evolution over millions of years.

Franklin Watts

Cool Stuff to Make With Paper

Stephanie Turnbull
Authors:
Stephanie Turnbull

You don't need to spend a fortune on your own cool, custom-made stuff. Ingenious ways to use inexpensive materials - many of which you may already have lying around mean you can bake, sew, make and grow loads of brilliant things. Four lovely step-by-step books that encourage readers to use the materials and environment around them to encourage creativity. Can also be used to demonstrate ways to recycle and reuse everyday materials and encourage discussions around wasting food and other resources.

Franklin Watts

Cool Stuff to Grow

Stephanie Turnbull
Authors:
Stephanie Turnbull

Do you think you have the green-fingered touch? This book will inspire you to grow your own flowers, vegetables, herbs and other plants. Simple miniature gardens, displays and recipes will help you make loads of brilliant garden crafts and tasty snacks too.You don't need to spend a fortune on your own cool, custom-made stuff. Ingenious ways to use inexpensive materials - many of which you may already have lying around mean you can bake, sew, make and grow loads of brilliant things. Four lovely step-by-step books that encourage readers to use the materials and environment around them to encourage creativity. Can also be used to demonstrate ways to recycle and reuse everyday materials and encourage discussions around wasting food and other resources.

Franklin Watts

7.6 Billion People Living in the Countries of the World

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Franklin Watts

1.5 Billion Transport Vehicles on the World's Roads

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Wayland

Continents

Did you know about the Great Green Wall in Africa? Or the Atacama desert, Oceania and the Grand Canyon? Well, where have you been! Whether it's busy, hot, cold or wet, Infomojis: Continents is all about exploring land and people in a fun and engaging way. Each book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young geographer to the next evolution in infographics. Perfect for readers aged 8+.

Wayland

Natural Disasters

Did you know that the eruption of Krakatoa in 1883 was the largest ever? Or about tsunamis, cyclones and avalanches? Well, where have you been! Whether it rips, erupts, floods or crashes, Infomojis: Natural Disasters is all about exploring the dangers of our planet in a fun and engaging way. Each book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young adventurer to the next evolution in infographics. Perfect for readers aged 8+.

Wayland

I'm an HTML Web Page Builder

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright

HTML is one of the most commonly used coding languages in the world - once you've grasped it, the incredible possibilities of the internet lie before you. In this book, learn how to build and customise your own web pages, complete with fancy fonts, funky icons and embedded videos and maps. Once you've mastered HTML, go further and discover how the style language CSS can make your pages look even better.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm an Advanced Scratch CoderI'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an App DeveloperI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The BasicsI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Franklin Watts

Electricity

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Straight Forward with Science offers a straightforward, but fun, approach to key science learning. Each book explores basic scientific principles and shows them in action, while simple activities and experiments bring the science to life. Electricity looks at what is electricity is, how it is generated and how it makes the world around us work, both at home and in nature. Electrical circuits, electromagnets and motors are all also explored.

Wayland

Display and Camouflage

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

Some animals have developed astounding plumage, skin and fur which perfectly meets their needs. From the pangolin, which is covered in 'plates of armour' to protect it from predators, to the leafy appearance of the weedy sea dragon, that allows it hide amongst the seaweed, the creatures featured in this book have developed appearances that are both unique and out-of-this-world. Find out more about these marvels of nature and learn how evolution has shaped each animal's appearance - whether it is trying to blend in with its surroundings, pretend to be a different species or draw attention to how deadly it is.Vivid, arresting photography paired with captivating animal encounters make this book a thrilling introduction to some of the basics of evolutionary theory.

Wren & Rook

The A–Z of Wonder Women

Yvonne Lin
Authors:
Yvonne Lin

Celebrate a whole alphabet of trailblazing, groundbreaking wonder women from around the world and through time, taking in Ada Lovelace, J. K. Rowling, Oprah Winfrey and every letter in between.Men and women, boys and girls need heroes to look up to, and to aspire to be. There are thousands upon thousands of books and films about amazing athletes, scientists, artists and explorers, but they're almost all men. Girls get princesses and mermaids - sure, not necessarily the worst career choices, but there aren't enough castles and beaches for the world's 3.5 billion women. This book brings incredible women out of the shadows, celebrates their success and acknowledges their achievements. Certain to empower and inspire women and girls everywhere, it's perfect for fans of The Little Book of Feminist Saints, Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and We Should All Be Feminists.

Wren & Rook

This Book is not Rubbish: 50 Ways YOU Can Save the Planet!

Isabel Thomas
Authors:
Isabel Thomas

Discover how YOU can save the planet, and become an eco-warrior, not an eco-worrier, with 50 practical tips to really make a difference! From living on the veg to throwing the planet a party, ditching straws and banning glitter to snacking to save the world, there are so many things you can do to help the environment. Covering eco-issues from plastics and pollution to global warming and endangered animals, this is a one-stop guide to transform eco-worried kids into eco-activists. Funny, engaging, practical and timely, it's the ideal book to help readers navigate the world in the greenest possible way, and to really make a difference.

Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

In Engineering and Industry

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Franklin Watts

Positively Teenage

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan
Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan
Franklin Watts

Sex and relationships

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

This book is a fantastic introduction to the tricky subject of sex for children aged 9+. In a straightforward way, it explores what sex is and what it's for, examines sexuality and identity, what healthy relationships are like and tackles modern-day issues that confront teenagers such as sexting and online pornography.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

History in Infographics helps children to visualise facts and statistics using a clever and appealing mix of graphics and numbers. The colourful, high-impact design will appeal to a wide range of children, from visual learners to struggling readers, capturing and then holding their attention. Infographics are a really exciting, different way to learn about core historical topics, and are ideal for fact-hungry children, revision work, and to improve the quality of presentations. History in Infographics: The Mayans allows children to explore the Mayan civilisation like never before, finding out how people lived, what they ate, what they wore, how they were ruled, the games they played and how the civilisation died out. Children can discover that the Maya were the first people to make hot chocolate, and how they did it, that they went to war to capture prisoners they then sacrificed to their gods, and all about other South American civilisations, including the Aztecs and the Incas. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and history lovers of all ages, the Mayans have never seemed more exciting!

Franklin Watts

Classification and Evolution

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley
Wayland

Homes

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

Some animals build astounding homes to provide shelter and safety for themselves and their young. From ants glueing leaves together to create a nest, to groundhogs engineering enormous underground towns, the creatures featured in this book create homes that are both unique and out-of-this-world. Find out more about these masters of engineering and learn how evolution has shaped the way each animal constructs their home and uses it.Vivid, arresting photography paired with captivating animal encounters make this book a thrilling introduction to some of the basics of evolutionary theory.