Sonya Newland - Journey Along the Nile - Hachette Children's Group

Journey Along the Nile

By Sonya Newland

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Follow an intrepid traveller's fictitious journeys through some of the most exciting, dangerous and inhospitable places on Earth, to discover animal and plant life, landscape and climate, and negotiate perilous survival situations!

Travelling Wild: Journey Along the Nile follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat up the world's longest river. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.

Discover the countries the Nile traverses, the wildlife to watch out for, how the river is used, the environmental issues facing the Nile, how people live and farm on its banks, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a crocodile attack, repel insects and make water safe to drink, among other things.

Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible River Nile without leaving your seat!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750298629
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Swimming

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood
Wayland

Yoga

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Wayland

Ice Skating

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood
Wayland

Martial Arts

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood

Learn an array of different disciplines with Get Active!: Martial Arts. From Kung Fu to Jujitsu, Aikido to Judo, this book has useful photos, step-by-step guides and technical tips to help you perfect a whole host of moves.When your favourite thing to do is physically active, it's easy to have fun and be fit! Readers will dive into swimming, bend over backwards for gymnastics, find peace with yoga, and more, through fun, informational content about many popular activities. Step-by-step instructions will help readers learn all the right moves, and even teach them how to pursue a career! Colourful photographs will draw future ice-skaters, dancers, and martial artists into the fascinating world of their sport - and encourage them to keep practicing! This inspires a healthy lifestyle through fun, varied types of exercise, and is a perfect tool for children aged 9+.

Franklin Watts

Wonders of the World

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

Ever thought about the Wonders of the World? What they are and where to find them? These are the questions that will be explored in this exciting book. The Great Wall of China, the Giant's Causeway and the Galápagos Islands are just some of the incredible places you will learn about in this book. There are eight titles in the Visual Explorers series. High-impact books with incredible information about the world around us. Perfect for KS2 and children aged 7+ with an interest in natural phenomenon and natural history.

Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy Unmasks The Invisible Hero

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh

Franklin Watts

The Benin Kingdom

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Which genius ideas and inventions began in the Benin Kingdom? What did the people of the Benin Kingdom develop that we use to this day? Find out how a collection of separate villages and communities grew into a strong, united kingdom and developed a network of successful trading relationships. Discover the brilliant developments in town planning, language, art and medicine that have influenced the way we live today.

Wayland

I'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright
Franklin Watts

Trains, Planes and Ships

Sally Spray
Authors:
Sally Spray

Follow the development of trains, planes and ships, as they have grown more powerful, faster, and more fantastical through engineering skill, design and ambition.Get to grips with the mind-boggling advances that have been made in engineering. Find out about awe-inspiring buildings and technology. The books in the Awesome Engineering series are filled with impactful artwork, diagrams and explanations that make the awesome feats of engineering easy to understand.Bright and bold artwork, alongside clear explanations and diagrams, guide you through a chronology of landmark engineering achievements from around the world.Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Dance

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood
Wayland

Gymnastics

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Franklin Watts

The Ancient Egyptians

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Which genius ideas and inventions began with the ancient Egyptians? What did they develop that we use to this day? In this book, aimed at readers aged nine and over, find out how the ancient Egyptians built their temples and pyramids, irrigated and farmed their land, and took care of their people during life and after death. Discover their brilliant developments in farming, paper-making, time-keeping and medicine and how they have influenced the way we live today. The 'Genius Of' series explores the major discoveries, inventions, influence and legacies of key periods in history.

Franklin Watts

Rainbow Street

Lynne Rickards
Authors:
Lynne Rickards
Franklin Watts

Magic Marcus

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale

Marcus comes across a magic wand at a jumble sale, but he doesn't believe it has any magic in it. Soon after he starts making wishes and they each to come true, until he breaks his mum's favourite vase. Perhaps Marcus has discovered that real magic doesn't lie in the wand, after all.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Save the library!

Katie Dale
Authors:
Katie Dale
Wayland

Eating Well

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Wayland

Mental Well-being and Mindfulness

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Franklin Watts

Insects and Spiders

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

The incredible world of insects and spiders is waiting to be explored in this exciting book. Living on land or below ground, in the air or in water, a wide variety of insects and spiders are investigated inside. Discover what they do, what they eat, how they live, how they defend defend themselves and whether or not insects and spiders can be helpful and useful!There are eight titles in the series Visual Explorers. High-impact books with incredible information about the world around us. Perfect for KS2 and children aged 7+ with an interest in natural phenomenon and natural history.