Sonya Newland - Journey Along the Nile - Hachette Children's Group

Journey Along the Nile

By Sonya Newland

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Follow an intrepid traveller's fictitious journeys through some of the most exciting, dangerous and inhospitable places on Earth, to discover animal and plant life, landscape and climate, and negotiate perilous survival situations!

Travelling Wild: Journey Along the Nile follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat up the world's longest river. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.

Discover the countries the Nile traverses, the wildlife to watch out for, how the river is used, the environmental issues facing the Nile, how people live and farm on its banks, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a crocodile attack, repel insects and make water safe to drink, among other things.

Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible River Nile without leaving your seat!

Biographical Notes

Sonya Newland is an experienced author of children's books. She specialises in geography.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750298629
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Snowball of Doom

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

"Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books." DAVID WALLIAMS"Two words - such fun!" MIRANDA HART"It's gobstonkingly funny!" ULI, aged 7Great to read aloud with children of 5+ and perfect for newly independent readers of 7+.It's pretty nippy in Edwinland and Nurbisonia. In fact, it's the coldest winter in a hundred years! After evil Emperor Nurbison steals all his peasants' firewood and woolly hats just because he can, they go to live with nine-year-old King Edwin in Edwinland instead. The furious emperor talks the scary Ice Folk to join him in his latest dastardly plan to make life difficult for Edwin and his new peasants, but Edwin is determined not to let Nurbison get away with it. He is a noble king, after all!But Edwin has an extra problem to deal with - a voice of doubt in his head called Wendy Worry, who keeps telling him he's not up to the job of being king. How can he beat Emperor Nurbison AND Wendy Worry at the same time?

Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Wren & Rook

This Book is not Rubbish: 50 Ways YOU Can Save the Planet!

Isabel Thomas
Authors:
Isabel Thomas

Discover how YOU can save the planet, and become an eco-warrior, not an eco-worrier, with 50 practical tips to really make a difference! From living on the veg to throwing the planet a party, ditching straws and banning glitter to snacking to save the world, there are so many things you can do to help the environment. Covering eco-issues from plastics and pollution to global warming and endangered animals, this is a one-stop guide to transform eco-worried kids into eco-activists. Funny, engaging, practical and timely, it's the ideal book to help readers navigate the world in the greenest possible way, and to really make a difference.

Orchard Books

Menox the Sabre-Toothed Terror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Tom and Elenna's pirate enemy, Ria, is back - and she has a deadly new plan to take over the kingdom of Makai. Join our heroes as they battle Ria's Beast Menox, a monster with a tooth like a sword!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Menox the Sabre-toothed Terror; Larnak the Swarming Menace; Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle and Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Orchard Books

Larnak the Swarming Menace

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Ria the pirate is using a terrifying monkey-Beast to destroy the forests of Makai. She wants the timber to build a fleet of new ships. Can Tom and Elenna stop Ria's latest wicked plan before she attacks Avantia?There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Menox the Sabre-toothed Terror; Larnak the Swarming Menace; Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle and Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Orchard Books

Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost Magician

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
Orchard Books

Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

The Golden Sands

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it's as fatal as it sounds) and now he's running for his life! But luckily Jake isn't alone - he can see and speak to ghosts.Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) - Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox - have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Orchard Books

The Ice Wolves

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Scorpion Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Fight for the Hidden City

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Falcon of Fury

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Rise of the Shadow Snakes

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

A Muslim Life

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

The faith you follow is with you from the moment you are born, until the moment you die and beyond. Following a Faith: A Muslim Life explores some of the cornerstones of what it means to be a Muslim today, through Id-ul-Fitr and Id-ul-Adha celebrations, wedding ceremonies, what happens in a mosque and why many Muslims go on a pilgrimage known as Hajj.This book supports the national curriculum guidelines for religious education for children aged 8+, and promotes religious tolerance and consideration.Following a Faith looks at the rich, cultural and colourful traditions, events, rituals, celebrations, foods, buildings, clothing and more that make up a major religion. Beautiful, bright, bold and modern - these books bring religious non-fiction right up to date and make them relevant and essential reading for followers of a faith and for anyone interested to learn what a religion is all about.

Orchard Books

Christina the Winter Wonderland Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Kirsty and Rachel are very excited to spending Christmas together. But when Jack Frost steals Christina the Winter Wonderland Fairy's magical objects, the magic of winter is under threat! Can the girls and Christina help get them back and save Christmas for everyone?

Orchard Books

Ten Little Elves

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Ten little elves set off on a mission to rescue Christmas. But what will the little elves do when they meet a growling polar bear, a yowling yeti and a scary Ice Queen? Will the little eleves save the day?Count from ten to one, and back again, with this fabulously festive picture book. With lots of things to spot and count on every page, this noisy rhyming story from the creators of the bestselling Ten Little Pirates is perfect for sharing again and again. (And comes complete with a shimmering foiled cover!)Praise for the Ten Little series:"Roaringly funny rhymes" - Independent"A rollicking read with an easy rhythm and jaunty illustrations ... excellent" - Guardian"Hilarious. Will have both child and reader laughing out loud" - Angels & Urchins"Brilliant to help teach children to recognise numbers" - New Statesman

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Worlds Collide

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

The epic conclusion to Chris Colfer's No.1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories! In the highly anticipated finale, Conner and Alex must brave the impossible. All of the Land of Stories fairy tale characters - heroes and villains - are no longer confined within their world!With mayhem brewing in the Big Apple, Conner and Alex will have to win their biggest battle yet. Can the twins restore order between the human and fairy-tale world? Breathtaking action mixed with laugh-out-loud moments and lots of heart will make this a gripping conclusion for fans old and new.