Hilary Koll and Steve Mills - A Maths Journey Around Extreme Sports - Hachette Children's Group

A Maths Journey Around Extreme Sports

By Hilary Koll and Steve Mills

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

An exciting adventure series, designed to get children back into maths!

Go on a real-life maths journey to practise the core topics of numbers, geometry, statistics, ratio & proportion, algebra and measurement. Through data visualisation methods, including colourful diagrams, pictograms, illustrations, photographs and infographics, Go Figure! brings maths into the real world in an innovative, exciting and engaging visual way. It makes even the trickiest problem easier to understand and builds valuable confidence in maths!

Find out how the maths you learn at school can help you go on an adventure through the world of extreme sports!

Maths challenges encourage you to use real data and fascinating facts to solve mathematical problems that will help you on your way!

Biographical Notes

Hilary Koll (Author)
Hilary Koll is a part-time Mathematics Co-ordinator and teacher of children in Berkshire Primary school. She works as a Lecturer in Mathematics Education at the University of Reading on undergraduate, post-graduate and in-service training courses.

Steve Mills (Author)
Steve Mills began his career as a primary school teacher before becoming a Lecturer in Mathematics education at the University of Reading, working with students in initial teacher training, and providing INSET for schools. He is now a full-time writer and consultant in mathematics education.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750298483
  • Publication date: 11 Oct 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole
Authors:
Steve Cole

There's no ducking out - it's time for this ordinary, wise-quacking duck to become . . . A Hero!Ay, chihuahua! Adventure Duck and his zebra sidekick, Ziggy, have a spicy new mission. Their nemesis, Power Pug, has a dastardly new scheme to take over the world with a range of mind-control chocolate treats. With the help of a llama with projectile spit, Adventure Duck and Ziggy set out to foil the pug's nefarious plans to dig up the rainforest to build an enormous chocolate factory. But an army of armadillos stands in their way... Can the superhero amigos find a chink in the armadillos' armour and save the rainforest from destruction?

Hodder Children's Books

The Hottentops at No. 87

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever swum with a Water Greep, or played hotscotch with a Hottentop? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny third book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This is a brand-new story in the Nelly the Monster Sitter series, never before published, and illustrated by the hugely talented Chris Jevons.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous 3

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orion Children's Books

Hangman's Crossing

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The second book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meet the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out. Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.) Jake may have already outrun and outwitted a grim reaper - saving his own life, as well as the soul of an innocent ghost - but his spooky adventure has only just begun . . . In return for helping ghost, Stiffkey, resolve his unfinished business and travel to the Afterworld, Jake has now been awarded an official position working for the Embassy of the Dead, protecting ghosts in need. He didn't ask for it and, to be honest, he doesn't necessarily want it, but saying 'no' to the Embassy isn't an option. Now Jake must journey even deeper into the mysterious world of ghosts where, on a rowdy night undercover at the Hangman's Social Club, he overhears a plot to destroy the very fabric between the world of the living and the dead. With his ghostly gang at his side - hockey stick-wielding Cora and Zorro the fox - Jake must do the impossible. He has to be a hero. Again. His life - and ultimately his death - depends on it.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Meet Emily Windsnap! Ordinary girl on land, magical mermaid in water... Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and oceans of adventure. A must-read for girls aged 8+.When Emily Windsnap's boyfriend Aaron is captured by pirates there's only one option - join a rival pirate crew and persuade them to help rescue him. The Pirate Prince agrees, as long as Emily assists in finding the Trident's Treasure first.But as if boarding a pirate ship weren't dangerous enough, Emily soon discovers that pirates hate mermaids. If her true identity is revealed, her life - and Aaron's - will be at risk.How will Emily keep her secret when the only way to win the treasure is by turning into a mermaid?

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Aisha the Astronaut Fairy's magical item, the astronauts everywhere lose their mojo!Can the girls help Aisha defeat him in a truly out-of-this-world adventure?

Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Animal Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Disappearing Cat

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a brilliant mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. A prize winning Siamese Cat has been stolen, and all evidence points to the Find-Outers' friend Luke. Fatty Larry, Daisy, Pip and Bets know Luke is innocent, but how can they prove it? The Find-Outers have another mystery to solve!In the original 1944 text, Fatty's nickname is based on the fact that his initials are F.A.T. as well as his size. All references to his size have been removed from this recording (based on the text from 2016) so that Fatty's nickname refers to his initials only.(P) 2019 Hodder Children's Books

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Burnt Cottage

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Quercus Children's Books

The Last Life of Prince Alastor

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are helping out at Animal Ark when twin sisters come in with their pet hamster. The only thing the girls can agree on is that there's something wrong with their pet. Could the hamster's greedy brother be the problem?When the hamster escapes at the village Food Fair, Amelia and Sam enlist everyone to look for him. From big bigs to tiny hamsters, everyone needs their own space - even the twins!

Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The kingdom of Avantia is shocked by the return of the king's brother, Prince Angelo, believed killed in battle many years ago. But when he banishes Tom and Elenna from Avantia they travel to the Wildlands in search of the truth about Prince Angelo. First of all they must tackle Querzol, a man-eating mangrove tree! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Franklin Watts

Cats & kittens

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Animals & Babies: Cats & Kittens explores how kitten grow from cute, playful balls of fur into strong, independent cats - with a little help from their mother!An early years photographic series that looks at the unique relationship between a parent and its baby, tracing their journey together from birth to adulthood. The idea of every animal having a lifecycle is brought to life by big, beautiful images and explained in very simple text of no more than one or two sentences per spread.

Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Wayland

Technology

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson
Wayland

Minerals

Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury

Learn how minerals shape our lives and how they've shaped planet Earth's past and present, as well as how they'll shape its future. This book explores the origins of minerals, where they're found, and why they're important. The content-rich text supports the science national curriculum, covering important Earth science and geology concepts. Photographs show readers Earth's most dazzling minerals, while informative fact boxes and sidebars provide a comprehensive learning experience.

Wayland

Crystals

Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury

The rocks that cover Earths surface wouldn't exist without crystals. Written to support the science national curriculum, this text encourages readers to get up close and personal with the crystals contained in rocks. Along the way, they'll learn important Earth science skills, such as how crystals form, how to identify crystals based on their physical properties, and where in the world they're found. The text also teaches readers how we use crystals in everyday life, and what kinds of hobbies and careers involve working with crystals. This information-rich text features engaging images, fact boxes, and sidebars, which offer opportunities for additional learning.