Hilary Koll and Steve Mills - A Maths Journey Around a Deep Sea Adventure - Hachette Children's Group

A Maths Journey Around a Deep Sea Adventure

By Hilary Koll and Steve Mills

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

An exciting adventure series, designed to get children back into maths!

Go on a real-life maths journey to practise the core topics of number, geometry, statistics, ratio & proportion, algebra and measurement. Through data visualisation methods, including colourful diagrams, pictograms, illustrations, photographs and infographics, Go Figure! brings maths into the real world in an innovative, exciting and engaging visual way. It makes even the trickiest problem easier to understand and builds valuable confidence in maths!

Find out how the maths you learn at school can help you go on an adventure deep under the sea!

Maths challenges encourage you to use real data and fascinating facts to solve mathematical problems that will help you on your travels!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750297882
  • Publication date: 11 Feb 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Understanding maths in real-life situations is a great way to help children understand maths, to show them the practical value and to enjoy it ... A brilliant way to engage pupils with maths, the book is presented in vivd colours, with missions to accomplish that can be solved by using a range of maths skills — Parents In Touch
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.Back on Earth, after rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Orchard Books

Rarity's Friendship Lesson

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Orchard Books

Mermaid Mystery - Bumper Special Book!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses!Charlotte and Mia are delighted to meet the mermaids who live in the lagoon in the grounds of Wishing Star Palace. But in the middle of all the fun, the lagoon suddenly turns a murky, toxic green. Nasty Princess Poison is up to her old tricks again! Charlotte and Mia have to grant four more wishes to break the evil curse.Freya wishes to find the buried treasure on her family's treature hunt. Can Charlotte and Mia grant Freya's wish and solve the mermaid mystery?This book is a special longer length for even more magical fun.

Orchard Books

Sea Turtle Song

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Mean Princess Poison has ruined the blue lagoon and made the mermaids who live there homeless! Charlotte and Mia have to grant four watery wishes to break the evil curse.Ava loves helping out at her local marine life centre, especially when the baby sea turtles are about to hatch! She just wishes that they would get to the sea safely ... Can Charlotte and Mia help her wish come true?

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Abdul's Lazy Sons

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts

Franklin Watts

One of Our Tigers is Missing!

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts

Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Magic, Magic Everywhere

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Wayland

Making with Living Things

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Making with Sound

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

My New House

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton

Rabia is sad and scared about moving house. She's worried about what it will be like and how she will cope. But her mum helps her by arranging a visit there before they move and by packing a bag of special things that she can keep with her rather than pack into boxes.The story shows what happens during a move, about the first night there and the excitement that comes when exploring a new home.This first experiences series uncovers the worries and fears associated with big life changes that young children might experience and provides reassurance by explaining how they might feel and shows ways that children can learn to cope with these feelings. The sensitively written story provides guidance not only for children, but also for adults who want to help their child through these unsettling times in their lives. Children can read the books on their own or can discuss the books with an adult. Notes for teachers and parents at the back of the books provide related advice and information to help them guide and support children.

Franklin Watts

New School

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton

Tyrone is having to move schools because his dad has a new job. He is sad and scared about his first day there. Will he make new friends? Will he find his way around? Will he like the teachers?This story shows what happens on a first day at school and shows ways that children can help themselves to ease the transition.This first experiences series uncovers the worries and fears associated with big life changes that young children might experience and provides reassurance by explaining how they might feel and shows ways that children can learn to cope with these feelings. The sensitively written story provides guidance not only for children, but also for adults who want to help their child through these unsettling times in their lives.

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Some lies can't be forgiven ...Don't miss this startling second book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller and author of the bestselling SLATED trilogy.An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The 5% of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.As the epidemic spreads, survivors are being hunted like witches, for the authorities fear their strange new powers. Kai is desperate to trace Shay, who tricked him and disappeared. Meanwhile, Shay is searching for the truth behind the origins of the epidemic ... but danger finds them wherever they go. Can they outrun the fire? From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the second book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Orchard Books

Star Science

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Sleepover School

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses! Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Movie Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Trapdoor Mysteries: A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown