Hilary Koll and Steve Mills - A Maths Journey Around Extreme Sports - Hachette Children's Group

A Maths Journey Around Extreme Sports

By Hilary Koll and Steve Mills

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

An exciting adventure series, designed to get children back into maths!

Go on a real-life maths journey to practise the core topics of numbers, geometry, statistics, ratio & proportion, algebra and measurement. Through data visualisation methods, including colourful diagrams, pictograms, illustrations, photographs and infographics, Go Figure! brings maths into the real world in an innovative, exciting and engaging visual way. It makes even the trickiest problem easier to understand and builds valuable confidence in maths!

Find out how the maths you learn at school can help you go on an adventure through the world of extreme sports!

Maths challenges encourage you to use real data and fascinating facts to solve mathematical problems that will help you on your way!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750297851
  • Publication date: 14 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.Back on Earth, after rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Orchard Books

Rarity's Friendship Lesson

This full-colour Early Reader is perfect for young pony fans just starting their own reading adventure.Rainbow Dash is nervous about taking part in a flying competition, but Rarity, Pinkie Pie and Applejack can't go and cheer her on because the contest is high up in the sky and they can't fly! When Twilight gives Rarity some beautiful magic wings, Rarity gets carried away and forgets that she's suposed to be supporting Rainbow Dash. Can Rainbow Dash conquer her fear - and will Rarity learn a friendship lesson?With all your favourite My Little Pony friends and simple language endorsed by a literacy consultant, learning to read has never been more fun!Collect all the My Little Pony Early Readers:Twilight Sparkle's Princess SpellRainbow Dash's Big Race!Pinkie Pie's Perfect PartyApplejack's Sister SurpriseFluttershy's Secret Song

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon. Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Orchard Books

Mermaid Mystery - Bumper Special Book!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses!Charlotte and Mia are delighted to meet the mermaids who live in the lagoon in the grounds of Wishing Star Palace. But in the middle of all the fun, the lagoon suddenly turns a murky, toxic green. Nasty Princess Poison is up to her old tricks again! Charlotte and Mia have to grant four more wishes to break the evil curse.Freya wishes to find the buried treasure on her family's treature hunt. Can Charlotte and Mia grant Freya's wish and solve the mermaid mystery?This book is a special longer length for even more magical fun.

Orchard Books

Sea Turtle Song

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Abdul's Lazy Sons

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts

Franklin Watts

One of Our Tigers is Missing!

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Magic, Magic Everywhere

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Wayland

Making with Living Things

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Making with Sound

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

My New House

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton

Rabia is sad and scared about moving house. She's worried about what it will be like and how she will cope. But her mum helps her by arranging a visit there before they move and by packing a bag of special things that she can keep with her rather than pack into boxes.The story shows what happens during a move, about the first night there and the excitement that comes when exploring a new home.This first experiences series uncovers the worries and fears associated with big life changes that young children might experience and provides reassurance by explaining how they might feel and shows ways that children can learn to cope with these feelings. The sensitively written story provides guidance not only for children, but also for adults who want to help their child through these unsettling times in their lives. Children can read the books on their own or can discuss the books with an adult. Notes for teachers and parents at the back of the books provide related advice and information to help them guide and support children.

Franklin Watts

New School

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton

Tyrone is having to move schools because his dad has a new job. He is sad and scared about his first day there. Will he make new friends? Will he find his way around? Will he like the teachers?This story shows what happens on a first day at school and shows ways that children can help themselves to ease the transition.This first experiences series uncovers the worries and fears associated with big life changes that young children might experience and provides reassurance by explaining how they might feel and shows ways that children can learn to cope with these feelings. The sensitively written story provides guidance not only for children, but also for adults who want to help their child through these unsettling times in their lives.

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Some lies can't be forgiven ...Don't miss this startling second book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller and author of the bestselling SLATED trilogy.An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The 5% of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.As the epidemic spreads, survivors are being hunted like witches, for the authorities fear their strange new powers. Kai is desperate to trace Shay, who tricked him and disappeared. Meanwhile, Shay is searching for the truth behind the origins of the epidemic ... but danger finds them wherever they go. Can they outrun the fire? From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the second book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Orchard Books

Star Science

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Sleepover School

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Movie Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Trapdoor Mysteries: A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown

The first book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Ten-year-old Tally is a servant girl at Mollett Manor. She sleeps in the scullery sink, and spends her days scrubbing, polishing and ironing (when she's not secretly reading books). Then Tally and her squirrel friend, Squill, find a secret library hidden under the manor - a magical library where the books come to life! When Mollett Manor is burgled, can Tally use the knowledge she finds in the books to catch the criminals? Can they even help her solve the mystery of her missing mother?