Emma Marriott - the Great Depression? - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780750295895
    • Publication date:10 Dec 2015
Books in this series

the Great Depression?

By Emma Marriott

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Explore the advances in science and technology, the changes in society and the artistic developments that came out of turbulent periods in history

Look at the events that lead to the Wall Street Crash of October 1929 and the shockwaves that it sent around the world, leading to economic crisis and financial panic and plunging millions into unemployment, eviction from their homes and grinding poverty. Explore the legacy of the Great Depression internationally, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as political ferment leading to the rise of fascism, and the good things, including the expansion of the welfare state and provision for those in need, technological innovation and the rise of the cinema industry.

Biographical Notes

Emma Marriott, is an experienced writer and editor of non-fiction for young people, specialising in history, popular culture and current affairs.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750297264
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir
Orchard Books

Rarity's Friendship Lesson

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon. Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Orchard Books

Mermaid Mystery - Bumper Special Book!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Sea Turtle Song

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Mean Princess Poison has ruined the blue lagoon and made the mermaids who live there homeless! Charlotte and Mia have to grant four watery wishes to break the evil curse.Ava loves helping out at her local marine life centre, especially when the baby sea turtles are about to hatch! She just wishes that they would get to the sea safely ... Can Charlotte and Mia help her wish come true?

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Abdul's Lazy Sons

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts

Franklin Watts

One of Our Tigers is Missing!

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts

Wayland

Making with Living Things

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Sound

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

My New House

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton
Franklin Watts

New School

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton

Tyrone is having to move schools because his dad has a new job. He is sad and scared about his first day there. Will he make new friends? Will he find his way around? Will he like the teachers?This story shows what happens on a first day at school and shows ways that children can help themselves to ease the transition.This first experiences series uncovers the worries and fears associated with big life changes that young children might experience and provides reassurance by explaining how they might feel and shows ways that children can learn to cope with these feelings. The sensitively written story provides guidance not only for children, but also for adults who want to help their child through these unsettling times in their lives.

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Trapdoor Mysteries: A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown

The first book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Ten-year-old Tally is a servant girl at Mollett Manor. She sleeps in the scullery sink, and spends her days scrubbing, polishing and ironing (when she's not secretly reading books). Then Tally and her squirrel friend, Squill, find a secret library hidden under the manor - a magical library where the books come to life! When Mollett Manor is burgled, can Tally use the knowledge she finds in the books to catch the criminals? Can they even help her solve the mystery of her missing mother?

Orchard Books

Bella Tabbypaw

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

The much-loved series from the creator of Rainbow Magic - abridged for younger readers and illustrated in full colour!Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!Goldie has invited Lily, Jess and kitten Bella Tabbypaw for a sleepover! The girls can't wait to spend a night in Friendship Forest, but brave little Bella decides to go exploring on her own - with the Boggits! Lily and Jess must head into the tunnels underneath the forest to find her, but will Grizelda the witch get there first?

Orchard Books

Star Science

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Sleepover School

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses! Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Movie Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude, comes a brand new hero - Mr Penguin, adventurer and penguin.Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this new Alex T. Smith series with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.It has been weeks since Mr Penguin's last adventure and he's been stuck at his desk, twiddling his flippers ever since. That is until the phone rings!Mr Penguin and Colin (a spider and Mr Penguin's silent right hand man) are called in to find the missing treasure somewhere in the Museum of Extraordinary Objects. The quest finds them solving secret codes, fighting ferocious beasts, eating fish finger sandwiches and travelling deep below the museum to a lost jungle...Praise for Alex T. Smith's Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance.' Sunday Times'Quirky illustrations with plenty of humour.' The MetroClaude won the 5-9 young fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is soon to be a TV star on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in 2017. Alex T. Smith is a World Book Day Illustrator. Follow Alex at http://alextsmith.blogspot.co.uk and https://twitter.com/Alex_T_Smith