Emma Marriott - the Great Depression? - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780750295895
    • Publication date:10 Dec 2015
Books in this series

the Great Depression?

By Emma Marriott

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Explore the advances in science and technology, the changes in society and the artistic developments that came out of turbulent periods in history

Look at the events that lead to the Wall Street Crash of October 1929 and the shockwaves that it sent around the world, leading to economic crisis and financial panic and plunging millions into unemployment, eviction from their homes and grinding poverty. Explore the legacy of the Great Depression internationally, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as political ferment leading to the rise of fascism, and the good things, including the expansion of the welfare state and provision for those in need, technological innovation and the rise of the cinema industry.

Biographical Notes

Emma Marriott, is an experienced writer and editor of non-fiction for young people, specialising in history, popular culture and current affairs.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750297264
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Wayland

Pirates

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim
Franklin Watts

In the Air

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

How did the forces that fought in the air affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the units who battled it out to win supremacy in the skies during the Second World War, from the Luftwaffe and RAF, to the Japanese Kamikaze squadrons. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sides. A great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Orchard Books

Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy is the bubbliest of all the Funfair Fairies! But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, even she is a bit deflated. Can Kirsty and Rachel help bring back the bounce before the funfair goes flat?

Orchard Books

Fatima the Face-Painting Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy makes sure that rollercoasters everywhere are lots of fun. But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, she's in for a bumpy ride! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get things running smoothly again?

Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry
Wayland

Goundbreaking Pioneers of Science and Technology

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli

Curious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Filled with wonderful illustrations, and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, the Brilliant Women series compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful series of four books reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys.In Groundbreaking Science and Technology Pioneers you'll say hello to Hypatia, an ancient Greek mathematician and astronomer. You'll learn about Lise Meitner, the heroic Jewish physicist who escaped the Nazis. You'll join Jane Goodall who lived in the jungle studying apes. These women are just a few of the many who followed their passion for science and technology, and weren't put off by people telling them they couldn't or shouldn't. And along the way they discovered radiation, wrote the first computer programme, expanded our knowledge of the universe and flew into space.

Orion Children's Books

Dear Katie

Katie Thistleton
Authors:
Katie Thistleton
Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend

Enter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor - the most fantastical children's series of the year.Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks - and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday. But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor. It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organisation: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart - an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests - or she'll have to leave the city and confront her deadly fate once and for all. Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.

Orion Children's Books

The List of Real Things

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

A poignant and big-hearted story about love, loss and believing in the magic of the imagination. The fourth novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following BACK TO BLACKBRICK, THE APPLE TART OF HOPE and A VERY GOOD CHANCE.Gracie, 14, and Bee, 6, have lived with their eccentric uncle ever since their parents died five years ago. Gracie just wants to be normal. At school she finally has a boyfriend and cool friends, but her quirky home life and 'mental' little sister have begun to feel like liabilities. When their beloved grandfather dies and grief hits the girls again, little Bee's incredible imagination spirals out of control. Old memories and buried secrets bubble to the surface, and she even believes that their parents are waiting in a secret hotel on a clifftop - a place ghosts wait when they haven't yet let go of life.Gracie is determined Bee should wake up to the truth and let go of her outlandish ideas. She makes her write it down: a list of what's real, and what's not. But when it turns out the hotel may be more than just a dream, Gracie's hard line between what is real and what is imagined begins to blur . . .A beautiful and heartwarming tale of love, creativity and the importance and magic of believing.

Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

Ruby's stunning adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.11-year-old Ruby is on a mission to rescue her best friend Fei, who has been kidnapped by dark forces at the heart of Shanghai: but the world she lives in is driven with danger and fear, and since the death of her brother, Ruby has had a new problem - she can see ghosts. On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, and in and out of the Otherworld, Ruby must find her friend, before she loses herself...

Wren & Rook

Women in Sport

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky
Wayland

WWII?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott
Franklin Watts

A Muslim Life

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

The faith you follow is with you from the moment you are born, until the moment you die and beyond. Following a Faith: A Muslim Life explores some of the cornerstones of what it means to be a Muslim today, through Id-ul-Fitr and Id-ul-Adha celebrations, christening and wedding ceremonies, what happens in a mosque and why many Muslims go on a pilgrimage known as Hajj.This book supports the national curriculum guidelines for religious education for children aged 8+, and promotes religious tolerance and consideration.Following a Faith looks at the rich, cultural and colourful traditions, events, rituals, celebrations, foods, buildings, clothing and more that make up a major religion. Beautiful, bright, bold and modern - these books bring religious non-fiction right up to date and make them relevant and essential reading for followers of a faith and for anyone interested to learn what a religion is all about.

Wayland

First World War

Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond
Contributors:
Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond
Wayland

Vikings

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

History in Infographics helps children to visualise facts and statistics using a clever and appealing mix of graphics and numbers. The colourful, high-impact design will appeal to a wide range of children, from visual learners to struggling readers, capturing and then holding their attention. Infographics are a really exciting, different way to learn about core historical topics, and are ideal for fact-hungry children, revision work, and to improve the quality of presentations. History in Infographics: The Vikings allows children to explore the Viking era like never before, finding out how people lived, what they ate, what they wore, how they were ruled and the gods they worshipped. Children can discover Viking warfare, and how the Vikings traded and raided their way across Europe - travelling thousands of miles from home to found settlements in places as far away as Britain, Iceland and North America. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and history lovers of all ages, the Vikings have never seemed more exciting!

Franklin Watts

Fraction Frenzy

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Franklin Watts

What are the Chances?

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson