Carol Ballard - Cells and Cell Function - Hachette Children's Group

Cells and Cell Function

By Carol Ballard

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Explore all there is to know about cells, the building blocks of all life. A great revision tool for Key Stage 3 Science!

Learn about all about cells, the building blocks of all life. This book explores the structures of planet and animal cells, takes a look at how cells function and discusses the role of they play in supporting all living organisms. It also examines the role of DNA, what happens when cells mutate and examines cutting-edge developments in the scientific investigation of cells, such as stem cell research.

Includes investigations that show how to study different cells under a microscope and fascinating fact boxes that offer in-depth information on topics such as fertilisation. An activity project shows students at Key Stage 3 how to create a model of a plant cell.

The six books in the Living Processes series look at the processes all living organisms must carry out in order to stay alive. From feeding and drinking through to breathing and reproducing, it explores the differing ways in which organisms carry them out.

Biographical Notes

Dr. Carol Ballard is an experienced science teacher who now works as a full-time author and educational consultant. She has written many science books for children and teenagers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750296410
  • Publication date: 22 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

The Brain and Nervous System

Discover the human body in glorious technicolour! This colourful and fact-packed series provides an accessible look at the human body through bright and bold graphics. With spread-filling diagrams, a colour-blocking approach, and simple text and captions, The Bright and Bold Human Body presents the incredible scale and complexity of the human body in small, digestible chunks. As well as this, surprising statistics and close-up photos allow children ages 7+ to gain an insight into the wonders of our bright and bold bodies.

Wayland

The Heart, Lungs, and Blood

Wayland

Weather

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Get outside and do some fun science experiments! From making a rain guage to tracking clouds, making a sundial and catching snowflakes, these simple activities are quick and easy to do, using easily found equipment.This series is perfect for Outdoor Classroom Day, but can, of course, be used at any time of year! Being outdoors helps children focus, boosts creativity and imagination, and can simply be more fun! Learning outdoors creates lasting memories, helps build a greater awareness of the environment, provides more opportunities to think independently, and gets children feeling challenged and excited by learning.Suitable for the key stage one and key stage two primary science curriculum.

Orchard Books

Not If I Save You First

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

Dear Logan,Someday I'm going to write a book: How Not to Die in Alaska - A Girl's Guide to Fashionable Survival.I bet you don't know that a hair pin can make an excellent fishing hook. You may think you can use just any kind of mud for mud masks, but trust me, you CAN'T! In a pinch, nothing starts a fire like nail polish remover. Alaska is tough. You might know this, if you ever replied to my letters.After Maddie's Secret Service dad takes a bullet for the president, he takes Maddie somewhere he thinks they'll be safe - far away from the White House and the president's son, Logan. But when Logan comes to Alaska, so does the danger. If there's one thing Alaska has taught Maddie, it's how to survive. And now her best friend's life depends on it ...An edge-of-your-seat thriller from the internationally bestselling author of Gallagher Girls

Quercus Children's Books

In the Afterlight

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

Never Fade

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

The first book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games. The movie adaptation from Twentieth Century Fox will be in cinemas in August 2018. Ruby is sixteen. She is dangerous. And she is alive. For now.A mysterious disease has killed most of America's children. Ruby might have survived, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse than a virus: frightening abilities they cannot control. Pressured by the government, Ruby's parents sent her to Thurmond, a brutal state 'rehabilitation camp', where she has learned to fear and suppress her new power. But what if mastering it is a whole generation's only chance for survival?'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked LovelyAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Wayland

Plant Variation and Classification

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard

Find out how our plant classification system works and look at how scientists use it to identify and group plant species. This book examines the features required to classify a plant, the key plant kingdoms and the plants that fall within them. This also looks at the variation between and within plant species and debates how and why such variations have occurred. Includes fieldwork investigations that show students at Key Stage 3 how to classify plants in their area and fascinating fact boxes that offer in-depth information on topics such as mutation. An activity project shows students how to create their own classification key. The six books in the Living Processes series look at the processes all living organisms must carry out in order to stay alive. From feeding and drinking through to breathing and reproducing, it explores the differing ways in which organisms carry them out.

Wayland

Living Processes: Food Relationships and Webs

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard

Find out how the passage of energy from one organism to another creates a food chain. This book explores how the need to find and consume food creates an interlinking chain between organisms, from the producers of energy to the consumers. It also looks at what happens when a food chain breaks down and the disastrous consequences this can have for the organisms in the chain. Includes fieldwork investigations that show how to identify food chains and webs and fascinating fact boxes that offer in-depth information on topics such as echolocation. An activity project shows students at Key Stage 3 how to build their own food web.The six books in the Living Processes series look at the processes all living organisms must carry out in order to stay alive. From feeding and drinking through to breathing and reproducing, it explores the differing ways in which organisms carry them out.

Wayland

Materials

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard
Wayland

Sound

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard

Discover where sound comes from, how it travels and how we hear sound. Learn about echoes and how sound is measured.The topic of sound is approached in a simple and clear way. The concepts are complemented by new artwork and specially-commissioned photography featuring children. Each step-by-step experiment has been tried in the classroom and is illustrated with photography which encourages children's understanding. Each book is bright, colourful and simple in its design.

Franklin Watts

Secrets of Heat and Cold

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard
Wayland

Light

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard
Wayland

Magnets and Springs

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard
Wayland

Electricity

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard

Learn all about batteries, simple circuits, conductors and insulators. Find out how to be safe around electricity, and the best ways to save electricity to help the environment.The topic of electricity is approached in a simple and clear way. The concepts are complemented by new artwork and specially-commissioned photography featuring children. Each step-by-step experiment has been tried in the classroom and is illustrated with photography which encourages children's understanding. Each book is bright, colourful and simple in its design.

Wayland

Forces and Movement

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard

Discover what forces do, and how they affect us. Learn about gravity, friction and pressure, and how to measure different forces.The topic of forces and movement is approached in a simple and clear way. The concepts are complemented by new artwork and specially-commissioned photography featuring children. Each step-by-step experiment has been tried in the classroom and is illustrated with photography which encourages children's understanding. Each book is bright, colourful and simple in its design.

Franklin Watts

Solving Crimes in the Lab

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard
Franklin Watts

Collecting Crime-scene Evidence

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard

Explores the popular subject of forensic science in a way that supports the science curriculum and encourages reading

Franklin Watts

Identifying Criminals and Victims

Carol Ballard
Authors:
Carol Ballard

Explores the popular subject of forensic science in a way that supports the science curriculum and encourages reading

Chris d'Lacey

Chris d'Lacey is the author of the The Last Dragon Chronicles and the Dragons of Wayward Crescent series. He likes dragons. He was born in Malta, but now lives in Devon with his wife, Jay, and about three hundred teddy bears. He likes teddy bears, too. After graduating from York University with a Biology degree, he went to Leicester University where he worked for twenty-eight years as a research scientist, mainly looking down microscopes. He now writes full time.In his spare moments, he likes to watch TV and walk by the sea - though not necessarily at the same time. His passion is writing and recording songs. His ultimate ambition is to write a song that will feature on the soundtrack of a movie of the dragon books, always assuming a movie is made.Presently, he is working on two new projects, both of which feature dragons to some extent.