Philip Steele - Did Anything Good Come Out of... the Vietnam War? - Hachette Children's Group

Did Anything Good Come Out of... the Vietnam War?

By Philip Steele

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Exploring the advances in science and technology, the changes in society and the artistic developments that came out of turbulent periods in history.

This book considers the Vietnam (or Second Indochina) War, 1955-1975, which may have killed as many as 3 million troops and civilians. It divided America, it aroused huge opposition around the world and it divided generations. Why was it fought and what were the outcomes? Did it have any unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750295901
  • Publication date: 12 Nov 2015
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

Contender: The Chosen

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Orchard Books

Fated

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Don't miss this prequel to the multi award-winning SLATED trilogy by Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller!I'm just one girl. What can I do?Sam's cosy life as daughter of the Deputy Prime Minister is about to end. These are turbulent times. Borders have closed and protests are turning violent. The government blames the country's youth, and is cracking down hard. Mobile phones are blocked, gatherings are banned and dissent is brutally crushed.Sam is torn between family loyalty and doing what is right. When she meets Ava and Lucas her mind is made up.One girl, one choice. She can make a difference: she must. Even if her life - and her heart - are on the line ...A red-hot thriller packed with secrets and revelations that shines a new light on the award-winning SLATED trilogy.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Wayland

Natural Habitats

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

In an era when the global environment is defined by humans and their activities, humans are destroying natural habitats and resources, often the same ones on which they themselves depend. While humans understand more about the environment and population than ever before, what action are they taking to protect the natural environment for future generations - and is it too little, too late? This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the treatment of natural habitats.

Wayland

Food

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Food is fundamental to life on Earth. The struggle to find or grow food, and often failing, is the story of human history. Today we have more varities of food and production methods than ever before, but there has perhaps never been less connection with the land that produces food, and with farming. And despite all the incredible progress that has been made, today nearly 11 per cent of the world's population is undernourished. This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the global food supply.

Wayland

Climate Change

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Population

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

The world's population is growing, and with this growth comes an increased pressure on the resources, such as food, water, land for housing and energy sources, we need to live. The way in which humans are treating the planet they live on is having a significant effect on the global climate. This matters because the future of life on Earth, no less, depends on our understanding of the problem and the actions we take. This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the global population.

Wayland

Water

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Water keeps us and our world alive. Without it we couldn't exist. Water and climate influence every aspect of human life. They affect where and how we live, our health, farming and food, our energy and our industry. The world's climate is changing. The amount of water we use is changing and the population is growing. But water is finite. There is only so much of it to go round, and we cannot make any more of it. This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the global water supply.

Wayland

Oil

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Orion Children's Books

Six of Crows: Crooked Kingdom

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

*The Grishaverse will be coming to Netflix soon with Shadow and Bone, an original series!*The stunning sequel to SIX OF CROWS, this is GAME OF THRONES meets OCEAN'S ELEVEN in a fantasy epic from the number 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Leigh Bardugo.Welcome to the world of the Grisha.Kaz Brekker and his crew of deadly outcasts have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn't think they'd survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they're right back to fighting for their lives.Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz's cunning and test the team's fragile loyalties.A war will be waged on the city's dark and twisting streets - a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.As gripping, sweeping and memorable as the Grisha trilogy - SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING - this novel is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Laini Taylor, Kristin Cashore and GAME OF THRONES.Winner of the Teen Choice Book Award for Book of the Year.

Hodder Children's Books

Rock War

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Meet Jay. Summer. And Dylan. Jay plays guitar, writes songs and dreams of being a rock star. But his ambitions are stifled by seven siblings and a terrible drummer. Summer works hard at school, looks after her nan and has a one-in-a-million singing voice. But can her talent triumph over her nerves?Dylan is happiest lying on his bunk smoking, but his school rugby coach has other ideas, and Dylan reluctantly joins a band to avoid crunching tackles and icy mud.They're about to enter the biggest battle of their lives. And there's everything to play for. A spectacular start to the new series from Robert Muchamore, bestselling author of CHERUB - read on with Rock War: The Audition, a story especially written for World Book Day.

Franklin Watts

China and Beijing

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Orchard Books

Book of Lies

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Who lies? Who tells the truth? Death hangs on the answer... 'Highly recommended, especially for those who like their fantasy subtle but chillingly effective, and populated by characters they can believe in' (Starburst Magazine)Tell a lie and the darkness will find you.Quinn and Piper are twins, but they've never met. A tragic event bringsthem together, and draws them into a family curse that stretches across centuries.One twin can command the darkness; the other could hold the key to breaking the curse.But when lies become truth and truth looks like lies, who can you believe?Don't miss this startling new book from Teri Terry, queen of the YA psychological thriller!They are trapped, frozen. Waiting. Straining against the wood that holds them. The unwary catch a glimpse now and then - feel their desperate hunger, see a glint of red eyes - and scurry out of the shadows of the wood, back to the light. She's coming; it will be soon.They will run free on the moors again. The Hunt will return. And the ground will run with blood.

Wayland

Explorers

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Find out about 12 of the most incredible expeditions in history, from the ancient Egyptian voyage to the land of Punt around 1470 BCE to the Apollo mission to space in 1969; taking in Marco Polo's journey to China, the great 15th-century Chinese voyages, the Portuguese sailing around the Cape of Good Hope, the New World voyages, the circumnavigation of the globe, the mapping of the Pacific, the exploration of the American West, the exploration of Africa, the race to the South Pole and the descent into the Mariana Trench on the way. Discover the dates and location of each expedition, the people involved and the distances travelled. Find out about the expedition leaders, Hatshepsut, Marco Polo, Zheng He, Christopher Columbus, Bartolomeu Dias, Vasco da Gama, Ferdinand Magellan, Captain James Cook, Meriwether Lewis, William Clark, Dr Livingstone, Henry Morton Stanley, Mary Kingsley, Robert Scott, Roald Amundsen, Jacques Picard, James Cameron, Neil Armstrong, Michael Collins and Buzz Aldrin. Epic: Explorers also looks at the technology and vehicles involved in each expedition, from the Chinese treasure ships and the American canoes to the skis and dog sleds used on the South Pole expedition, and the rocket that carried the astronauts to the Moon. The dangers the adventurers faced are also catalogued, from the deserts, robbers and storms Marco Polo braved on his journey to China, to the lions, crocodiles and diseases Stanley and Livingstone battled in Africa. A perfect resource for project work on exploration, geography or history, or simply a great leisure read, for children aged 9 and above. For more epic events, try reading the other titles in the Epic series: Animal Migrations, Battles and Empires.

Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... the American Civil War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book considers the deadliest war in US history, which killed 750,000 soldiers and many civilians before this young nation was a century old. Its legacy still resonates across the USA today. Did it achieve any of its goals? Did it have unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Hodder Children's Books

A Song for Ella Grey

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Wayland

Empires

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Orchard Books

Mind Games

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Hodder Children's Books

The DUFF

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is smart, cynical, loyal - and well aware that she's not the hot one in her group of friends. But when high-school jock and all round moron Wesley Rush tells her she's a DUFF - a Designated, Ugly Fat Friend - Bianca does not the see funny side. She may not be a beauty but she'd never stoop so low as to go anywhere near the likes of Wesley ... Or would she? Bianca is about to find out that attraction defies looks and that sometimes your sworn enemies can become your best friends ...With a wry and tell-it-like-it-is voice, New York Times Bestselling novel The Duff is a witty and poignant story of a teenager struggling with the rules of high school attraction, along with the breaking down of her relationships with family and friends. It is a novel about what it means to be sexy, in a world where we feel we have to be perfect!A Hamilton High School story from Kody Keplinger.Now a film starring Mae Whitman, Bella Thorne and Alison Janney - out on DVD Summer 2015.