Jon Richards - Players and Skills - Hachette Children's Group

Players and Skills

By Jon Richards

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

An in-depth look at one of the world's best-loved sport. Fully updated for the 2015 Rugby World Cup!

Fully updated for the 2015 Rugby World Cup, this book is packed with information on the different players on a team, including their roles and the skills they need to succeed.Specially commissioned photographs demonstrate key rugby skills and strategies and advice gives tips on how to improve and develop into a top rugby player!

The four books in the Rugby Focus series takes an in-depth look at one of the world's best-loved sports. Find out everything you need to know about rugby, from the players and laws of the game to the teamwork involved in winning the ultimate tournament - the Rugby World Cup.

Great for readers who play the game or avid fans!

Biographical Notes

After completing a degree in English Literature at Leeds University, Jon entered the publishing industry working as a humble researcher for illustrated publisher Marshall Editions on books for both adults and children. This role took him to some of the more obscure libraries in London and beyond and gave him a thirst for hunting out various bits of facts, information and trivia.

Over the next 10 years he moved firmly into the children's illustrated non-fiction market, and also gained invaluable experience working on an eclectic range of licensed books on topics as diverse as wrestling, The X-Men and Star Wars.

In 2001, Jon set up his own company, Tall Tree, which started life in the spare bedroom of his flat in southwest London. Since then, Tall Tree has grown to fill an office in central London and today it works with some of the biggest children's publishers putting together illustrated non-fiction books that sell around the world.

While he is predominantly an editor, he has also written nearly 50 books for children, including the award-winning 12-volume World of Infographics series, which he developed along with Ed Simkins.

He currently lives in Harpenden, Hertfordshire, but hates the daily commute into London, and is married with two children and a dog.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750294812
  • Publication date: 13 Aug 2015
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Magnificent Habitats

Rob Colson, Jon Richards
Authors:
Rob Colson, Jon Richards

Wayland

Incredible Living Things

Rob Colson, Jon Richards
Authors:
Rob Colson, Jon Richards
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Franklin Watts

In the Home

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered how we invented the objects that make our homes comfortable, like the television, the washing machine, the toaster? Learn all about the history of the objects that we cannot do without in our homes in It'll Never Work: In the Home, a book that explores the invention of household items that have become essential to our daily life and the successes and failures that have led to the comforts and entertainment that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Sports

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Inventions

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Are there any inventions older than the wheel? Who invented the computer? What was all the fuss about inventing a flying machine - and was it really that dangerous? Whether it spins, flies, lights up or explodes, Infomojis: Inventions is all about exploring inventions in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as how wing shape creates lift or how splitting atoms creates a deadly bang!The book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young astronomer to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Franklin Watts

Cars, Trucks and Trains

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Franklin Watts

Planes and Helicopters

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered what made human beings think they could take to the skies? Starting with Icarus and his wax and feather wings and Leonardo Da Vinci's Flying Machine and primitive helicopter know as the Aerial Screw, It'll Never Work: Aeroplanes and Helicopters explores the history of flying machines, the successes and failures that have led to the comforts of modern passenger flight that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Weapons and Warfare

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered how guns and bullet proof jackets were invented? From spears and arrows to experiments with rocket and lasers, from chain mail to kevlar and ceramic plates, It'll Never Work: Weapons and Warfare explores the history and development of weaponry, the successes and failures that have led to the weapons of modern warfare that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Powerful Forces

Jon Richards, Rob Colson
Authors:
Jon Richards, Rob Colson

When the world of science is viewed at its extremes it is easier to study and understand and it is also much more awesome!In Powerful Forces find out what it takes to move at extreme speeds, what g-force does to the human body and some truly impressive land, sea and air speed records. Uncover how shape of an object affects push and pull forces, such as thrust and drag, and how forces are used every day in all kinds of ways. And find out about one of the most powerful forces of all - gravity.This series looks at extreme qualities and experiences, and how things have evolved and adapted to reach their extreme state and how we can identify scientific information from this. Presented in a highly graphic and accessible way, Extreme Science will appeal to visual learners and reluctant readers. Aimed at children aged 9 and up.Extreme Science is a series of six book:Powerful ForcesAwesome Matter and MaterialsSpectacular Light and SoundPhenomenal PlantsMagnificent HabitatsIncredible Living Things

Wayland

Awesome Matter and Materials

Jon Richards, Rob Colson
Authors:
Jon Richards, Rob Colson

When the world of science is viewed at its extremes it is easier to study and understand and it is also much more awesome!In Awesome Matter and Materials find out about atoms and other microscopic building blocks, gasses, liquids and solids and some truly impressive extremes of temperature, hardness and weight. Uncover some of the most common and rarest materials in the world, and see how properties, such as elasticity and conductivity are important in all kinds of ways. Covering both human-made and natural materials with fascinating facts and brilliant graphics.This series looks at extreme qualities and experiences, and how things have evolved and adapted to reach their extreme state and how we can identify scientific information from this. Presented in a highly graphic and accessible way, Extreme Science will appeal to visual learners and reluctant readers. Aimed at children aged 9 and up.Extreme Science is a series of six book:Powerful ForcesAwesome Matter and MaterialsSpectacular Light and SoundPhenomenal PlantsMagnificent HabitatsIncredible Living Things

Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Wren & Rook

Turn Off, Live On

Vincent Vincent
Authors:
Vincent Vincent
Wayland

Planet Earth

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Did you know that Earth formed about 4.5 billion years ago? Or about earthquakes, ecosystems and the Goldilocks Zone? Well, where have you been?! Whether it smashes, erupts, evaporates or freezes, Infomojis: Planet Earth is all about exploring our planet in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as plate tectonics and the role rainforests play in life on Earth.The book features custom-made 'infomojis' (information emojis) that present the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young geologist to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Wayland

Space

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Continents

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Natural Disasters

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Stone Age

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

Infomania

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Franklin Watts

Rockets and Space Travel

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards