Jon Richards - Players and Skills - Hachette Children's Group

Players and Skills

By Jon Richards

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

An in-depth look at one of the world's best-loved sport. Fully updated for the 2015 Rugby World Cup!

Fully updated for the 2015 Rugby World Cup, this book is packed with information on the different players on a team, including their roles and the skills they need to succeed.Specially commissioned photographs demonstrate key rugby skills and strategies and advice gives tips on how to improve and develop into a top rugby player!

The four books in the Rugby Focus series takes an in-depth look at one of the world's best-loved sports. Find out everything you need to know about rugby, from the players and laws of the game to the teamwork involved in winning the ultimate tournament - the Rugby World Cup.

Great for readers who play the game or avid fans!

Biographical Notes

After completing a degree in English Literature at Leeds University, Jon entered the publishing industry working as a humble researcher for illustrated publisher Marshall Editions on books for both adults and children. This role took him to some of the more obscure libraries in London and beyond and gave him a thirst for hunting out various bits of facts, information and trivia.

Over the next 10 years he moved firmly into the children's illustrated non-fiction market, and also gained invaluable experience working on an eclectic range of licensed books on topics as diverse as wrestling, The X-Men and Star Wars.

In 2001, Jon set up his own company, Tall Tree, which started life in the spare bedroom of his flat in southwest London. Since then, Tall Tree has grown to fill an office in central London and today it works with some of the biggest children's publishers putting together illustrated non-fiction books that sell around the world.

While he is predominantly an editor, he has also written nearly 50 books for children, including the award-winning 12-volume World of Infographics series, which he developed along with Ed Simkins.

He currently lives in Harpenden, Hertfordshire, but hates the daily commute into London, and is married with two children and a dog.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750294812
  • Publication date: 13 Aug 2015
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

The Dark Wizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Earthquakes and Tsunamis

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Wayland

The Ancient Olympic Games

Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
Contributors:
Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
Franklin Watts

The Ancient Egyptians

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Franklin Watts

Volcanoes and Avalanches

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Look inside natural disasters and discover how they work!Natural disasters devastate communities. They reshape the landscape and can alter people's ways of life in an area for years after the event. Learn all about volcanoes and avalanches. Find out how they form, where they are most to happen and how scientists study them through diagrams and case studies.Explore how natural disasters work by cracking them open and looking at them from the inside. How do they happen? How are they destructive? What happens on the inside of each phenomena? And where in the world are the danger zones? This series explore each of these questions in detail.This series uses detailed artwork, cutaways and images from real-life to give a rounded view of each event. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Franklin Watts

Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered what made human beings want to reach for the skies by building higher and higher? And how they did it? Learn all about the the history of construction in It'll Never Work: Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels, a book that explores the medieval castles, underwater hotels, tunnels under the sea and the successes and failures that have led to the building feats that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

A Guide to Space

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Wayland

Meet the Minibeasts

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Wayland

First Man on the Moon

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Orchard Books

The Frozen Fortress

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Rockets and Space Travel

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Franklin Watts

A Noble History of Knights

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

In Knights, find out all about the very first knights who served King Charlemagne. Battle your way through the Middle Ages with spears, swords and lances and find out about Knights overseas, including what happened during the crusades. Discover the samurai and sipahis - knights from Japan and the Ottoman Empire. Find out whether you'd have the skills to keep the peasants in line, to loyally serve your king, or win a jousting tournament.Blast Through the Past takes a look at some of the most influential jobs (legal or otherwise!) and gets under the skin of of the most famous and infamous, the cleverest and the barmiest people who have shaped history. Take a chronological look at knights, spies, ancient warriors, explorers and more, and discover if you have what it takes to be a pirate on the high seas, an undercover agent or a fearsome gladiator.Blast Through the Past is a series aimed at children aged 8+.

Franklin Watts

In the Home

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered how we invented the objects that make our homes comfortable, like the television, the washing machine, the toaster? Learn all about the history of the objects that we cannot do without in our homes in It'll Never Work: In the Home, a book that explores the invention of household items that have become essential to our daily life and the successes and failures that have led to the comforts and entertainment that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Space

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

What is Space? This is the question that will be explored in this exciting book. Planets, asteroids, space travel and exploration are just some of the incredible topics you will learn about in this book. Discover what they are, what we know about them and how scientists intend to find out more about them.There are eight titles in the series Visual Explorers. High-impact books with incredible information about the world around us. Perfect for KS2 and children aged 7+ with an interest in natural phenomenon and natural history.