Paul Mason - Your Growing Body and Clever Reproductive System - Hachette Children's Group

Your Growing Body and Clever Reproductive System

By Paul Mason

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Each title in the Your Brilliant Body series looks at a different system of the human body, exploring anatomy from top to toe with attention-grabbing facts and key information. Your Brilliant Body combines an exciting design with lively factual text to reveal the wonders of the human body.

Packed with amazing facts and eye-grabbing images, Your Growing Body and Clever Reproductive System takes a different approach to teaching the reader about the human life cycle - how we are born, grow, age, and about the reproductive system.

Every spread opens with an amazing science fact about the human body - for example - Babies have around 60 more bones than adults! - then goes on to explain how scientifically this is possible. By exploring these attention-grabbing sections, readers will build up their understanding of how the body's growth and reproductive systems work.

Detailed diagrams and amazing images illustrate the lively, factual text. Your Growing Body and Clever Reproductive System looks at the body's developmental stages through life and how humans reproduce. How do babies grow inside the womb? What happens at puberty, and how is it different for boys and girls? Why are the first years of learning so important? How likely is it that a woman will have twins or triplets? Answers to all these questions and many more can be found in this fascinating title.

The Your Brilliant Body series includes:
'See for Yourself' features - practical activities that help readers understand key ideas
Amazing fact panels to intrigue the reader
Advice on keeping in good shape, and warnings about common health problems.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750292511
  • Publication date: 08 Dec 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

The Dark Wizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Long ago, the Beasts of Avantia crossed over into our world and have been lying in wait for three special children to bring them back to life... That time is now.Amy, Charlie and Sam have known each other all their lives, happily unaware of the powerful legacy that binds them together. In fact, they are direct descendants of the Guardians of Avantia - an elite group of heroes, trained by Tom, Master of the Beasts, himself.Nearly a hundred years ago, the Guardians escaped from the evil wizard Malvel and sought refuge in our world, along with their hoard of magical Beast eggs. Living among non-magical humankind, the Guardians adapted to Earth society, knowing that one day, their descendants would unlock the power to release the Beasts... and have to face Malvel once more.For Amy, Charlie and Sam, that time has come.Join a new generation of heroes as they discover their destiny, and experience the awesome power of Beast Quest as never before!

Wayland

The Ancient Olympic Games

Travel back in time to Ancient Greece to discover the origins of the Olympic Games.Bright, bold and dynamic artwork bring to life the origins of the Olympic Games. Find out about the legend behind the games, the original events and the excitement that filled Olympia during the Olympic Festival.

Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
Contributors:
Justin Davies, Kim Geyer

This book STINKS . . . of monsters! A hilariously funny debut, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?

Franklin Watts

The Ancient Egyptians

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Franklin Watts

Volcanoes and Avalanches

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Look inside natural disasters and discover how they work!Natural disasters devastate communities. They reshape the landscape and can alter people's ways of life in an area for years after the event. Learn all about volcanoes and avalanches. Find out how they form, where they are most to happen and how scientists study them through diagrams and case studies.Explore how natural disasters work by cracking them open and looking at them from the inside. How do they happen? How are they destructive? What happens on the inside of each phenomena? And where in the world are the danger zones? This series explore each of these questions in detail.This series uses detailed artwork, cutaways and images from real-life to give a rounded view of each event. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Space

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Wayland

A Guide to Space

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Wayland

Meet the Minibeasts

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Become a minibeast expert with this easy-to-understand guide to the wonderful and important creatures that live beside us. Have you ever wondered what the difference between a moth and a butterfly is? Or have you ever thought about how bees live together? This fascinating and comprehensive book for children aged 6+ is full of interesting facts and brilliant photographs. It also features guides to spotting your favourite minibeast in their natural habitats.Minibeasts covered: ants, aphids, bees, beetles, bugs, butterflies, centipedes, cicadas, crickets, damselflies, dragonflies, earwigs, flies, grasshoppers, harvestmen, millipedes, mites, moths, pond skaters, slugs, snails, spiders, termites, ticks, wasps, woodlice, worms.

Franklin Watts

Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered what made human beings want to reach for the skies by building higher and higher? And how they did it? Learn all about the the history of construction in It'll Never Work: Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels, a book that explores the medieval castles, underwater hotels, tunnels under the sea and the successes and failures that have led to the building feats that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

First Man on the Moon

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

A gripping illustrated account of the historic first moon landingsAn exciting narrative non-fiction account of the first moon landing, designed to publish in time for the 50th anniversary of this historic milestone in space exploration Pacey, accessible text recounts the story of the first moon landing, from its beginnings in the Space Race, to early missions, the successful Apollo 11 voyage, Armstrong's legendary first steps on the moon and the astronauts' heart-stopping return to EarthFully illustrated throughout, with fresh, modern artwork breathing new life into this famous story. Perfect for readers aged 8 and up.

Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

On Planet Earth

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

In the Animal Kingdom

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

In Engineering and Industry

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

In Outer Space

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Wayland

In the Human Body

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at cultural issues between family and school friends including religion, diet, clothes and attitudes. It looks at family expectations and the desire to blend in with peers. It emphasises respect for cultural differences in and out of school and tolerance and an acceptance of a different way of behaving. The book includes practical advice and links to organisations that can help. The consultant is the chief executive of the Race Equality Foundation.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

A Noble History of Knights

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell