Jon Richards and Ed Simkins - The Natural World - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Natural World

Planet Earth and its billions of species in maps and infographics

By Jon Richards and Ed Simkins

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A beautifully designed, map-focused visual literacy series.

This is not just another atlas! From the longest migration routes around the world to biodiversity hotspots; from the physical adaptations of animals to their habitats to an exploration of the world's oceans, The Natural World takes a unique look at the wildlife and geology of our globe. Using innovatively designed maps alongside infographics, graphs and icons, this book explores the bigger picture of topics such as evolution, biodiversity, tectonics and climate change.

Explore in-depth which areas in the world are most affected by natural disasters, where most endangered species live, how climate change is affecting our planet and how effectively deforestation is being balanced out by reforestation around the world. The maps not only give an overview of location, but also provide a wealth of fascinating information that is beautifully designed.

Written and illustrated by the award-winning Jon Richards and Ed Simkins, this book is another perfect example of how innovative design can deliver facts and figures in an absorbing and immediate way.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750291545
  • Publication date: 26 Nov 2015
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Abominable Dr Snow

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he save the Big Freeze winter games from disaster? And will there be enough marshmallows for another hot chocolate? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.It's the opening night of the Big Freeze winter games, but all is not well in the United Woodlands. Top animal athletes are disappearing, and there are whispers of a silent snow beast on the prowl. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. Can he and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins find out more about the sleek winter ermine who are winning all the golden acorns? Will Weasel be able to take part in the competition without falling over his own feet? Will there be enough marshmallows and sprinkles for another hot chocolate? Who knows? But rest assured: even on the darkest, coldest and snowiest of nights, Agent Weasel always gets his animal. This is the second in the rib-ticklingly funny Agent Weasel series, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Hodder Children's Books

We Love You, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

Mr Panda is looking for love in this laugh-out-loud funny picture book from the author of The Queen's Hat, Steve Antony!Mr Panda is offering free hugs to all his animal friends - but the are all busy hugging each other! Does nobody love Mr Panda?Praise for Mr Panda:'An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times

Wren & Rook

Every Child A Song

Nicola Davies, Marc Martin
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Marc Martin
Wayland

Magnificent Habitats

Rob Colson, Jon Richards
Authors:
Rob Colson, Jon Richards

Wayland

Incredible Living Things

Rob Colson, Jon Richards
Authors:
Rob Colson, Jon Richards

Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty
Franklin Watts

In the Home

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

Sports

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Which ancient cultures enjoyed a bit of sporting competition? Who won the first marathon? How hard do top tennis players hit the ball, and which is the most dangerous sport? Whether you hit it, bounce it, run at top speed or ride in or on it, Infomojis: Sports is all about exploring sport in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as how streamlined F1 cars are designed to reduce drag and why athletes' bodies need muscle power to compete!The book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young astronomer to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Wayland

Inventions

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Franklin Watts

Cars, Trucks and Trains

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered why and how the car was invented? From steam cars and trains to experiments with rocket powered and flying cars, It'll Never Work: Cars, Trucks and Trains explores the history and development of vehicles that have led to the comforts of modern passenger transport that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Planes and Helicopters

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Franklin Watts

Weapons and Warfare

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

Powerful Forces

Jon Richards, Rob Colson
Authors:
Jon Richards, Rob Colson
Wayland

Awesome Matter and Materials

Jon Richards, Rob Colson
Authors:
Jon Richards, Rob Colson

When the world of science is viewed at its extremes it is easier to study and understand and it is also much more awesome!In Awesome Matter and Materials find out about atoms and other microscopic building blocks, gasses, liquids and solids and some truly impressive extremes of temperature, hardness and weight. Uncover some of the most common and rarest materials in the world, and see how properties, such as elasticity and conductivity are important in all kinds of ways. Covering both human-made and natural materials with fascinating facts and brilliant graphics.This series looks at extreme qualities and experiences, and how things have evolved and adapted to reach their extreme state and how we can identify scientific information from this. Presented in a highly graphic and accessible way, Extreme Science will appeal to visual learners and reluctant readers. Aimed at children aged 9 and up.Extreme Science is a series of six book:Powerful ForcesAwesome Matter and MaterialsSpectacular Light and SoundPhenomenal PlantsMagnificent HabitatsIncredible Living Things

Wren & Rook

Turn Off, Live On

Vincent Vincent
Authors:
Vincent Vincent

Are you addicted to your smartphone?Phones are fun and useful but online life can be overwhelming - often leaving us feeling anxious, sad or lacking in confidence. Brimming with clever activities, puzzles, life hacks and relaxation techniques, this interactive journal is the ultimate remedy!With 75 ways to switch offline, unleash your creativity, boost your brain cells and find your inner unicorn, it's time to put the tech aside and start living in the here and now.Turn Off.Live On.

Wayland

Planet Earth

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Did you know that Earth formed about 4.5 billion years ago? Or about earthquakes, ecosystems and the Goldilocks Zone? Well, where have you been?! Whether it smashes, erupts, evaporates or freezes, Infomojis: Planet Earth is all about exploring our planet in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as plate tectonics and the role rainforests play in life on Earth.The book features custom-made 'infomojis' (information emojis) that present the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young geologist to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Wayland

Space

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Who holds the record for driving the fastest on the Moon? And how far away is the Moon from Earth? What are the gas giants - and what about nebulae? Whether it shoots, glows, radiates or collides, Infomojis: Space is all about exploring the universe in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as the nuclear reaction that makes our Sun shine or how the Moon's gravity affects tides on Earth.The book features custom-made 'infomojis' (information emojis) that present the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young astronomer to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Wayland

Natural Disasters

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Infomania

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

From awesome record-breakers to amazing Top 10s and fascinating facts on the fastest, tallest and most exciting things out there, Infomania has it all. Using striking graphics, crisp designs and a rainbow of colours, this book visually brings information to life in infographics and includes almost everything children want to know about humans, space, Earth, buildings and animals.Includes information on the biggest bugs, longest sleepers, killer creature, longest survivors, super strong, iconic art, melodic music, driest places, oldest buildings, biggest bridges, distant worlds and size of the Universe, to name just a few topics in this fact-filled book.

Franklin Watts

Rockets and Space Travel

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered what made human beings think they could go to the Moon? The idea of exploring space started with fiction and science-fiction written by authors like Jules Verne and H G Wells. Little did they know that space travel would become a reality! It'll Never Work: Rockets and Space Travel explores the history of space travel and spaceships, the successes and failures that have led to the very recent Pluto flyby by the New Horizons spacecraft.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.