Angela Royston - Oceans - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780750280143
    • Publication date:09 Jan 2014
Books in this series

Oceans

By Angela Royston

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Read all about what it's like to live and work deep beneath the ocean waves. An exciting read for children aged 9+ for geography and science projects, or simply as a great leisure read.

What is it like to live and work deep beneath the ocean waves? How many mysteries do our oceans hold, what are scientists hoping to discover by researching the deep and how does the research carried out in the oceans affect our life on land? Discover life and science on the edge in this fascinating exploration of one of our planet's most extreme environments.

The Research on the Edge series examines how scientists live and work in some of Earth's most extreme habitats. It looks at how they carry out their research and how the discoveries they make are changing our lives. The series also explores the many adventures, challenges and dangers of daily life for scientists researching 'on the edge'.

An exciting read for children aged 9+, for geography and science projects, or simply as a great leisure read.

Biographical Notes

Angela Royston has been writing information books for children for many years and has written nearly 300 books. She writes about extreme weather, forensic science, animals and anything she can research - she enjoys finding out and writing about new things. She also visits schools to talk to children about writing and runs creative science writing workshops.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750289757
  • Publication date: 24 Sep 2015
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Excellent photographs... well laid out... a useful addition to class and school libraries. — School Librarian
Franklin Watts

Human and Animal Bodies

Angela Royston
Authors:
Angela Royston
Franklin Watts

King Midas

Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno
Franklin Watts

Hidden Talent

Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Contributors:
Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Franklin Watts

The Blitz Baby

Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De

During a bombing of Plymouth in World War 2, a German plane is shot down near Jenny and Thomas's house. They long to investigate, but they hear something and decide to investigate first. They are soon in grave danger, needing help from the last source they would expect.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Hasan's Idea

Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Contributors:
Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Sandy Cove Rescue

Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry
Franklin Watts

Mary and the Great Fire of London

Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Franklin Watts

Thin Ice

Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Wayland

Romanticism

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

Beginning as a 19th century literary movement, Romanticism was all about the drama, sensation, glory, imagination and the awesome (and awful) wonders of life! Stirred by changing times across Europe, Romantic art championed humanity and emotions and celebrated nature in all its forms. As an artistic movement, Romanticism declined from the 1850s but its influence lives on in the works of JMW Turner, John Constable, Goya and Eugène Delacroix. An accessible and in-depth guide to some of the most popular and significant art movements, Inside Art Movements explores their origins, evolution and legacy in today's world.For readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Pop Art

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

Pop Art burst onto the scene in the mid-20th century, filling the grey post-war years with life, colour - and fun! Pop artists from Andy Warhol to David Hockney strived to make art accessible for everyone, celebrating the popular symbols of the modern age - from cars to hamburgers - in their work. In the process, they changed the face of art forever. An accessible and in-depth guide to some of the most popular and significant art movements, Inside Art Movements explores their origins, evolution and legacy in today's world. For readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Summer

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Coyote the Fire Thief

Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Contributors:
Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez

In this retelling of a native American myth, Coyote feels sorry for the helpless humans and steals fire to bring them warmth and comfort. But the humans are not grateful for her gift and use the fire against Coyote and the natural world.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Dragon Dance

Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Franklin Watts

A New Home in Space

Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Franklin Watts

Keep Off the Grass

Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Liam Darcy

Simon and Tariq are best friends. But when Simon starts taking a shortcut through somebody's garden, and Tariq is not happy to do so, their friendship is tested. Then Tariq gets into trouble because of Simon's actions. Will Simon prove to be a good friend after all?Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wayland

The Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Dive into the great big water cycle story! The same water has been falling as raindrops for billions of years. It travels around our planet again and again, from raindrops into rivers, and from seas to water vapour in mist and clouds. The water on earth is in glaciers, rivers, streams, lakes and reservoirs. It is used by plants, humans and animals.Follow the journey of a young boy and girl as they float, splash and slide through the incredible water cycle story. This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the incredible story of the water in all its forms. from grey storm clouds to rushing waterfalls, calm lakes and shining icy glaciers.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Wayland

A Stroll Through the Seasons

Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Maddie Frost

Take a stroll through the seasons! From bright spring blossoms to colourful autumn leaves, follow the wonderful changes that each season brings.This beautifully illustrated picture book shows the glorious nature of each new season, from spring greenery, dazzling summer sunshine, vibrant autumn leaves and sparkling winter snow. Follow the journey of a young boy and girl as they stroll through wind, rain, sunshine and snow to explore the wonderful changes that each season brings.'Look and Wonder' is a fresh, bold and bright, narrative non-fiction picture book series, for children aged 4 and up, introducing children to life cycles and the natural world. The eye-poppingly colourful digital illustration style will explain the scientific concepts while the light and fun text-style will make these books real home and classroom favourites.Other titles in the series:A Stroll Through the SeasonsA Wonderful World of WeatherIncredible RainforestsThe Amazing Butterfly Life Cycle StoryThe Amazing Plant Life Cycle StoryThe Awesome Night SkyThe Great Big Water Cycle Adventure

Franklin Watts

Plants

Angela Royston
Authors:
Angela Royston