Reg Grant - Why Did Hiroshima happen? - Hachette Children's Group

Why Did Hiroshima happen?

By Reg Grant

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

This insightful series that presents some of the most important events in modern history, from World War I to the Cold War.

Read about how in the early morning hours of 6 August 1945, a B-29 bomber headed for the Japanese city of Hiroshima to drop an atomic bomb. The aftermath of the bombing still affects the city's inhabitants today. This book details the events of Hiroshima and explains why this haunting event occurred. Photographs from the period provide an informative view of this tragedy.

Moments in History is an insightful series that presents some of the most important events in modern history. From World War I to the Cold War, readers are encouraged to think critically about the effects these watershed moments have had on the world. Written in a straightforward, engaging style, the books include first-hand speeches, letters, diary entries and other primary source materials that give dramatic clues to the reasons these unforgettable events unfolded as they did. Photographs from the time period show the world as it was at that moment, and the views of professional historians are included in each chapter.

Encourages readers at KS3 and KS4 to think critically about the effect Hiroshima has had on the world.

Biographical Notes

Reg Grant trained as an historian at Oxford University. He then worked as a language teacher in Paris and Lisbon before returning home to become a freelance writer. His books for Hodder Wayland include several volumes in the New Perspectives series.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750284103
  • Publication date: 10 Dec 2015
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Detailed and well researched, with good use of photographs and interesting additional information. — School Librarian
Hodder Children's Books

Book 2

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie

A brand new series from "the Zoella of books" - all about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in in and let your weird out! You're invited to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... get ready to find your people! Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in with her classmates. She doesn't want to go to parties at the weekend - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book. It's like she hasn't found her people ...That is until she moves to a new town where a book club, The Paper & Hearts Society, is recruiting. Tabby might just be in luck. Enough of her old "friends" who only talk to her when they need something. It's time for Quidditch themed fancy dress parties, games like "shut up and Shakespeare" ... and LOTS of chocolate. Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.

Hodder Children's Books

Contender: The Chosen

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

From the author of the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series, comes a brand new EPIC world.Throughout history, people have vanished with no explanation. Two teenagers are about to discover why.Cade, a misunderstood juvenile delinquent, and Harriet, a Victorian cat-burglar, live in two different eras - until they're both transported to another world.Abandoned in a realm populated with lost remnants from the past, prehistoric animals and monstrous creatures, they are forced to become contenders in an endless, brutal tournament. It's time to get ready for battle . . . because hiding is not an option.

Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala

Henry Shakespeare is a street boy searching for his parents - his dark skin and curious name are his only clues.A thrilling new series set in a magical realist Shakespearean world, written by award-winning rapper, poet and writer Akala, founder of the renowned Hip-hop Shakespeare Company.Perfect for introducing secondary school readers to Shakespeare and the Renaissance, The Dark Lady contains poems, rhymes and songs.Inspired by the Dark Lady (the fierce, independent black woman alluded to in Shakespeare's sonnets 127-154) and featuring Shakespeare himself and many of his key characters, this exciting new series brings to life through fresh eyes the visceral, violent and daring world of the Renaissance.

Orchard Books

The Boy Who Steals Houses

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Orion Children's Books

Izzy + Tristan

Shannon Dunlap
Authors:
Shannon Dunlap
Orchard Books

Fated

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy

High-drama history, describing moment-by-moment the fall of the Berlin WallThirty years ago, on 9 November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down. This historic event is described in detail, focusing not only on the day itself, but also what led to the wall being there in the first place. It looks at the history of the Wall, explaining why it was built, as well as looking at the implications of what happened in the wider context of 20th century history. Real life accounts are included in moment-in-time boxes, acting as a freeze frame of people's thoughts, emotions and experiences as those from West Germany were at last free to travel to the East and vice versa.Complete with photographs, maps and a timeline, this is a fascinating insight into 20th century history.An ideal book to support the study of modern history in schools

Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan

An important and timely book on race and racism, encouraging children to think for themselves about the issues involved.Talk about race is often discouraged, but this book aims to bring everyone into the conversation. It explores the history of race and society, giving context to how racist attitudes come into being. It looks at belonging and identity, the damaging effects of stereotyping and the benefits of positive representation. The authors talk sensitively about how to identify and challenge racism, and how to protect against and stop racist behaviour.Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards.Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need it?Who are Refugees and Migrants? What makes people leave their homes?What is Consent? Why is it important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From?

Wayland

Heroes of Light and Sound

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Wayland

The Superhuman Body

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Hodder Children's Books

The Battlemage

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura

A wonderful new anthology of poems by winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, 2016 Do trianglesever get into a tangle when their sides meet their angles?A wonderful new children's poetry collection, from a celebrated, award-winning poet.From nature and science to identity, prepare to be transported on a journey through past and present. This collection from John Agard, winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, explores the wonders of the world - inviting your child to ponder life's questions with lots of fun along the way!

Hodder Children's Books

New Guard

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

James Adams returns in the last ever book in the number one bestselling CHERUB series.'Crackling tension and high-octane drama' Daily Mail Ryan Sharma is a CHERUB agent. Working undercover, he can slip under adult radar and get information that sends criminals and terrorists to jail. Now he's investigating a double kidnapping, working with mission controller and old guard, James Adams. In the mission to end all missions, Ryan and James must assemble a team of legendary CHERUB agents to find the hostages and bring them home ... Don't miss the final and most exciting ever title in the bestselling CHERUB series.For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Wayland

The Girls' Guide to Growing Up

Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Franklin Watts

Food and Eating

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Food can be confusing! There's a lot of information out there about which foods are 'good' or 'bad' for you - and it seems to change every week! And people can sometimes get very stressed about food and eating, and how it affects their bodies. This book for teens explains how food works, so they can make their own decisions armed with all the facts.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.