Alex Woolf - Sailing the Great Barrier Reef - Hachette Children's Group

Sailing the Great Barrier Reef

By Alex Woolf

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

This series follows an intrepid traveller's fictitious journey through some of the most exciting, dangerous and inhospitable places on Earth, to discover animal and plant life, landscape and climate, and negotiate perilous survival situations!

Follow a traveller's diary of a diving trip on the Great Barrier Reef, Australia! Find out all about the unusual animal and plant life, landscape features, ecology, climate, industry and people. Discover how conservation projects are underway to protect the reef and its wildlife. Also learn how to survive the perils of the Great Barrier Reef including sharks, the blue-ringed octopus, jellyfish and cone shells!

Biographical Notes

Alex Woolf studied history at Essex University, and has written and edited many 20th century history titles for young people.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750283250
  • Publication date: 24 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

You Can Be an Ice Skater

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood

When your favourite thing to do is physically active, it's easy to have fun and be fit! Readers will dive into swimming, bend over backwards for gymnastics, find peace with yoga, and more, through fun, informational content about many popular activities. Step-by-step instructions will help readers learn all the right moves, and even teach them how to pursue a career! Colourful photographs will draw future ice-skaters, dancers, and martial artists into the fascinating world of their sport - an encourage them to keep practicing! Main content inspires a healthy lifestyle through fun, varied types of exercise. Detailed sidebars give readers more ideas, examples, and information about different aspects of each physical activity. Step-by-step instructions and colourful photographs help readers learn how to do each activity.

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Llamas

Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Llamas is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute llamas! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a matching game page at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the llamas! Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks, Here Come the Bunnies, Here Come the Unicorns

Wren & Rook

The You Are Awesome Journal

Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Contributors:
Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Boo-Hoo Witches

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

"Kids everywhere will love this brilliant book!" MATT LUCAS"Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books." DAVID WALLIAMS"Two words - such fun!" MIRANDA HART"Beautiful, inventive and laugh-out-loud funny." SUE PERKINSGreat to read aloud with children of 5+ and perfect for newly independent readers of 7+.King Edwin Flashypants is back for his fourth hilarious adventure! Minister Jill has a secret. And it's something to do with the weird meadow in Edwinland. King Edwin always thought Minister Jill was a bit boring, like most grown-ups, but when she is kidnapped, he realises that her past might actually be very exciting indeed ...

Orion Children's Books

When the Mountains Roared

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth

A vivid, warm and atmospheric adventure set in the mountains of India, about a girl who is determined to protect the wild leopards of the mountain from poachers, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell.I thought we'd live here forever ... but then, I thought Mum would be here forever too.When Ruby's dad uproots her from Australia to set up a hotel in the mountains of India, Ruby is devastated. Not only are they living in a run-down building in the middle of the wilderness surrounded by scorpions, bears and leopards, but Ruby is sure that India will never truly feel like home - not without her mum there.Ever since her mum died, Ruby has been afraid. Of cars. Of the dark. Of going to sleep and never waking up. But then the last remaining leopards of the mountain are threatened and everything changes. Ruby vows to do all she can to protect them - if she can only overcome her fears...

Franklin Watts

The Modern World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Franklin Watts

The Nineteenth-Century World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

What developments in government and society, industry, exploration and discovery, science and technology, art, architecture and literature, medicine, communication and transport were there in the nineteenth-century world of Europe, and how did these compare with those made during the same time period in the Islamic world and elsewhere in Africa and Asia? What was happening at the same time in the Americas? Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the nineteenth-century world chronologically, with timelines to show you when major events and achievements took place.

Franklin Watts

The Medieval World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Franklin Watts

The Early Modern World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

What developments in government and society, food and farming, exploration and discovery, science and technology, art and literature, religion, education and entertainment were there in the early modern world of Europe between the years 1500 and 1789, and how did these compare with those made during the same time period in the Islamic world and elsewhere in Africa and Asia? What was happening at the same time in the Americas? Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the early modern world chronologically, with timelines to show you when major events and achievements took place.

Franklin Watts

The Ancient World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Franklin Watts

The Classical World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Orchard Books

Mad About Minibeasts! Board Book

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Franklin Watts

Meet the Ancient Romans

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

You can learn a lot from what archaeologists and historians have uncovered about the past, but what would the people who actually lived at the time be able to tell you? Meet the Ancient Romans does just that! This book will transport you to the capital of the Roman Empire, Rome!. A city where you will meet all kinds of people from all walks of life. Senators, slaves, gladiators and soldiers will answer your questions and give you the inside information of what it may have been like to live at this time, before you are then transported back to your own era. Encounters with the Past is a brilliant series designed to shine a light on historical ideas about subjects such as medicine, science, religion, food, magic and society. Perfect for readers aged 9-11 who want a more personal account of these fascinating times.

Franklin Watts

Meet the Vikings

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Wayland

Chocolate

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Wayland

Sugar

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Wayland

Salt

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

Did you know that the little white grains that sit in your salt cellar have an amazing story to tell? The simple condiment has caused wars to break out, empires to be conquered and black markets to flourish. This book describes the journey salt has taken, from prehistoric religious offerings to a staple seasoning.Other topics covered are the health aspects of salt, how it is produced, its chemical properties and how it is traded around the world. With bright illustrations and amazing photographs, this is an ideal leisure read, but also perfect for coursework and presentations for key stage 2 readers.

Wayland

Tea

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Wayland

A Photographic View of Holidays

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Wayland

A Photographic View of Hospitals

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

Find out what life was like in Britain before the National Health Service was introduced in 1948? How has medicine progressed since the Victorian times? Starting in 1871, this book takes a look at how hospitals have changed and how scientific discoveries have improved health care for all.The Past in Pictures series gives a fascinating look at life in Britain through the photographs of The National Archives. It looks at past eras; at the way rich and poor families lived, the concept of holidays and leisure time for families and how the role of men, women and children from Victorian times, through two world wars, to modern Britain, have changed.