Alex Woolf - Terrorism - Hachette Children's Group

Terrorism

By Alex Woolf

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Explores hard-hitting topics that affect us all today, told through the voices of the people involved.

Global Issues: Terrorism considers the definition of terrorism, its history from the French Revolution, its causes, and its human and economic impact. The various responses to terrorism, the new forms it may take in the future, for example relating to animal rights and environmental concerns, and the media's role in reporting on and even perpetuating terrorism, are also taken into account.

Biographical Notes

Alex Woolf studied history at Essex University, and has written and edited many 20th century history titles for young people.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750283113
  • Publication date: 15 May 2014
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Offers a good lead into using the media to examine worl issues. — Carousel
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Ten days. The most beautiful cities Europe has to offer. And a love story - or two... The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their trip around Europe practically from the moment they became BFFs in primary school. And, now, it ought to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university. But things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten. There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and his best friend Gabe, the boy Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. And there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is definitely into guys, not girls. Five friends. Ten days. Paris, Amsterdam, Prague, Florence, Barcelona. And a messy, complicated, can-this-really-be happening love story, or two ... because how could there not be?

Franklin Watts

Terrorism

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Orion Children's Books

Ghost Boys

Jewell Parker Rhodes
Authors:
Jewell Parker Rhodes

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a white police officer, drawing connections with real-life history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.Twelve-year-old Jerome is shot by a police officer who mistakes his toy gun for a real threat. In the wake of his death, Jerome, as a ghost, observes the devastation that's been unleashed on his family and community.Soon Jerome meets other ghosts, from different time periods but similar circumstances. He also meets Sarah, the white daughter of the police officer who killed him. Sarah too is struggling to grapple with the aftermath of the shooting. A poignant and gripping story about how children and families face the complexities of race in today's world.

Franklin Watts

Immigration

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Franklin Watts

Health and Disease

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Health problems have a significant impact on the wellbeing and even the life expectancy of many people in low-and middle-income countries. This book looks at the factors that influence life expectancy and at what constitutes a healthy lifestyle. It explores the fight against disease throughout the world and the role of healthcare industries. It asks readers to think about what they can do to promote good health, in their own lives and the lives of others.The Our World in Crisis series features in-depth explorations of major issues faced by people across the world today. Each book features case studies, photos and infographics to present statistics. They are a great resource for children aged 10+ who want to look behind the headlines in a world of fake news or for citizenship education.

Franklin Watts

Lazy Jack

Sue Graves
Authors:
Sue Graves

Wren & Rook

The Revolution Handbook

Alice Skinner
Authors:
Alice Skinner
Franklin Watts

The Cat's Tale

Lynne Rickards
Authors:
Lynne Rickards
Franklin Watts

Cave Boy and the Egg

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey
Wayland

Sugar

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

The little grains you use to sweeten your food every day have an amazing story to tell. Like many other foods, sugar has a fascinating history, spanning centuries, continents and cultures. Wars have been fought over this food, empires conquered and black markets have flourished. This book describes the journey sugar has taken, from the use of sugarcane in ancient India to the staple sweetener in our cupboards today.Other topics covered are health aspects of sugar, how it is produced, its chemical properties and how it is traded around the world.An ideal leisure read, but also perfect for course work and presentations.

Wayland

Salt

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

Did you know that the little white grains that sit in your salt cellar have an amazing story to tell? The simple condiment has caused wars to break out, empires to be conquered and black markets to flourish. This book describes the journey salt has taken, from prehistoric religious offerings to a staple seasoning.Other topics covered are the health aspects of salt, how it is produced, its chemical properties and how it is traded around the world. An ideal leisure read, but also perfect for course work and presentations.

Wayland

Chocolate

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen. In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Franklin Watts

The Modern World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

Since 1900, the world has undergone many changes and seen some huge technological leaps. War became far more deadly during the modern era and tens of millions died in two world wars. Mass media, telecommunications, the Internet and social media all helped spread knowledge and create a more globalised culture. Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the major events and developments of the modern era, with timelines to show you when they took place around the world.

Franklin Watts

The Nineteenth-Century World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Wayland

the Cold War?

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

This book looks at how and why the Cold War developed between the USSR and the USA and their opposing ideas of communism and capitalism. It examines the legacy of the Cold War, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as instability and conflicts around the world, denial of human rights to millions of people and the stockpiling of nuclear and conventional weapons, and the good things, including technological progress, advances in medical understanding and developments in art, literature and sport.

Franklin Watts

Greg Rutherford

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps

This inspirational biography for children, written by award-winning author Roy Apps, follows the jumping story of Greg Rutherford and his incredible rise to become Olympic long jump gold medalist and IAAF top-ranking Diamond League athlete. Illustrated with colour artwork by Alessandro Valdrighi, including graphic novel-style panels, this book is perfect for sport-mad girls and boys with a reading age of 7, but will work perfectly well for older readers too. Printed on off-white paper using a reading font approved by the British Dyslexia Association, the Sporting Heroes series brings to life the skill, grit and determination needed to be a world-class sportsperson today. This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of booksto get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Franklin Watts

Sleeping Beauty: La Belle Au Bois Dormant

Anne Walter, Marjorie Dumortier
Contributors:
Anne Walter, Marjorie Dumortier

An accessible introduction to modern languages, these billingual readers retell the best loved fairy tales with parallel text in English and French. A picture book design supports simple, accessible text with just a few lines of text on each double page. Extra features include a handy word glossary at the back with key words or phrases from the story.The books would serve equally well to a native French child with English as a second or other language as well as literacy and comprehension teaching. The stories are told in 400 words and aimed at 5-7 year olds.

Wayland

WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Orchard Books

I Will Not Ever Never Eat A Tomato

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child