Alex Woolf - Terrorism - Hachette Children's Group

Terrorism

By Alex Woolf

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Explores hard-hitting topics that affect us all today, told through the voices of the people involved.

Global Issues: Terrorism considers the definition of terrorism, its history from the French Revolution, its causes, and its human and economic impact. The various responses to terrorism, the new forms it may take in the future, for example relating to animal rights and environmental concerns, and the media's role in reporting on and even perpetuating terrorism, are also taken into account.

Biographical Notes

Alex Woolf studied history at Essex University, and has written and edited many 20th century history titles for young people.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750283113
  • Publication date: 15 May 2014
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Offers a good lead into using the media to examine worl issues. — Carousel
Franklin Watts

Teen Pioneers

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Early Reader: School Trip

Wayland

Technology

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson
Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Wayland

Science

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson
Franklin Watts

At Sea

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

A look at the heroic fighting forces of the Second World WarHow did the forces that fought at sea affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the ships and submarines that slugged it out to rule the seas during the Second World War, from stealthy U-boats to mighty battleships. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sidesA great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Franklin Watts

The Home Front

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

Wren & Rook

The 57 Bus

Dashka Slater
Authors:
Dashka Slater
Franklin Watts

Positively Teenage

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan
Franklin Watts

On Land

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

A look at the heroic fighting forces of the Second World WarHow did the forces that fought on land affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the units who slugged it out to gain precious territory in the Second World War, from the French Foreign Legion and British SAS, to the Afrika Korps and Chindits. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sides. A great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Franklin Watts

In the Air

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

A look at the heroic fighting forces of the Second World WarHow did the forces that fought in the air affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the units who battled it out to win supremacy in the skies during the Second World War, from the Luftwaffe and RAF, to the Japanese Kamikaze squadrons. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sides. A great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knockmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Franklin Watts

The Modern World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

Since 1900, the world has undergone many changes and seen some huge technological leaps. War became far more deadly during the modern era and tens of millions died in two world wars. Mass media, telecommunications, the Internet and social media all helped spread knowledge and create a more globalised culture. Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the major events and developments of the modern era, with timelines to show you when they took place around the world.

Franklin Watts

The Nineteenth-Century World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Franklin Watts

The Medieval World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

What developments in government and society, food and farming, architecture, science and technology, art and literature, medicine, education and entertainment were there in the medieval world of Europe and how did these compare with those made during the same time period in the Islamic world and elsewhere in Africa and Asia? What was happening at the same time in the Americas? Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the medieval world chronologically, with timelines to show you when major events and achievements took place.

Franklin Watts

The Early Modern World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

What developments in government and society, food and farming, exploration and discovery, science and technology, art and literature, religion, education and entertainment were there in the early modern world of Europe between the years 1500 and 1789, and how did these compare with those made during the same time period in the Islamic world and elsewhere in Africa and Asia? What was happening at the same time in the Americas? Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the early modern world chronologically, with timelines to show you when major events and achievements took place.

Franklin Watts

The Ancient World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

What developments in government and politics, food and farming, architecture, science, art and medicine were there in the ancient civilisations of Mesopotamia and Egypt, and how did these compare with those made during the same time period by the Shang Dynasty, the Assyrians and the Phoenicians? What was happening at the same time in the Persian Empire and in Oceania? Packed with beautiful illustrations, this book, in the Parallel History series for readers upwards of age nine, will help you to explore the ancient world chronologically, with timelines to show you when major events and achievements took place.

Franklin Watts

The Classical World

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Wayland

From Prejudice to Pride: A History of LGBTQ+ Movement

Amy Lamé
Authors:
Amy Lamé

From Prejudice to Pride looks at the rise and achievements of the LGBTQ+ movement and the different communities, pioneers and stories of heartbreak and courage that have marched alongside it. Perfect for readers aged 11 and upwards, this book will inspire courage and pride in young LGBTQ+ people and help answer questions for all readers interested in gender and identity.Follow LGBTQ+ history from ancient civilisations to the present-day, and learn about key events including the trial of Oscar Wilde, the Stonewall riots, the AIDS crisis, same-sex marriage and changing laws that have impacted on LGBTQ+ life. Gain insight into the shifting attitudes that have challenged lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and the experiences that help us understand what it means to be LGBTQ+ today.Filled with photographs documenting LGBTQ+ life from the past and present, and from around the world.

Franklin Watts

Meet the Vikings

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

What was life really like for the Vikings? How did they interact socially? What medicines did they use? What did they think about the world they lived in, religion and other peoples? Using recreation photography and images of real historical artefacts this book will help readers 'meet' all kinds of Vikings, from the thrall (or slave) to the various craftspeople, farmers and even some viking children playing games. Journey tot he past and begin to understand what life would have been like in this fascinating and historically-rich time. Perfect for upper KS2 children studying some of the key historical periods. Encounters with the Past is a series of six books designed to engage children directly with history. A loose narrative structure and Q&A format helps the reader flow through the books, uncovering fascinating facts and the thoughts and ideas of the time.