Katie Dicker - Aids - Hachette Children's Group

Aids

By Katie Dicker

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Explores hard-hitting topics that affect us all today, told through the voices of the people involved.

Global Issues: AIDS considers the definition and causes of AIDS, the history of the virus, and its human, social and economic impact. The various responses to AIDS at national and international levels, the future of AIDS, and AIDS in the media are also taken into account.

Biographical Notes

Katie Dicker is a writer and editor who has worked in publishing for over ten years. She has a degree in politics and philosophy but works across a range of titles, from science and natural history to current affairs and the arts. She specialises in children's non-fiction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750283083
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Franklin Watts

Teen Pioneers

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Early Reader: School Trip

Wayland

Technology

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson
Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Wayland

Science

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson
Orchard Books

My Little Pony Winter Wonderland Creative Colouring

Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book for children aged 12+ supports the study of the fascinating long history of transgender around the world.The whole concept of gender identity is being increasingly challenged and words such as non-binary, pansexual, transgender, cisgender and gender dysphoria are becoming commonplace. This book explores the cultures and people of the past who have embraced, challenged or quietly subverted society's expectations about gender. It features the current stories of openly transgender people around the world in positions of power and authority, who are helping to increase recognition and acceptance of the trans community. And, as trans people often start their journeys in their teens, the book explores the experiences of some young people just at the start of their journeys.The book has a foreword by two patrons of the charity Mermaids. Jake says, 'What is becoming evident is that trans people have been around for centuries, in many guises ... transgender is certainly not the trendy fad that the press would have us believe'.

Franklin Watts

At Sea

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

A look at the heroic fighting forces of the Second World WarHow did the forces that fought at sea affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the ships and submarines that slugged it out to rule the seas during the Second World War, from stealthy U-boats to mighty battleships. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sidesA great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Franklin Watts

The Home Front

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Wren & Rook

The 57 Bus

Dashka Slater
Authors:
Dashka Slater

Winner of the Stonewall Young Adult Literature AwardOne teenager in a skirt. One teenager with a lighter. One moment that changes both their lives forever.Two teenagers growing up in Oakland, California. One, Sasha, was born male but identifies as agender, wears skirts and attends a private school. The other, Richard, is an African American from a poor part of Oakland who attends a rough public school. They have no reason to meet, except for eight minutes every day, they catch the same bus home. And one day, messing about, Richard spies Sasha napping. He flicks the flame of his lighter to Sasha's skirt, and Sasha wakes up in a ball of flame. What happens next, as the victim, the perpetrator and the community struggle to come to terms with their sadness and shock, is a story of recovery, reconciliation, forgiveness and, above all, hope. It's about the power of being true to yourself, bravery and the good and bad in all of us. And, remarkably, it's all true.

Franklin Watts

Positively Teenage

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan

Positively Teenage gives you tools to approach your teenage years with optimism and understanding and to develop real wellbeing for life. The media so often portray adolescence negatively but this book shows you how to approach these years far more positively so that you can really flourish and be in control. You'll find simple strategies to develop a positive attitude, growth mindset, self-understanding, determination and resilience and you'll see how those strengths will help you cope with any challenges, enjoy life and achieve your potential. Full of practical, proven strategies for physical and mental health, Positively Teenage will show you lots of ways to flourish physically and mentally - from doing things you enjoy to learning new skills; looking after your diet, exercise and attitude to being healthy online; getting great sleep to understanding your personality - allowing you to take control of many areas of your life. With these new strengths and skills, you can survive any storms and thrive on the challenges of your exciting life.Scattered throughout are POSITIVE BOOSTS: quick ideas for actions you can take to build positivity and well-being. Add them into your life and use your imagination and your new understanding to invent others.Positively Teenage gives you the power to let yourself flourish, achieve and be who you want to be. Use your powers well! Be truly, positively, teenage! Stand tall, stretch your arms wide, take a deep breath and say, loudly (or in your head), 'I can do this!'"Nicola Morgan has that rare gift of being able to communicate science and make it fun." Professor Simon Baron Cohen, University of Cambridge

Franklin Watts

Terrorism

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Franklin Watts

Poverty

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay
Franklin Watts

On Land

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

A look at the heroic fighting forces of the Second World WarHow did the forces that fought on land affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the units who slugged it out to gain precious territory in the Second World War, from the French Foreign Legion and British SAS, to the Afrika Korps and Chindits. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sides. A great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Franklin Watts

In the Air

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

A look at the heroic fighting forces of the Second World WarHow did the forces that fought in the air affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the units who battled it out to win supremacy in the skies during the Second World War, from the Luftwaffe and RAF, to the Japanese Kamikaze squadrons. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sides. A great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Orchard Books

Go, Rainbow Dash!

An adorable board book story featuring favourite My Little Pony characters.When Rainbow Dash joins the Wonderbolts flying team, her mum and dad are her biggest fans. They cheer her on at every Wonderbolts event (sometimes very loudly!) At first Rainbow Dash is a bit embarassed ... but she soon realises just how much they mean to her!This fun story about the special relationship between parent and child is perfect for sharing with even the littlest of pony fans.

Wren & Rook

Mary's Monster

Lita Judge
Authors:
Lita Judge

The dark, captivating story of one remarkable young woman. And her monster.Creative genius...? Inventor of science fiction...? Pregnant teenage runaway...? Who was the real Mary Shelley? Mary's Monster is the compelling and beautifully illustrated story of Frankenstein's author Mary Shelley - the original rebel girl and an inspiration for everyone from teenage readers to adult. Aged 16 and pregnant, Mary runs away to Switzerland with the married poet Percy Bysshe Shelley. Few people would have guessed that that fateful act would lead to a gothic novel still celebrated 200 years later. But cast out by her family and isolated by society, Mary Shelley created Frankenstein and his monster, forged in the fire of her troubled and tragic life. Part biography and part graphic novel, Mary's Monster is an engrossing take on one remarkable young woman and her monster.

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knockmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Franklin Watts

Global Pollution

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay

Humans are creating more pollution than ever before and this is threatening the balance of our planet and its perfect conditions for life. This book looks at the causes and effects of different types of pollution, considers the greenouse effect and what is being done to tackle climate change. It asks readers to think about what they can do to reduce pollution and live sustainably, for example by buying locally and being energy-wise.

Wren & Rook

Trans Mission

Alex Bertie
Authors:
Alex Bertie