Andrew Fusek Peters - Bats! - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Bats!

By Andrew Fusek Peters

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Freestylers are short thrillers high on suspense and adventure - perfect page turners if you want to finish a story in one sitting.

A short thriller that's high on suspense!

This is a perfect page turner if you want to finish a story in one sitting, especially for reluctant and struggling readers.

Cool, edgy computer hackers, Kiran and Roz are teens who set out to fight crime and injustice with the help of a shape-shifting data beast they've created.

In Bats!, Kiran and Roz take on a firm of developers who are planning to build a shopping mall next to their school, tearing down a local habitat for endangered bats in the process. Can the data beast reveal the dodgy dealings going on behind the scenes and stop the environmental vandalism before it's too late?

Reading level for this book:-
ATOS: 3.3
Lexile ® Measure: 460L
Book Band: White

Biographical Notes

Andrew Fusek Peters is an Anglo-Czech poet, storyteller, didgeridoo player, broadcaster, anthologist and author with an international reputation. He is the UK's tallest poet (6'8''!!) and has worked in thousands of schools, libraries, arts centres and literary festivals, giving lively performances and running workshops with all ages and abilities. 'An experienced and accomplished anthologist', according to the TES, Andrew has published more than 70 books and his poems appear in the Poetry Archive, set up by the Poet Laureate to record the best poets.

Polly Peters is a former English and Drama teacher. She was previously Head of Drama at a sixth form college and currently works as a youth/community theatre leader, director and playwright.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750282314
  • Publication date: 14 Aug 2014
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Padma the Pirate Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Kirsty, Rachel and Padma for some perilous pirate fun!Padma the Pirate Fairy is here to take Kirsty and Rachel on a wild adventure! The two best friends must hold on to their hats as they set off on a rollicking journey to defeat dastardly Jack Frost and his goblins.

Franklin Watts

Anansi and the Box of Stories

Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera

A beautifully illustrated retelling of this favourite African tale. Anansi the spider is a trickster and he will stop at nothing to get Nyame's story box, proving that even the littlest among us can achieve the greatest things.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

The Night Thief

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Franklin Watts

The Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orchard Books

The Secret Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. JACK, RUBY AND DANNY FACE A DEADLY ROBOTIC FOE! RUBY'S MOTHER HAS VANISHED INTO THE DEPTHS OF THE JUNGLE. TO FIND HER, TEAM HERO MUST EXPLORE A NEW, VAST LANDSCAPE - AND DO BATTLE WITH A GIANT ROBOT! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Ninja Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. TEAM HERO ARE IN DEEP WATER! JACK, RUBY AND DANNY MUST RECOVER AN ANCIENT STATUE FROM A CURSED LAKE - WITH A SUPER-SLEEK AND SWIFT ASSASSIN ON THEIR TAIL!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Werewolves are runningwild in Russia. You're sent into the snow to stop them in their tracks...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Enter The Penguin

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are a ninja penguin, and your recent travels take you to a seal village. But all is not well in town. A group of bandit bears are causing big trouble - and they might be even more than you can handle. YOU must team up with a gang of buddies - Foxy, Jagger, Snowy and Bigfoot - to battle Big Daddy Bear...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Killer Custard

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Wren & Rook

The Good Guys

Rob Kemp, Paul Blow
Contributors:
Rob Kemp, Paul Blow

What if we celebrated men for their kindness as well their strength? For their generosity as well as their career success? For their loyal friendship as well as their charisma? The Good Guys introduces us to fifty men who have showed that changing the world doesn't require a sword or a corporate jet. Readers will find stories of extraordinary men including David Attenborough, Nelson Mandela, Oskar Schindler and Usain Bolt, as well as unsung heroes such as James Harrison, who has spent fifty years donating his rare blood to save millions of babies. There's even a section celebrating ten boys who didn't let their young age stop them from helping others, such as Matthew Kaplan, who responded to his brother's bullies by setting up an anti-bullying programme for schools. The Good Guys celebrates the feats of heroes and everyday men, and will inspire readers to transform the world through compassion, friendship and understanding.

Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Zombie

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Wayland

Knights and Castles

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim

Join this crafty adventure in design where you can create all the things you need for a fantastic knight or castle-themed party! Brimming full of ideas for crazy costumes, glorious games and delightful decorations to perfect party food, this series ensures you'll host the perfect party, fill a rainy day, or help you create designs that last happy ever crafter. Bright and buzzing illustrations support the step-by-step instructions, plus there are fun facts and joyful jokes to boot. Perfect for all budding craft makers, but especially suited to the 7-9 age group.

Wayland

Robots and Aliens

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim
Wayland

Transport

Anita Loughrey
Authors:
Anita Loughrey

Get kids engaged in maths with real life problem-solving. In each fully illustrated title maths topics are carefully explained in different scenarios. Children are then given problems to solve around the scenario. Topics covered include measurement (inches and centimetres, to litres and millilitres and units of time and days of the week), problems with numbers (by adding, subtracting, division and multiplication and using roman numerals), how to use fractions, decimal places and percentages, shapes (2-D and 3D) and statistics, such as tables, bar graphs, pie charts, and line graphs. The level of maths progresses as you go through the book, building a sense of achievement. It includes tips and tricks to make maths problem-solving easy.Each book is framed around a high interest area, perfect for children aged 7-11.

Wayland

Gigantic Dinosaurs

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley

Did you know that Stegosaurus's brain was no larger than a plum? Explore the world of plant-eating dinosaurs in Gigantic Dinosaurs. Learn about their special features, how much they ate and when they lived. From Diplodocus to Stegosaurus, you'll find out about all kinds of fascinating facts about these gigantic but gentle beasts. The Dinosaur Infosaurus series presents to you pre-historic beasts in all their terrifying glory, with realistic artwork alongside digestible chunks of information presented as infographics. Perfect for readers aged 7+.