Andrew Fusek Peters - Bats! - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Bats!

By Andrew Fusek Peters

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Freestylers are short thrillers high on suspense and adventure - perfect page turners if you want to finish a story in one sitting.

A short thriller that's high on suspense!

This is a perfect page turner if you want to finish a story in one sitting, especially for reluctant and struggling readers.

Cool, edgy computer hackers, Kiran and Roz are teens who set out to fight crime and injustice with the help of a shape-shifting data beast they've created.

In Bats!, Kiran and Roz take on a firm of developers who are planning to build a shopping mall next to their school, tearing down a local habitat for endangered bats in the process. Can the data beast reveal the dodgy dealings going on behind the scenes and stop the environmental vandalism before it's too late?

Reading level for this book:-
ATOS: 3.3
Lexile ® Measure: 460L
Book Band: White

Biographical Notes

Andrew Fusek Peters is an Anglo-Czech poet, storyteller, didgeridoo player, broadcaster, anthologist and author with an international reputation. He is the UK's tallest poet (6'8''!!) and has worked in thousands of schools, libraries, arts centres and literary festivals, giving lively performances and running workshops with all ages and abilities. 'An experienced and accomplished anthologist', according to the TES, Andrew has published more than 70 books and his poems appear in the Poetry Archive, set up by the Poet Laureate to record the best poets.

Polly Peters is a former English and Drama teacher. She was previously Head of Drama at a sixth form college and currently works as a youth/community theatre leader, director and playwright.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750282314
  • Publication date: 14 Aug 2014
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty
Wayland

Sedimentary Rocks

Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury

This book takes a journey inside the layers of sedimentary rock to find out more about the rocks that have covered our planet for millions of years. Read about how these rocks form through compaction and lithification, and how weathering and erosion destroy them. The text supports the KS2 and KS3 science curriculum, covering topics such as the many kinds of sedimentary rock, rock identification, and fossils. The text also explores how people use sedimentary rocks, and where on Earth the most beautiful examples are found. Stunning photographs, sidebars, and fact boxes further enhance the learning experience.

Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Franklin Watts

The Legend of the Flying Dutchman

Elizabeth Dale, Gus Art
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Gus Art
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude comes a brand new hero: Mr Penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this series from Alex T. Smith. Follow Mr Penguin and Colin as they crash-land on a snowy mountain. Will they be able to solve the mystery of the missing pets? What are the strange noises coming from the abandoned fortress? And will Mr Penguin conquer his fear of flying?Find out in the second Mr Penguin book with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.Praise for Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure:'Addictive slapstick' - Guardian'The perfect introduction to mystery stories' - ScotsmanClaude won the 5-9 young fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is now a TV star on Disney Junior. Alex T. Smith was a World Book Day Illustrator. Follow him on Twitter @Alex_T_Smith

Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her SECOND ninja adventure! From one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. Toto, the amazing ninja cat, is back and cooler than ever! Toto is almost blind, but that doesn't stop her having brilliant adventures. Something CAT-ASTROPHIC has happened: ALL the cheese in the world has been stolen. Join Toto, her brother Silver and their best-friend Catface on a secret mission to save the day. Toto is going to need all her ninja skills to defeat the fur-midable cheese thief ...Ideal for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids! Dermot says: 'The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'Have you read Toto's first adventure, The Great Snake Escape?

Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Wayland

Eating Well

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Orchard Books

Frances the Royal Family Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

This cheerful and inviting Early Reader brings the blast of colour that Rainbow Magic's youngest fans have been waiting for!Frances the Royal Family Fairy makes sure all royal brothers and sisters get along well with each other. But when naughty Jack Frost steals her magical object, everything starts to fall apart! Can Kirsty and Rachel help Frances restore harmony in all royal families and their kingdoms?

Orchard Books

Holly the Christmas Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East

Meet Toto: she's no ordinary cat, and she can't wait to have an adventure with you! From one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters, purrfect for fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. Toto the cat and her brother Silver live footloose and fancy-free in a townhouse in London. Toto is almost totally blind, and learned to trust her senses from a ninja cat-master who taught her back in Italy where they were born. By day, Toto and Silver seem to be ordinary cats, but by night, they love to have adventures! One evening, news reaches Toto that a king cobra has escaped from London Zoo! Together with help from a very posh cat and two hungry tigers, Toto and Silver must investigate. Can they find the giant snake, before it's too late?Ideal for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids! Dermot says: 'The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'Toto's second adventure, The Incredible Cheese Heist, comes out in September 2018.

Orchard Books

The Ethan I Was Before

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish

My dare. My friend. My fault. Uplifting and unpredictable, this poignant debut middle-grade novel is a classic in the making. Perfect for fans of Wonder and A Boy Called Hope.Ethan had been many things. He was always ready for adventure and always willing to accept a dare, especially from his best friend, Kacey. But that was before. Before the accident that took Kacey from him. Before his family moved from the city he loves to a tiny town in the middle of nowhere. Ethan's new home feels like the place for second chances. It's also home to Coralee, a girl with a big personality and even bigger stories. Coralee may be just the friend Ethan needs, except Ethan isn't the only one with secrets. Coralee's are catching up with her, and what she's hiding might be putting both their lives at risk. The Ethan I Was Before is a story of friendship, wonder, adventure and ultimately of hope.

Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Wayland

Igneous Rocks

Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury
Orion Children's Books

Traitor's Game

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Orchard Books

Mia Floppyear's Snowy Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Sparkle Statue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has decided that Summer, Jasmine and Ellie are the cause of all her problems - so she's stolen their special talents!The only way to get their gifts back is to award four special talent prizes. But how can the girls give Jasper the Art Imp the Sparkle Statue without Ellie's artistic ability?