Anna Claybourne - A Midsummer Night's Dream - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780750288088
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018
Books in this series

A Midsummer Night's Dream

By Anna Claybourne
Illustrated by Tom Morgan-Jones

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

This clever re-telling of A Midsummer Night's Dream makes the Bard accessible for reader's aged 9 and above.

The course of true love never did run smooth...

A fairy king, his queen and their servants cause chaos and confusion between four young people in Ancient Greece... Read on, through magic and mischief, to discover the hilarious story at the heart of A Midsummer Night's Dream, one of Shakespeare's best-loved plays.

Contains information about the background to A Midsummer Night's Dream, its major themes, language, and Shakespeare's life during the time he was writing the play. Fairies and fairy folklore in 16th century England are also examined, to give the context in which the play was written.

The Short, Sharp Shakespeare series consists of six books that retell Shakespeare's most famous plays in modern English. Clever illustrations accompany each title, making them a great introduction to the Bard for children aged 9 and above.

Biographical Notes

Anna Claybourne has written over 150 children's books on all kinds of subjects, from sharks, black holes and splitting the atom to how to draw, Shakespeare's life, and Greek myths and legends. She likes space, sewing and music, plays the trombone and loves going camping.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750281133
  • Publication date: 08 Oct 2015
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Wayland
A great story. It's very funny. — James, Aged 7, Primary Times
Franklin Watts

Evolution and Classification

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Habitats

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Sex and relationships

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Smoking, drugs and alcohol

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

This book, for children aged 9+, delves into the world of drugs and how these relate to our health. It explores medical, recreational and illegal drugs and includes topics such as smoking, addiction, legal highs and problems with drugs. It is illustrated with bright, graphic illustrations.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Franklin Watts

Puberty and Growing Up

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Making with States of Matter

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Machines

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Living Things

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Making with Sound

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Light

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Be a SCIENCE MAKER by experimenting, tinkering and building to discover the wonders of science!Learn all about LIGHT by following in the footsteps of famous scientists, artists, engineers and inventors.- Make sun prints like photography pioneer Thomas Wedgwood- Be inspired by artist Tracey Emin to make your own neon sign- Create your own fibre optic lamp like engineer William Wheeler ... and much more!Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Forces

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Wren & Rook

Women in Sport

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky

Women in Sport celebrates the success of the tough, bold and fearless women who paved the way for today's athletes. The sportswomen featured include well-known figures like tennis player Serena Williams and broadcaster Clare Balding, as well as lesser-known pioneers like Gertrude Ederle, the first woman to swim the English Channel, and Keiko Fukuda, the highest-ranked female judoka in history. From the creator of the bestselling Women in Science, this richly illustrated book highlights the achievements and stories of fifty notable sportswomen from the 1800s to today, including trailblazers, Olympians and record-breakers in more than forty sports. It also contains infographics on topics such as muscle anatomy, pay and media statistics for female athletes, and influential women's teams.

Franklin Watts

Smelly Farts and Other Body Horrors

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Smelly Feet investigates disgusting phenomena in the human body, from sweat and snot to foot fungus, diarrhoea and, of course, farting and burping.Disgusting and Dreadful Science features a look at the weird, revolting and shocking aspects of science for children at KS2. From plants and life cycles to the human body and animal adaptations, the books offer fascinating facts, fun examples and true-life stories to provide ways in to understanding solid scientific principles. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Rocks and Fossils

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Rocks and fossils are brilliant things to study scientifically. They can tell us a huge amount of interesting information about our rocky planet - Earth. In Rocks and Fossils you'll delve into the science behind these marvels of the natural world by conducting ten investigations and experiments using the ATOM method - Ask, Test, Observe and Measure - to ensure you're working just like a professional scientist. Find out about the three main types of rock and what happens to rocks during a volcanic eruption and in processes like weathering and erosion. Discover how and why fossils form and how hard or soft some rocks can be! At the end of the book, scientific guidelines explain why scientists do things a certain way and the things they look out for or try to avoid. Science Skills Sorted are six topic books for children aged 8+ studying KS2 science. The ATOM method is designed to help readers work scientifically as they are taught to in the classroom, and each of the investigations is accompanied by explanatory text to uncover facts about the topic. A range of experiments in each book means that while some may need a little more equipment than others, there are plenty experiments that are cheap and accessible, using objects easily found in the classroom or at home.

Franklin Watts

Life Cycles

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Self-esteem and Mental Health

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Growing up isn't always easy - your brain is changing and there's many things to cope with from new emotions to stress. This book explores what is self-esteem and mental health and why it's important and looks at topics such as mental illness, phobias, eating disorders and self-harm. It looks at techniques to deal with issues including stress reduction, mindfulness and assertiveness.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Franklin Watts

This Little Pebble

Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland
Contributors:
Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland

This Little Pebble begins with a child finding a small, forgotten pebble in his pocket. It uses this simple premise as a jumping-off point to explore what rocks are, where they come from and how fundamental they are to life here on Earth. For readers aged six and up, This Little Pebble uses beautiful artwork to show the rich diversity of rocks all around us, with friendly, narrative text by award-winning children's writer Anna Claybourne making the book feel like a journey. It explores topics as fascinating and as wide-ranging as Earth's formation, the rock cycle, volcanoes and earthquakes, where precious stones come from and what fossils are. It also provides great support for for the topic of rocks in both the geography and science curriculum.

Wayland

The Story of You

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Killer Plants and Other Green Gunk

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne