Alex Hooper-Hodson - 52 Teen Boy Problems & How To Solve Them - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780750293006
    • Publication date:12 May 2016
Books in this series

52 Teen Boy Problems & How To Solve Them

By Alex Hooper-Hodson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Agony Uncle Alex Hooper-Hodson reveals an interesting truth: in spite of being sent up to 2,000 problem letters per month, all of them can be boiled down to 52 basic problems for teenage girls and boys. This book gives positive solutions and strategies for how to solve all the core issues affecting teenagers today!

Agony Uncle, relationship expert, journalist and blogger, Alex Hooper-Hodson received upwards of 2,000 letters a month from teen boys and girls aged 12-15. All can be related to 52 core issues that affect teenage boys and girls today - from first sexual relationships, dealing with spots, how to avoid Facebook mistakes, how drink, drugs and on-line gaming can affect your life - to the social and emotional aspects of family, friends and relationships. Through a 'Problem Page' format Alex explores the key issues that today's teens face.

Biographical Notes

Alex Hooper-Hodson writes the 'Teen Talk' column for the Daily Record and for six years was the agony uncle for Sugar magazine, responding to teenage questions and problems.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750281041
  • Publication date: 24 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

Sixteen-year-old thief and hacker Nova makes just enough to live on leeching from the corpsmen that live in the spires 400 storeys above the forgotten undercity slums she calls home. So when infamous anti-corp hacker The Moth offers Nova a huge sum to infiltrate and steal something from the biggest corp of all, Bliss Inc. - manufacturer of the neural implants that allow everyone in the spires continuous metanet access - she jumps at the chance. But what is the dark secret Bliss Inc. is hiding and why does The Moth want to get his hands on it so badly?

Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

This book tells the story of the campaign to get women the vote in Britain through 14 significant objects. From photos of key people in the campaign through ephemera such as force-feeding equipment, banners and medallions Sarah Ridley brings the story to life. Beginning by looking at the role of women in the 19th Century and ending with the continuing struggle for equal rights for women in all parts of society, this is an essential read for young people aged 10 plus to understand the history of the women's movement on suffrage.The book is published ahead of 2018 - a landmark year that marks the centenary of the Representation of the People Act. This finally gave the vote to some women for the first time (women over 30, who owned property) and also gave the vote to all men (up until then, only about two-thirds of men had the vote). The Houses of Parliament are celebrating this centenary with their 'Vote 100' project. 2018 will also be the 90th anniversary of women gaining full voting equality with men in 1928.

Wayland

Masters of Matter

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Truth of Different Skies

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling

What makes you abandon your world? How do you say goodbye when it's forever? A heart-breaking story about survival, love and hope. For fans of Meg Rosoff and Beth Revis.'I've always feared this place would keep me rooted forever . . . but now, without gravity, I'm flying, floating, falling' Bea feels trapped. Having never left her small town and with no money or anyone to rely on, she faces the inevitable future of a dead-end job - forced to survive, rather than live. When a message arrives from space, a mission is planned to travel to its source. Bea knows she has to be chosen to go, no matter what it takes, even though it means leaving Earth forever. Her life has to matter. Except she didn't plan on falling in love before she left . . .

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping follow-up to The Crystal Run from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author, for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I know how much you love Carcassia. You were prepared to die for it. It must be terrible to realise that you have been betrayed.'Kaia is from a world in which blind sacrifice is a virtue, and a Runner's life expendable.It took Joe, an outsider, to show her that she must question the truth.Now, Kaia and Joe have been taken prisoner. Trusting her sworn enemies is the only way out.Kaia and Joe must risk their lives and return to Carcassia to prevent more Runners from racing to their death. Praise for The Crystal Run:'Brims with all the hallmarks of a classic fantasy quest - a vividly evoked world, heart-rending conflict, compelling action' - LoveReading4Kids'Will appeal to youngsters who enjoy reading about dangerous quests' - Sunday Independent'Well-written, with a strong plot and excellent characters, this book gives us anexciting, classic-style fantasy filled with intrigue' - Inis'O'Flanagan's writing is crisp and concise and her plotting deft' - Belfast Telegraph

Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Franklin Watts

The Children of Willesden Lane

Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen
Authors:
Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen

Fourteen-year-old Lisa Jura was a musical prodigy who hoped to become a concert pianist. But when Hitler's armies advanced on pre-war Vienna, Lisa's parents were forced to make a difficult decision. Able to secure passage for only one of their three daughters through the Kindertransport, they chose to send gifted Lisa to London for safety. As she yearned to be reunited with her family while she lived in a home for refugee children on Willesden Lane, Lisa's music became a beacon of hope. A memoir of courage, survival, and the power of music to uplift the human spirit, this compelling tribute to one special young woman and the lives she touched will both educate and inspire young readers. Based on a true story of a 14 year old girl Lisa Jura, who had to flee her home in Vienna and rebuild her life in London, the story brings home the reality of the Holocaust to readers aged 12 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! The Rock War TV show has come to a dramatic finale, but its contestants still have everything to play for. Jay's about to see what fame and fortune are really about for his brother Theo. Summer's got to take her career back into her own hands. And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com

Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

The Martian for teens - an epic, highly original space thriller with real science and heartbreaking beauty.Leo has never set foot on Earth. Born and raised with twins Orion and Libra on the Moon 2 Space Station, they have grown up together in the most extraordinary of ways. Now, they are preparing to make their first trip home - their first journey to Earth. But Leo, Orion and Libra cannot possibly imagine the irreversible consequences that their return will set into motion...

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Franklin Watts

The Artist in You

Julie Brunelle, Peter Wood
Authors:
Julie Brunelle, Peter Wood
Orchard Books

Seven Trees of Stone

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

The third and final chapter in Leo Hunt's epic supernatural series. It's time for Luke to pay his debt to the devil ...The first book, Thirteen Days of Midnight, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2016 and longlisted for the Branford Boase Award.Luke Manchett is coming to terms with his new life. The life where his girlfriend is a witch, he's a necromancer, and he owes a life debt to the devil. But that's just the start. An invasion is coming - led by a spirit even worse than the devil himself. And it's heading straight for Luke ...

Hodder Children's Books

Boot Camp

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Jay, Summer, Dylan and their bands are headed for boot camp at uber-glamorous Rock War Manor. It's going to be six weeks of mates, music and non-stop partying as they prepare for stardom.But the rock-star life of music festivals and glitzy premieres isn't all it's cracked up to be. Can the bands hold it together long enough to make it through the last stage of the competition, or will there be meltdown?The second book in this spectacular series by the bestselling Robert Muchamore, author of CHERUB.

Franklin Watts

Puberty and Growing Up

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Puberty is often a confusing time with many changes both physical and emotional to deal with. This book deals with all aspects of puberty in a straightforward and sensitive way so young children and teenagers are armed with all the facts. It includes the changes that happen to boys and girls, periods, moods and stress and introduces sex and sexuality. The text is accompanied by fun, graphic illustrations suitable for any age.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Orchard Books

Eight Rivers of Shadow

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

A thrilling supernatural adventure: dark, funny, with twists at every turn. The sequel to Thirteen Days of Midnight, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize 2016.Luke Manchett used to be one of the most popular boys at school.That was before his necromancer father died and left him a host of vengeful ghosts that wanted him dead.Now everyone thinks he's a freak.To make matters worse, the mysterious new girl at school is actually the daughter of his father's deadliest enemy...And she's out for revenge.

Wayland

52 Teen Girl Problems & How To Solve Them

Alex Hooper-Hodson
Authors:
Alex Hooper-Hodson

Agony Uncle, relationship expert, journalist and blogger, Alex Hooper-Hodson received upwards of 2,000 letters a month from teen boys and girls aged 12-16. All can be related to 52 core issues that affect teenage boys and girls today - from first sexual relationships, dealing with unwanted sexual attention, how to avoid Facebook mistakes, how drink, drugs and online gaming can affect your life - to the social and emotional aspects of family, friends and relationships. Through a 'Problem Page' format Alex explores the key issues that today's teens face.