Anita Naik - Self-Esteem and Being YOU - Hachette Children's Group

Self-Esteem and Being YOU

By Anita Naik

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Learn to believe in yourself and get ready for a positive future with this essential guide.

Are you scared to take risks in case you make a fool of yourself? Do you need other people's approval? If someone likes you do you think there must be something wrong with them? Do you hate your body? If you answered yes to any of these questions, this essential guide will help you to turn your opinions around. It will boost yourself esteem and encourage you to believe in who and what you are.

Biographical Notes

Anita Naik is a freelance journalist who writes regularly about health, sex, relationships and lifestyle. She has written for magazines including GLAMOUR and RED and was the agony aunt on JUST 17 magazine. She has recently been an editor on the Dove Campaign For Real Beauty website, writing about self-esteem issues for teenage girls and their mothers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750279376
  • Publication date: 24 Jan 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous 2

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

That's Not What Happened

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Hodder Children's Books

Songs About a Girl 3

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell
Orchard Books

Evolution

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Wayland

Heroes of Light and Sound

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could be invisible or have super vision and hearing? You'd be a superhero BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: Heroes of Light and Sound tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four to seven superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. Momentum builds through each superhero story as we question everything and clearly explain the science behind their powers as they would exist in real-life.The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

In a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Mhairi Anne Bain owns only two things: a gun with no bullets and her identity papers. The world is a shell of what it once was. Now, you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every border checkpoint. And if you are going to survive, your instincts will become your most valuable weapon. Mhairi has learnt the importance of living her own story, of speaking to no one. But then she meets a young boy with no voice at all, and finds herself risking everything to take him to safety. And so Mhairi and the silent boy travel the road north. But there are rumours that things in Scotland have changed since she has been away. What Mhairi finds there is shocking and heart-breaking, but might finally re-connect her to her sense of self and to the possibility of love.An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart

In a world where women have no rights, sisters Nomi and Serina Tessaro face two very different fates. Serina has been groomed her whole life to become a Grace - one of three poised, beautiful women selected to stand by Prince Malachi's side as shining, subjugated examples of what all women should be. But when Nomi catches the prince's eye instead, it's Serina who must take the fall for the dangerous secret that her little sister has been hiding.The girls are separated, finding themselves in cages of different kinds: one in the palace, the other in prison, both desperate to escape. In a world this dangerous, one wrong move could cost these sisters their lives.

Wren & Rook

Can Everyone Please Calm Down?

Mae Martin
Authors:
Mae Martin
Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Rauf

There used to be an empty chair at the back of my class, but now a new boy called Ahmet is sitting in it.He's eight years old (just like me), but he's very strange. He never talks and never smiles and doesn't like sweets - not even lemon sherbets, which are my favourite!But the truth is, Ahmet really isn't very strange at all. He's a refugee who's run away from a War. A real one. With bombs and fires and bullies that hurt people. And the more I find out about him, the more I want to be his friend.That's where my best friends Josie, Michael and Tom come in. Because you see, together we've come up with a plan.

Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: On the Run

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis

Nothing is impossible in Hector Coleman's world ... A comic-book inspired adventure with a graphic novel twist, for fans of Joe Cowley, Joe Sugg and Charlie Higson.Last year, Hector Coleman survived the craziest week of his boring teenage life. His mates genetically mutated in impossible ways, the army sealed off his pathetic home town, and everyone nearly died...Can life get any more impossible for Hector? And more importantly, will he at least get more Twitter followers?

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Ten days. The most beautiful cities Europe has to offer. And a love story - or two... The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their trip around Europe practically from the moment they became BFFs in primary school. And, now, it ought to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university. But things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten. There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and his best friend Gabe, the boy Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. And there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is definitely into guys, not girls. Five friends. Ten days. Paris, Amsterdam, Prague, Florence, Barcelona. And a messy, complicated, can-this-really-be happening love story, or two ... because how could there not be?

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon. Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Hodder Children's Books

The Love Curse: Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Wayland

Masters of Matter

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could teleport, change shape or be elastic? You'd be a superhero BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: Masters of Matter tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four to seven superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. Momentum builds by questioning everything as we progress. The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir
Wayland

Fantastic Forces and Motion

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Franklin Watts

London on Fire: A Great City at the time of the Great Fire

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

Welcome to London in the late 17th century. After years of Civil War and repressive Puritan rule, King Charles II is back in town and his restoration has brought new life to this great city. The theatres are open again, markets and shops are thriving and the streets are crowded. People are talking about new ideas in science and architecture and experimenting with new fashions. This book takes you on a journey across London at this time, telling you about its 'five-star' sights and their history. It also explains the key events of the time: the reasons for the Restoration, the arrival of the Plague and, of course, the Great Fire of 1666 and the new London that arose out of its ashes. Published to coincide with the 350th anniversary of the Great Fire, this book gives older children a much broader context for this famous event. With a mixture of maps, archive images and present day photography, it acts as a wonderful guide both to London in the 1660s and how its legacy can still be found in the capital today. London on Fire is an ideal resource for readers aged 10+ and supports the history curriculum at Key Stage 3.