Anita Naik - Self-Esteem and Being YOU - Hachette Children's Group

Self-Esteem and Being YOU

By Anita Naik

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Learn to believe in yourself and get ready for a positive future with this essential guide.

Are you scared to take risks in case you make a fool of yourself? Do you need other people's approval? If someone likes you do you think there must be something wrong with them? Do you hate your body? If you answered yes to any of these questions, this essential guide will help you to turn your opinions around. It will boost yourself esteem and encourage you to believe in who and what you are.

Biographical Notes

Anita Naik is a freelance journalist who writes regularly about health, sex, relationships and lifestyle. She has written for magazines including GLAMOUR and RED and was the agony aunt on JUST 17 magazine. She has recently been an editor on the Dove Campaign For Real Beauty website, writing about self-esteem issues for teenage girls and their mothers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750279376
  • Publication date: 24 Jan 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping sequel to The Crystal Run - a children's novel from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.Runners are the privileged few. Bestowed the honour of protecting their country, Runners bring wealth and glory to their families. Yet, upon fulfilling their oath, a Runner's life must expire. A lot happened since Kaia, fastest and strongest Runner of her cycle, swore to protect her country. Risking their lives, Kaia and Joe travelled through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. Thwarted at every step, the teenagers made troubling and frightening discoveries, threatening the safety of all Carcassians.Are Kaia's trusted and powerful leaders liars? Have dozens of teenage Runners been sent to their death for nothing but the comfort and riches of the privileged few? All their efforts in vain, Kaia and Joe are taken prisoner. They must escape. They must find out the truth, return to Carcassia and most importantly, they must prevent more Runners from sprinting to their death.

Wren & Rook

Mary's Monster

Lita Judge
Authors:
Lita Judge
Wayland

Australia

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Wayland

Vote for Me!

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon

Introduce children to the concept of politics and find out who's in charge across the world from presidents, prime ministers and dictators, to kings and queens.This book will look at different systems of leadership that exist globally, looking in particular at how democracies work and what voting and elections are.It looks at the seven main types of governments/ways of ruling - Anarchy; Dictatorship; Monarchy; Theocracy; Totalitarian; Republic; Democracy. It looks at the set-up of democratic governments, in particular the UK and US and what they do, for example making laws, funding armies, providing services and how they make these things happen and why we pay taxes.We talk about the different political ideologies that different governments have, such as capitalism and communism, and the spectrum of ideologies from the far left to the far right, including liberalism, socialism, conservatism and fascism - and in between. How do elections work? What types of elections are there, for example, local, state, for a leader, or national/general, how candidates are chosen, what voting systems are in place, such as PPR and FPP, who is entitled to vote and how votes are cast and counted. Finally, find out what it takes to become a leader and get people to vote for you. Learn how to get involved by joining school councils or running school elections.

Wren & Rook

Trans Mission

Alex Bertie
Authors:
Alex Bertie
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Orion Children's Books

The Ones That Disappeared

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon
Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Wayland

The Girls' Guide to Growing Up

Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia hasfulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terriblelies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

Wayland

How to be a Girl

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik

Be the boss of you!How To Be A Girl is an easy-reading journey through girlhood and what it's like to be a girl growing up today. It examines important issues such as puberty, the politics of body hair, female stereotypes, intelligence, physical appearance, double standards and the vernacular used to describe girls and boys. It also looks at the objectification of women and sexualisation of girls by the media.How to Be A Girl is a modern feminist book for today's tweens and teens. It's a call for girls to stop beating themselves up by aiming for a so-called 'beauty ideal', to stop worrying and to start living their lives according to their own agenda. Confidence building and self esteem boosting - How To Be A Girl is not a diatribe on gender differences but a consciousness-raising, articulate and cool walk-through of what it is to be a strong and empowered young girl today.Contains sections on: body image, dieting & eating disorders, media portrayal, plastic/cosmetic surgery, body hair, online porn, dating, self esteem & confidence, discrimination, sexual harassment and empowerment.Be the change.

Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Aquarius

Jan Mark
Authors:
Jan Mark

Viner lives in a land that constantly floods - his skill as a water diviner has lead to ridicule. But when he is kidnapped all this changes. His murderous captors force him to work for them in their drought-stricken country - and to challenge the Rain-King whose failure to provide the necessary rainfall is sorely trying all those around him. But instead of ridiculing the King, Viner befriends him - perhaps more ... Aquarius is a deeply humane story of power, manipulation, ambition, and burgeoning sexuality. Viner is a complex character - easy to like and despise in equal measure. His story will not easily be forgotten.

Wayland

Quick Expert's Guide: Safe Social Networking

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik
Wayland

Queen Bees, Drama Queens & Cliquey Teens

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik

With queen bees, drama queens and cliquey teens girl friendships can be tough! Teen Life Confidential is here to help with this guide for teenagers looking for help surviving the friendship game.Hanging out with your best friends can be awesome, but what happens when things go wrong? Queen Bees, Drama Queens and Cliquey Teens answers your friendship problems and questions and gives advice on everything from how to cope with the bullies and mean girls at school, to how to be a better friend yourself. Written by experienced author Anita Naik, this title explores all aspects of teenage girl friendships and the problems that surround them. We look at what being popular means, the downsides of friendships and what to do when things go wrong.Includes an 8 ways to empower yourself guide. Self-esteem and self-confidence are vital when coping with girl friendships and girl bullying, so we've given 8 things that the reader can do every day to improve their confidence and build their self esteem. Each section is accompanied by quotes from real teenagers to give examples of real-life problems that teenagers experience every day. We also feature quizzes to help you to assess your own behaviour and work out what your friendship style is.Anita Naik is an author, columnist, blogger and journalist. She started her career as advice columnist on the teen magazine Just 17, and is now the agony aunt at Teen Now magazine and Avon Connects. She is also a regular contributor to the parenting technology site Quibly (http://www.quib.ly) and writes regularly on the subjectsof teens, tech, parenting, education and social media, across various media platforms and magazines.Kidscape is the first charity in the UK established specifically to prevent bullying and child sexual abuse. Kidscape works UK-wide to provide individuals and organisations with practical skills and resources necessary to keep children safe from harm. We are grateful to Claude Knights at Kidscape for her advice in the creation of this book. For more information please visit: http://www.kidscape.org.uk/Chapter One - Being popular: What does it means to be popular and who you are friends with right now? Chapter Two - The girls who rule school: Here we look at the girls at the top of the class and why they behave the way they do.Chapter Three - The downside of friendships: Relational aggression explained and ways to deal with the mean behaviours that arise in girl friendships.Chapter Four - What kind of friend are you? Helps readers to assess their own friendship behaviour. We look at the different types of friend and the problems of the behaviours associated with them.Chapter Five - When things go wrong: How to cope with friendships that end, or turn nasty.A Help Section gives details of places to go for further help and guidance, and a glossary explains specificterms to readers.

Wayland

Texts, Tweets, Trolls and Teens

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Who would believe that a kid at a sleepover could be a spy? CHERUB: Dark Sun is a short novel aimed at new readers to CHERUB, originally written for World Book Day and now made available in print again by popular demand! To go with it are three stories never before seen in print: The Switch, CHERUB at Christmas and Kerry's First Mission. For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Orion Children's Books

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Wayland

I'm Worried

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon