Anita Naik - Sex, Snogs, Dates and Mates - Hachette Children's Group

Sex, Snogs, Dates and Mates

By Anita Naik

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

From highly respected author and agony aunt Anita Naik, find out all you need to know about sex and relationships with this essential guide for teenagers.

How do you deal with dating and build good relationships? How will you know when you're ready to have sex? Can you resist the pressure and say no if you're not? Designed to make sex education easier for teenagers and their parents and teachers, this age appropriate guide will give you the facts and answer all the questions on sex and relationships you didn't like to ask, from periods and puberty, crushes and contraception to health and harrassment. Topical and helpful, the book includes quotes from teenagers about their own experiences, and is written in a down-to-earth and friendly manner by highly respected author and agony aunt Anita Naik.

The chapter listing is as follows: Your changing body; Sex education - what's it all about?; Love and relationships; Thinking about sex; Having sex; Life after sex; Bigger problems.

Biographical Notes

Anita Naik is a freelance journalist who writes regularly about health, sex, relationships and lifestyle. She has written for magazines including GLAMOUR and RED and was the agony aunt on JUST 17 magazine. She has recently been an editor on the Dove Campaign For Real Beauty website, writing about self-esteem issues for teenage girls and their mothers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750272155
  • Publication date: 27 Feb 2013
  • Page count: 128
  • Imprint: Wayland
A very informative and responsible sex education book... full of very helpful, detailed advice and facts. Particularly good at reassuring young readers about their fears and telling them very firmly which myths to disbelive. If I were working in a school, I'd give a copy to every child in Year 7 and use it as the basis of PSHE work. And if the school budget wouldn't run to that I'd try to get sponsorship. — School Librarian
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Wren & Rook

Mary's Monster

Lita Judge
Authors:
Lita Judge

Creative genius...?Inventor of science fiction...?Pregnant teenage runaway...?Who was the real Mary Shelley? Publishing to mark the 200th anniversary of the publication of Frankenstein, Mary's Monster is the compelling, and beautifully illustrated, story of Mary Shelley - the original rebel girl. When her fractured bond with her beloved father, and her elopement with the mercurial (and married) poet Percy Bysshe Shelley at the age of 16, led her to Switzerland, few could have imagined the consequence would be such a book. But, in the crucible of societal disapproval and tenuous circumstances, Mary Shelley created Frankenstein, and his monster, forged in the fire of her troubled and tragic life. Part biography, part fantasy and part feminist allegory, Mary's Monster is an engrossing take on one remarkable woman. And her monster.

Wayland

Australia

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Orion Children's Books

The Ones That Disappeared

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon
Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Wayland

The Girls' Guide to Growing Up

Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Naik, Sarah Horne

A friendly and reassuring guide for girls as they approach puberty, explaining the changes that will happen to their bodies as they grow up and how these changes might make them feel. Covering everything from periods and breast development to body hair and personal hygiene, puberty and parenting expert Anita Naik addresses any worries that girls may have relating to what is 'normal'. She reassures readers and boosts their confidence, encouraging them to feel positive about the changes they will experience as they go through puberty. The book also includes lifestyle advice on topics like healthy eating and exercise.Topics covered:What is puberty?Your puberty timelineBreasts and brasSame age, different stageSkin changesSweat, smells and personal hygieneHair in new placesDown thereWhat are periods?The practical side of periodsCoping with periodsSex explainedMaking babiesNew feelingsManaging your moodsHealthy eatingThe power of exerciseSelf-esteem and body imagePrivacy and your bodyPuberty for boysBoys have worries, too

Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia hasfulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terriblelies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

Hodder Children's Books

City of Shadows

Celia Rees
Authors:
Celia Rees
Hodder Children's Books

A Trap in Time

Celia Rees
Authors:
Celia Rees

Davey is trying to forget the scary events of last midsummer, but an encounter with a face from the past brings memories flooding back-and some very bad news. Then an archaeological dig turns up more than just a few old bones and Davey, his sister and cousins are once again battling with evil forces from the underground city.

Hodder Children's Books

A Song for Ella Grey

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

Winner of the Guardian children's book prize 2015I'm the one who's left behind. I'm the one to tell the tale. I knew them both... knew how they lived and how they died. Claire is Ella Grey's best friend. She's there when the whirlwind arrives on the scene: catapulted into a North East landscape of gutted shipyards; of high arched bridges and ancient collapsed mines. She witnesses a love so dramatic it is as if her best friend has been captured and taken from her. But the loss of her friend to the arms of Orpheus is nothing compared to the loss she feels when Ella is taken from the world. This is her story - as she bears witness to a love so complete; so sure, that not even death can prove final.

Wayland

How to be a Girl

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik
Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Aquarius

Jan Mark
Authors:
Jan Mark
Wayland

Quick Expert's Guide: Safe Social Networking

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik

With this book, the Quick Expert's Team has crafted the perfect guide for you to become a safe and savvy social networker. We show you how to make the most of social networks and dodge the pitfalls - master the privacy settings, control how much you share, and avoid peer pressure so that you have the best time online.This series offers a shortcut to instant expertise! Quick Expert's Guides are aimed at teens and 'tweens who are keen to know more about a popular topic but who may be put off the idea of having to read wordy or technical guides. Each title includes features that break down the complex aspects of the subject, inspirational case studies, activities and a final project to test the reader's new skills. Chapter round-ups also offer tips on key words and phrases as well as boosting self esteem and confidence, in order to walk the walk and talk the talk of a true expert.

Wayland

Queen Bees, Drama Queens & Cliquey Teens

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik
Wayland

Texts, Tweets, Trolls and Teens

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orion Children's Books

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher

Winner of the 2012 Branford Boase Award, this is Annabel Pitcher's stunning debut about ten-year-old Jamie, and the way his life and his family are shaped by the sister in an urn on the mantelpiece. Five years ago, Jamie's sister, Rose, was blown up by a terrorist bomb. His family is torn apart by their grief. His mum runs away. His dad turns to drink and hate. Rose's surviving twin sister Jasmine stops eating, gets piercings and dyes her hair pink - anything to look different to her twin. But Jamie hasn't cried in all that time. To him, Rose is just a distant memory.Jamie is far more interested in his cat, Roger, his Spiderman T-shirt, and his deep longing and unshakeable belief that his Mum will come back to the family she walked out on months ago.But moving away for a Fresh New Start introduces Jamie to something else very interesting - a girl named Sunya. Sunya is bright, exciting and fun, and the one person at school he can call a friend. But how far can this new friendship grow when Jamie is desperate that his dad doesn't find out?