Anita Naik - Sex, Snogs, Dates and Mates - Hachette Children's Group

Sex, Snogs, Dates and Mates

By Anita Naik

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

From highly respected author and agony aunt Anita Naik, find out all you need to know about sex and relationships with this essential guide for teenagers.

How do you deal with dating and build good relationships? How will you know when you're ready to have sex? Can you resist the pressure and say no if you're not? Designed to make sex education easier for teenagers and their parents and teachers, this age appropriate guide will give you the facts and answer all the questions on sex and relationships you didn't like to ask, from periods and puberty, crushes and contraception to health and harrassment. Topical and helpful, the book includes quotes from teenagers about their own experiences, and is written in a down-to-earth and friendly manner by highly respected author and agony aunt Anita Naik.

The chapter listing is as follows: Your changing body; Sex education - what's it all about?; Love and relationships; Thinking about sex; Having sex; Life after sex; Bigger problems.

Biographical Notes

Anita Naik is a freelance journalist who writes regularly about health, sex, relationships and lifestyle. She has written for magazines including GLAMOUR and RED and was the agony aunt on JUST 17 magazine. She has recently been an editor on the Dove Campaign For Real Beauty website, writing about self-esteem issues for teenage girls and their mothers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750272155
  • Publication date: 27 Feb 2013
  • Page count: 128
  • Imprint: Wayland
A very informative and responsible sex education book... full of very helpful, detailed advice and facts. Particularly good at reassuring young readers about their fears and telling them very firmly which myths to disbelive. If I were working in a school, I'd give a copy to every child in Year 7 and use it as the basis of PSHE work. And if the school budget wouldn't run to that I'd try to get sponsorship. — School Librarian
Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What is the most perfect sphere known in nature? What is pi? Why were the Great Pyramids built in that shape? Find out the answers to these questions and many more in this book about the shapes that are all around us. Once you've read all about shapes, have a go at the fun quizzes which test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Franklin Watts

In the Air

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Franklin Watts

Health and Disease

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orion Children's Books

The List of Real Things

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The fourth and final book in the new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.AD 96. Bouda, an orphaned British girl with a troubled past, has been helping Juba and his siblings since they first arrived in Britannia. For almost two years they have been in hiding from the Emperor Domitian's agents. But now information has come to light that could bring down the tyrant. When Juba and his sister decide to return to Rome with the man who has this evidence, Bouda goes with them. But is it ever right to kill a tyrant?From the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Civil War and Genocide

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

Global Pollution

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay

Humans are creating more pollution than ever before and this is threatening the balance of our planet and its perfect conditions for life. This book looks at the causes and effects of different types of pollution, considers the greenouse effect and what is being done to tackle climate change. It asks readers to think about what they can do to reduce pollution and live sustainably, for example by buying locally and being energy-wise.

Wren & Rook

Trans Mission

Alex Bertie
Authors:
Alex Bertie

I guess we should start at the beginning. I was born on 2 November 1995. The doctors in the hospital took one look at my genitals and slapped an F on my birth certificate. 'F' for female, not fail - though that would actually have been kind of appropriate given present circumstances.When I was 15, I realised I was a transgender man. That makes it sound like I suddenly had some kind of lightbulb moment. In reality, coming to grips with my identity has taken a long time. Over the last six years, I've come out to my family and friends, changed my name, battled the healthcare system, started taking male hormones and have had surgery on my chest. My quest to a beard is almost complete. This is my story.

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! Jay, Summer and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they're about to discover what fame and fortune are really about. Jay's brother Theo is young, rich and famous: but is it making him happy?Summer's got to weather her one-star reviews and take her career back into her own hands.And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. They've got everything to play for. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

The Taste of Blue Light

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles
Franklin Watts

Players

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon

Find out who are the top footballers in the world today and what makes them so great. Featuring over 50 superstars, from tough-tackling defenders and midfield destroyers to superb shot-stoppers and prolific goalscorers.The Football World series takes a broad look at football on the world stage, covering players, leagues, competitions and the history of football. Each title includes statistics and fun facts and is perfect for football fans aged 8 and up who want to know it all.

Franklin Watts

Leagues

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon

Find out all about the best divisions in world football. Read about the top leagues in Europe, including the Premier League and the Bundesliga. Discover how each league works, the past champions and some of football's greatest stories.The Football World series takes a broad look at football on the world stage, covering players, leagues, competitions and the history of football. Each title includes statistics and fun facts and is perfect for football fans aged 8 and up who want to know it all.

Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

Chase

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Quercus Children's Books

Girlhood

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.'Emotive, creepy AND funny. A quality page-turner' SARAH CROSSAN'A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate and Girlhood could be her best yet' JUNO DAWSONHarper has tried to forget the past and fit in at expensive boarding school Duncraggan Academy. Her new group of friends are tight; the kind of girls who Harper knows have her back. But Harper can't escape the guilt of her twin sister's Jenna's death, and her own part in it - and she knows noone else will ever really understand. But new girl Kirsty seems to get Harper in ways she never expected. She has lost a sister too. Harper finally feels secure. She finally feels...loved. As if she can grow beyond the person she was when Jenna died. Then Kirsty's behaviour becomes more erratic. Why is her life a perfect mirror of Harper's? And why is she so obsessed with Harper's lost sister? Soon, Harper's closeness with Kirsty begins to threaten her other relationships, and her own sense of identity. How can Harper get back to the person she wants to be, and to the girls who mean the most to her?A darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief.

Hodder Children's Books

The Battlemage

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

One boy's ability to summon demons will change the fate of an empire ... The epic conclusion to the fantasy trilogy described as 'Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings meets Pokemon'. After the thrilling cliffhanger at the end of book two, we rejoin Fletcher and his friends in the ether, where they must undertake a mortally dangerous quest all the while avoiding capture by enemies and facing foes more terrifying than anything they have yet encountered. But this is nothing compared to what truly lies ahead for Fletcher, as his nemesis, albino orc Khan, is on a mission to destroy Hominum and everything and everyone that Fletcher loves. Epic battles, dramatic revelations and breathtaking drama await in the book in the New York Times bestselling Summoner series.'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The Bookseller

Wayland

The Girls' Guide to Growing Up

Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson