Daniel Gilpin - People - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

People

By Daniel Gilpin

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Impactful, high-interest, low reading age titles for children aged 10+.

Perfect for capturing a young general reader's or an older reluctant reader's interest, these hi-lo titles feature gripping, minimal, fact-based text, dramatic and impactful pictures, to reveal fascinating facts about the strongest person, or those who undertook the longest unicycle jump, highest shallow dive, deepest free dive or spent the longest time in space! Packed to the brim with facts and figures this title is an unputdownable read!

Biographical Notes

Daniel Gilpin is an experienced author of non-fiction titles.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750272094
  • Publication date: 09 May 2013
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Following a narrative chain throughout every book in the series Cause Effect and Chaos!, each spread focuses on a different action, process or phenomenon with illustrations and arrows guiding the reader through the chain of events. A highly visual approach with simple text makes this a perfect series for imparting important concepts and consequences to struggling readers.With information on the probability of each of the extreme (chaotic) reactions presented as an infographic, the reader will be reassured that chaos is not the most likely outcome. The series reaches into different core areas of the science, geography and history curriculum. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Wayland

In Engineering and Industry

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Following a narrative chain throughout every book in the series Cause Effect and Chaos!, each spread focuses on a different action, process or phenomenon with illustrations and arrows guiding the reader through the chain of events. A highly visual approach with simple text makes this a perfect series for imparting important concepts and consequences to struggling readers.With information on the probability of each of the extreme (chaotic) reactions presented as an infographic, the reader will be reassured that chaos is not the most likely outcome. The series reaches into different core areas of the science, geography and history curriculum. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Incredible Sporting Champions

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Wayland

Heroic Leaders and Activists

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli

Curious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Filled with wonderful illustrations, and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, the Brilliant Women series compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful series of four books reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys.

Wayland

In Outer Space

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Following a narrative chain throughout every book in the series Cause Effect and Chaos!, each spread focuses on a different action, process or phenomenon with illustrations and arrows guiding the reader through the chain of events. A highly visual approach with simple text makes this a perfect series for imparting important concepts and consequences to struggling readers.With information on the probability of each of the extreme (chaotic) reactions presented as an infographic, the reader will be reassured that chaos is not the most likely outcome. The series reaches into different core areas of the science, geography and history curriculum. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Wayland

In the Human Body

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Hodder Children's Books

Easter Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Wayland

Goundbreaking Pioneers of Science and Technology

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli

Curious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Filled with wonderful illustrations, and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, the Brilliant Women series compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful series of four books reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys.In Groundbreaking Science and Technology Pioneers you'll say hello to Hypatia, an ancient Greek mathematician and astronomer. You'll learn about Lise Meitner, the heroic Jewish physicist who escaped the Nazis. You'll join Jane Goodall who lived in the jungle studying apes. These women are just a few of the many who followed their passion for science and technology, and weren't put off by people telling them they couldn't or shouldn't. And along the way they discovered radiation, wrote the first computer programme, expanded our knowledge of the universe and flew into space.

Wayland

Amazing Artists and Designers

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Orchard Books

Sleepover School

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Early Reader Movie Tie-In

Be the first to find out what happens in the My Little Pony Movie with this gorgeous full-colour Early Reader, perfect for young pony fans. In this Early Reader, the story of the movie is told simply for young pony fans just starting their reading adventure.Join Twilight Sparkle and all her friends in their biggest adventure yet as they meet BRAND-NEW characters and explore amazing new places. With your pony friends, reading is magic!Collect all the My Little Pony Early Readers:My Little Pony: Twilight Sparkle's Princess SpellMy Little Pony: Rainbow Dash's Big RaceMy Little Pony: Pinkie Pie's Perfect PartyMy Little Pony: Applejack's Sister SurpriseThere are My Little Pony books for all ages! Have fun with colour, activity and sticker books, and continue the reading adventure with the My Little Pony chapter books!

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Orchard Books

Must End Soon

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres
Wayland

The International Space Station

Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus
Contributors:
Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus

What is the space station and how did it get into space? How do astronauts get there and what do they do once they're there? How do astronauts eat, sleep, or even breathe, in space? This book answers all of these questions and more. Find out what it takes to become an astronaut and about the essential science experiments that are being carried out there. What effect does living in space have on the human body, from making you taller to losing your muscles because of zero gravity. If everything floats, then how can you go to the toilet and where does your wee and poo go? There's no bath or shower on the space station, so astronauts clean themselves with towels made damp by adding a little soapy water from a sealed pouch or by using special wet wipes each sealed in foil and containing disinfectant. Uncover all of these fascinating facts in this beautifully illustrated and fun book for children. Written to inspire a new generation of astronauts, Clive's detailed and fact-filled text will make you think you've visited the space station yourself. Fully illustrated by self-confessed space geek illustrator, Dan Schlitzkus, the illustrations are technically accurate and provide true representations of the mechanics, modules and equipment on board the ISS.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Run Away Together

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In their third adventure, the Famous Five discover that someone has been on George's island. And what is locked in the mysterious trunk hidden on Kirrin Island?The Famous Five think they're on the trail of smugglers - until they hear a child scream...Fantastic new cover art by Laura Ellen Anderson will draw young readers into this accessible timeless classic.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Go Off In A Caravan

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In book five, the Famous Five go on a caravan holiday. When they stumble across a circus troupe, the gang are thrilled.But some of the circus people have more sinister plans than just clowning around...Fantastic new cover art by Laura Ellen Anderson will draw young readers into this accessible timeless classic.

Franklin Watts

the Sea

Virginie Aladjidi, Emmanuelle Tchoukriel
Authors:
Virginie Aladjidi, Emmanuelle Tchoukriel

Discover over a hundred types of marine life from all over the world - mammals, crustaceans, birds, plants, some exotic, others more familiar. You will find them classified by species. Every life form is precisely identified by their common name and scientific name, and succinctly described with a fun fact. It is perfect for exploring the creatures great and small that live in our seas and oceans and how they are classified by the naturalists that study them.The Illustrated Compendiums' beautiful illustrations recall the style used by naturalists and explorers such as Charles Darwin and John James Audubon. Children aged 7 and up will enjoy dipping in and out of these books, inspired by the fascinating illustrations and facts.

Orchard Books

May Be Recycled

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres

The eleventh hilarious title in the award-winning, laugh-out-loud series, The World of Norm. Perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Norm knew it was going to be one of those days when he woke up and nothing happened ...Home alone and the fridge to himself? What could possibly go wrong? Well, apart from the snails. And having to hang his mum's pants out to dry. And the dreaded perfect cousins paying a visit. And worst of all, the entire family going vege-flipping-tarian! But apart from that, what could possibly go wrong?You'd think Norm would know better by now, wouldn't you? ABSO-FLIPPING-LUTELY!With brilliantly funny illustrations throughout from Donough O'Malley. Praise for Jonathan Meres: 'Hilarious stuff from one of my comic heroes!' - Harry Hill 'Jonathan Meres is flipping funny!' - Eddie Izzard

Hodder Children's Books

Malory Towers Collection 1

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton