Jacqui Bailey - The Girl Files - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781526305176
    • Publication date:23 Mar 2017

The Girl Files

All About Puberty & Growing Up

By Jacqui Bailey

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

The Girl Files is a modern, friendly, accessible look at growing up issues, puberty and all the stuff a girl really needs to know!

A totally modern, easy-to-read, upbeat guide to girls' growing up issues, now updated to include online and smartphone safety. The Girl Files offers age-appropriate advice, practical tips and support to help girls navigate the physical and mental rollercoaster of puberty. From periods and body hair to bras, boys, sexting and cyber bullying, The Girl Files' chatty, big-sisterly style is a fantastic, feel-good reference source for 'tweens and young teens, and places a strong emphasis on the importance of self esteem, and maintaining a positive attitude.

Chapters:
P is for puppies, pink and... puberty
From hips to zits
The news on boobs
Periods, pads and PMS
All change!
Mates and dates
Staying safe
Get connected!

The Boy Files by Alex Hooper-Hodson is the partner title to The Girl Files, offering puberty advice and support for boys. Alex has also written the popular teen self-help resources: 52 Teen Girl Problems and How to Solve Them and 52 Teen Boy Problems and How to Solve Them.

Biographical Notes

Jacqui Bailey has spent a lot of her adult life working with children`s books. She has been an editor and publisher of everything from picture books to encyclopedias, but mostly enjoys finding out amazing bits of information and then writing about them. She particularly likes writing about science, as the information so often turns out to be far stranger than fiction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750270540
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2012
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Ellen the Explorer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orion Children's Books

Dear Katie

Katie Thistleton
Authors:
Katie Thistleton

Real answers to real problems! Advice on life's tough stuff from children's TV and radio presenter Katie Thistleton.Growing up is hard. This book makes it a little bit easier. Exploring the sometimes challenging issues everyone faces as part of growing up, Katie will answer questions from real kids and teens with real issues. From falling outs with friends to disagreements with family, trouble at school to concerns about mental or physical health, Katie will cover every topic with thoughtful and emotionally sensitive advice that will resonate with readers. With additional guidance from TV and radio doctor Radha Modgil, as well as psychotherapist Sally Angel, this book is full of advice and guidance to help kids through the difficult years of growing up.

Wayland

Australia

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orchard Books

Erth Dragons 3

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

The third in the stunning new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Chris d'Lacey.

Orion Children's Books

The List of Real Things

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Verak the Storm King

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Don't miss this new bumper special edition of the bestselling series, in which our heroes return to the realm of Gwildor to battle an old enemy and a terrifying new sea Beast - Verak the Storm King!Have you read any other Beast Quest books? Grymon the Biting Horror is a great place to find more adventures!

Orchard Books

Stage Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses!Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.Once every hundred years, the small, forgotten, rural Irish town of Lisahee welcomes The Fairy Festival - a week of celebration where the mysterious and magical 'sidhe' emerge from the hill above the town and take residence alongside their human counterparts for seven days of ancient traditions and games. Filled with dancing, music, goblin markets and fae-folk, the festival has only one rule: never, ever, say 'the f word' - that's 'fairies' - a rule twelve-year-old Brian unfortunately breaks. When mayhem ensues, it's up to Brian and his friends to avoid the wrath of the King and Queen and help keep the town in one piece.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hounds and Hauntings

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton Abbey -- another exciting Rose Raventhorpe mystery set in Victorian England.

Orion Children's Books

Silent Enemy and The Walk of Death

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler

The fifth and sixth instalments of this exciting spy series set in Tudor England, amid the intrigue and danger of Henry VIII's royal court, from the authors of books in the bestselling BEAST QUEST series.In DEADLY STORM the royal court of King Henry VIII is on the move - and in danger!A terrible storm forces the court to shelter in a nearby castle. The King is in disguise, and he's not the only person with a secret. Death stalks the castle - but is it the dreaded plague or something even more sinister? When a servant is found dead, it's clear that something terrible is going on.Can young spy, Jack Briars, and his friend, Cat Thimblebee, solve the mystery before the King himself becomes a target?While in FATAL VOYAGE, Jack and Cat are once again called upon to save the King's life, this time aboard his majestic new ship, Fair Anne. But will this adventure leave the pair all at sea?A thrilling adventure series featuring young spy Jack Briars and his friend, Cat Thimblebee. This is WOLF HALL for children.

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart

The first children's book from award-winning, bestselling author and comedian Miranda Hart. Packed with humour and happiness, this is a story guaranteed to make you laugh and cry!Chloe Long has lost her smile. She's looked everywhere for it. (Under her pillow. Under her bed. Under her nose. Obviously.)She's tried everything to bring it back. (Her favourite cake. Her favourite gran. Her favourite joke. Obviously.) But nothing seems to be working! Until one night, something utterly magical happens - and Chloe finds herself on an adventure that is out of this world ... THE GIRL WITH THE LOST SMILE takes you on an action-packed, magical journey that celebrates the power of the imagination, the wonder of true friendship and is guaranteed to make you smile. 'That personality and voice belong to a uniquely cherished comedian ... there's nobody like Miranda.' Daily Mail

Hodder Children's Books

The Unicorn's Foal

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Orchard Books

The Ultimate Guide: All the fun, facts and magic of My Little Pony

Welcome to THE definitive official guide to the magical world of Equestria! Get the lowdown on all your favourite ponies, experience daily life in Ponyville, tour Canterlot and beyond, discover key myths and legends, and read about the most exciting adventures of Twilight Sparkle and her friends. With fun facts, best-kept secrets, montages, quotes and MUCH more, this is the only companion that you'll ever need to this amazing world of magic, friendship and fun.Features a sparkling holographic foil cover. A must-have gift for My Little Pony fans of any age!

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Stories of Wizards and Witches

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

This collection of 25 short stories is populated by every sort of magical and mysterious creature, from a grumpy wizard who is ouwitted by an elf to pixie who rides on a rabbit. The stories are the perfect length for reading aloud in a classroom or at bedtime. With lots of humour and fantastic characters, these will appeal to newly confident readers to read alone as well as to younger children being read to.Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.

Orion Children's Books

The Secret of Supernatural Creek

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orchard Books

The Skeleton Warrior

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade!Students of Hero Academy: get ready! The Noxxian invasion is about to begin! And with your fellow classmate Danny a captive in the underground land of Noxx, it's time to take the fight to General Gore himself ...

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown