Jacqui Bailey - The Girl Files - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781526305176
    • Publication date:23 Mar 2017

The Girl Files

All About Puberty & Growing Up

By Jacqui Bailey

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

The Girl Files is a modern, friendly, accessible look at growing up issues, puberty and all the stuff a girl really needs to know!

A totally modern, easy-to-read, upbeat guide to girls' growing up issues, now updated to include online and smartphone safety. The Girl Files offers age-appropriate advice, practical tips and support to help girls navigate the physical and mental rollercoaster of puberty. From periods and body hair to bras, boys, sexting and cyber bullying, The Girl Files' chatty, big-sisterly style is a fantastic, feel-good reference source for 'tweens and young teens, and places a strong emphasis on the importance of self esteem, and maintaining a positive attitude.

Chapters:
P is for puppies, pink and... puberty
From hips to zits
The news on boobs
Periods, pads and PMS
All change!
Mates and dates
Staying safe
Get connected!

The Boy Files by Alex Hooper-Hodson is the partner title to The Girl Files, offering puberty advice and support for boys. Alex has also written the popular teen self-help resources: 52 Teen Girl Problems and How to Solve Them and 52 Teen Boy Problems and How to Solve Them.

Biographical Notes

Jacqui Bailey has spent a lot of her adult life working with children`s books. She has been an editor and publisher of everything from picture books to encyclopedias, but mostly enjoys finding out amazing bits of information and then writing about them. She particularly likes writing about science, as the information so often turns out to be far stranger than fiction.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750270540
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2012
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Harry and Meghan

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Meghan and Harry are ambassadors for the UK at home and overseas. But what does this mean? What is their role as members of the royal family?This book looks at Harry and Meghan's very different childhoods, shows how they met, looks at why their wedding day means so much to people, and explains about the many different charities that they support.A timeline at the back of the book shows the full history of the British Royal Family.

Wayland

Coding with Python

Álvaro Scrivano
Authors:
Álvaro Scrivano

Get ready to code with this easy-to-use series full of projects and tips to get kids programming. Each book in the Ready, Steady Code! series has 4 step-by-step projects with an introduction section (Ready), project preparation section (Steady), and the coding for the project section (Code!). The programming language is introduced with clear simple explanations and illustrations, making concepts such as loops and variables easy to understand. Each book includes information on checking and de-bugging and encourages the reader to use what they have learned to create their own coding projects.

Orchard Books

A Purrfect Sleepover

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Android Attack

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes - an epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade!Ordinary kids with extraordinary powers gather in a secret school to be trained to fight the forces of darkness.Jack, Danny and Ruby are training for battle with some high-powered fighting robots. But when their opponents go rogue, they soon realise a far deadlier enemy is afoot...!

Franklin Watts

This Drop of Water

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

Coding with Scratch Jr

Álvaro Scrivano
Authors:
Álvaro Scrivano

Get ready to code with this easy-to-use series full of projects and tips to get kids programming. Each book in the Ready, Steady Code! series has 4 step-by-step projects with an introduction section (Ready), project preparation section (Steady), and the coding for the project section (Code!). The programming language is introduced with clear simple explanations and illustrations, making concepts such as loops and variables easy to understand. Each book includes information on checking and de-bugging and encourages the reader to use what they have learned to create their own coding projects.

Wayland

Coding with Hopscotch

Álvaro Scrivano
Authors:
Álvaro Scrivano
Franklin Watts

Comparing Countries: Houses and Homes (English/Spanish)

Sabrina Crewe
Authors:
Sabrina Crewe

People make their homes in all kinds of places around the world. Houses and Homes looks at the different places where we live, from busy high-rise flats to remote yurts.Comparing Countries is a groundbreaking non-fiction dual-language series which compares and contrasts ways of life in ten different countries around the world. Presented in two different languages, each title explores a topic common to all children, from homes to festivals, highlighting what makes us different and what we all have in common. This series provides great support to geography learning, as well as helping young language learners improve their reading skills.

Orchard Books

Fox Cub Danger

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels. With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers!Amelia and Sam love helping animals. But when they find an injured fox, they have to find new home for a whole fox family. Can they find the perfect place for the cute cubs, safely away from danger?

Orchard Books

Puppy in Peril

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Kitten Rescue

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Bunny Trouble

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Children's Books

Eight O'Clock Tales

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Operation Boy Band

Yvette Poshoglian
Authors:
Yvette Poshoglian
Orchard Books

The Koala Who Could

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

Fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance will love this feelgood rhyming story portraying a positive message about facing up to change, something that young children can sometimes struggle with.Sometimes change comes along whether we like it or not . . . but if you let it, change can be the making of you. Kevin the Koala discovers this and more in this delightful picture book from the bestselling creators of The Lion Inside!Stylish art with Jon Klassen appeal and vibrant storytelling from two contemporary stars make this a story to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.WINNER of the Evening Standard Oscar's Book Prize 2017!'Fabulous rhymes, I'm in love with Kevin and would like to buy this for all my friends' children.' Claudia Winkleman'A feel-good rhyming tale ... Field's Australian animals are a treat' - Bookseller

Hodder Children's Books

Sketches from a Nameless Land

Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Hodder Children's Books

Rules of Summer

Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Hodder Children's Books

The Rabbits

Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan

The Rabbits offers a rich and immensely valuable perspective on the effect of man on his environment. Visually loaded and told with a passion for truth and understanding, The Rabbits aims to promote cultural awareness and a sense of caring for the natural world.A rich and haunting allegory for all ages, all cultures.

Hodder Children's Books

The Arrival

Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan