Kate Ruttle - Zak's Robot - Hachette Children's Group

Zak's Robot

By Kate Ruttle

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Fizz Wizz Phonics is a series of fun and exciting phonics books which explores key speaking and listening skills with very young children.

Zak's Robot supports the teaching of phonics at Phase One, looking specifically at oral segmenting.

Biographical Notes

Kate Ruttle is a freelance literary consultant and author. She is also currently literacy co-ordinator, special needs co-ordinator and deputy headteacher at a primary school.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750266550
  • Publication date: 27 Sep 2012
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

Will You Help Me Fall Asleep?

Anna Kang, Chris Weyant
Contributors:
Anna Kang, Chris Weyant

A calming bedtime story, perfect for helping your child get to sleep.Monty the frog just can't get to sleep! He's tried everything. Counting sheep doesn't work and his book is far too scary... Just what's a poor frog to do?! But, as Monty discovers, sometimes the best thing to do is to simply take a deep breath and think happy thoughts.If you love The Rabbit Who Wants to Fall Asleep, you'll love this!Visit Christopher at www.christopherweyant.com. Praise for You are (Not) Small: "Charming characters, a clever plot and a quiet message tucked inside a humorous tale." Kirkus Reviews

Hodder Children's Books

Hugless Douglas and the Baby Birds

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

Join Douglas for springtime magic in a new adventure. This bestselling series has sold over 1.6 million copies to date in 24 languages!When a nest full of eggs comes crashing down Hugless Douglas offers to look after them until Swoopy Bird has built a new home. But Douglas soon discovers a hug is not enough to keep a little egg safe. David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his ninth book about Douglas the brown bear is as funny and compelling as the first. It combines brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.'A new Hugless Douglas book is always a cause for celebration.' - Daily Mail

Pat-a-Cake

Super Squiggles

Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

Kipper: The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

Kipper the dog has found a soggy blue balloon in the garden. At first, it seems like an ordinary balloon, but it's not. It's full of fun, magic and endless possibilities... 30 years after it was first published, The Blue Balloon is a celebrated picture book classic. It features the very first appearance of Mick Inkpen's much-loved puppy charachter, Kipper, and has delighted millions of children worldwide. This playful tale of imagination, complete with fantastic fold-out pages, is a classic to be treasured, loved and shared time and time again.This gorgeous anniversary edition comes complete with special bonus material and is an absolute must for all Kipper fans!

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of Happy

Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Contributors:
Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Orchard Books

Happy to Be Me

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd

A fun-filled, rhyming book celebrating bodies of all kinds, from Emma Dodd, the bestselling author-illustrator of Forever and Sometimes.Thank you, hands, you touch and hold.Ears, you hear the things I'm told.Thank you, eyes, you let me see. Oh, I'm so happy to be me!From arms that let us hug, to feet that are perfect for tickling ... our bodies are amazing. And the most important thing of all? Our hearts that let us love!Emma Dodd's simple, heartfelt story offers children and their parents a way of talking easily, and with gratitude, about their bodies and the wonderful things they can do. This is the perfect way to build body confidence and self-esteem in even the youngest children!Look out for these other amazing books from Emma Dodd (written by Giles Andreae):I Love YouI Love My MummyI Love My DaddyI Love My GrandmaI Love My GrandadI Love My PuppyI Love My BirthdayI Love My DinosaurI Love My Teacher

Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Alien

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East
Hodder Children's Books

Everybunny Dream

Ellie Sandall
Authors:
Ellie Sandall

A delightful bedtime routine - perfect for snuggling up and sharing.Cuddle up and snuggle tight.Close your eyes and say goodnight.A cosy group,A peaceful scene...EVERYBUNNY DREAM!Also look out for: Everybunny Dance and Everybunny Count!Praise for Follow Me: 'Lyrically written, Follow Me has a mesmeric quality that leaves you wanting to enjoy multiple consecutive readings. A real gem.' - Huffington PostFollow Ellie on Twitter at @elliesandall

Pat-a-Cake

Bath Time

Pat-a-Cake, Mojca Dolinar
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Mojca Dolinar
Orchard Books

The Snow Queen Classic Pop-up and Play

Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett
Contributors:
Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett
Orchard Books

Cinderella

Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Contributors:
Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle

A sumptuously illustrated retelling of the classic fairytale, Cinderella.Rediscover the magic of Cinderella and enter a world of enchantment and romance with this exquisite picture book retelling. Award-winning author Ursula Jones breathes new life into this enduring and best-loved fairytale with her characteristic blend of warmth, humour and charm. Paired with dazzlingly intricate illustrations, this is a wonderfully evocative, beautiful and contemporary edition of this timeless classic.

Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez

Join two intrepid explorers on the perfect day out - visiting a volcano! A brilliantly funny rhyming story from multi-award-winning author Andy Stanton, who was shortlisted for the 2018 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award for Danny McGee Drinks the Sea. Buckle up and jump on board for the funniest, most EXPLOSIVE picture book of the year - you'll want to read it again and again-o!Join two intrepid explorers as they take a train-o, jump on a plane-o, ride a Great Dane-o (down the lane-o) on their way to look at the volcano. Nothing could possibly go wrong - could it?!A hilariously anarchic, brightly illustrated rhyming story from multi-award-winning author Andy Stanton. Andy has won a string of awards for his Mr Gum books, including the Red House Children's Book Award, the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, and the Blue Peter Book Award for Best Book With Pictures (twice).Miguel Ordonez is the illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Your Baby's First Word Will Be Dada, written by Jimmy Fallon, the Emmy and Grammy award-winning host of NBC's The Tonight Show.

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Pirate

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East
Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

'An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times Mr Panda and his friends are getting ready for bed. But some won't brush their teeth, others won't have a bath, and one won't even wear pyjamas! It's down to Mr Panda to show them how to do bedtime properly. Steve Antony's Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 600,000 copies since it was first published.

Hodder Children's Books

Christmas Fairy Tale Mix-Up

Hilary Robinson, Jim Smith
Contributors:
Hilary Robinson, Jim Smith

Create your own hilarious festive fairy tales with this ingenious, split-page, spiral bound book. A follow-up to the bestselling Mixed up Fairy Tales illustrated by the creator of the much-loved Barry Loser.Oh no! Santa has got stuck down the chimney while delivering presents to The Three Little Pigs... Flip the flaps to create hundreds of mixed-up stories, featuring favourite Christmas and fairy tale characters. Includes: Santa Claus, Jack Frost, Cinderella, Snow White, The Christmas Fairy, The Three Bears and more!Praise for Mixed Up Fairy Tales: 'Variations enough for plenty of delightfully silly combinations.' - Guardian

Orchard Books

Classic Gift Slipcase

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child

This beautiful box set contains two classic Charlie and Lola picture books, from Children's Laureate Lauren Child. A perfect gift to introduce this much-loved pair to a new generation of fans! Contains the Kate Greenaway Medal winning I Will Not Never Eat a Tomato. An innovative and fun-filled book about fussy eating - guaranteed to make dinner time fun.Lola will not eat peas. In fact, she won't eat carrots, potatoes, mushrooms, eggs, sausages, cauliflower, cabbage or baked beans. And she will absolutely not ever NEVER eat a tomato. But when Charlie explains that peas are actually green drops from Greenland, and carrots are really orange twiglets from Jupiter, even Lola is tempted to clear her plate . . .And I Am Not Sleepy and I will Not Got To Bed - a brilliantly original story about the problem of tricky bedtimes.Charlie has this little sister Lola. Sometimes he has to try and get her to go to bed. This is a hard job because Lola likes to stay up late. Lola says, "I am not slightly sleepy at 6 or 7 or 8. I am still wide awake at 9 and not at all tired at 10, 11 and 12 and I will probably still be perky at even 13 o'clock in the morning."

Pat-a-Cake

First Writing

Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down

Give your children a head start at primary school with this essential wipe-clean activity book.A fun and engaging First Writing activity book that will give children a head start as they get to grips with handwriting at school. Designed to complement the National Curriculum, it gently introduces children to handwriting skills and equips parents with the tools and information needed to support them. The consultant-approved activities are fun to do and combined with funny pictures and silly jokes that children will love. The first steps to school success!This book includes: Carefully chosen practice words that increase a child's vocabulary. Directional instructions for right and left-handed children. Wipe-clean pen. Also available: First Phonics, First Numbers, First Day, First Phonics Flash Cards, Times Tables Flash Cards

Orchard Books

Giraffes Can't Dance Board Book

Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees

Number One bestseller Giraffes Can't Dance from author Giles Andreae has been delighting children for over 15 years. Gerald the tall giraffe would love to join in with the other animals at the Jungle Dance, but everyone knows that giraffes can't dance . . . or can they? A funny, touching and triumphant story about a giraffe who finds his own tune and confidence too, with joyful illustrations from Guy Parker Rees. This sturdy board book edition of the bestselling picture book will delight and entertain every toddler. ... wonderfully funny. - IndependentA fantastically funny and wonderfully colourful romp of a picture book. All toddlers should grow up reading this or hearing their parents read it aloud to them. - Daily Telegraph