Paul Harrison - Kenya - Hachette Children's Group

Kenya

By Paul Harrison

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Up-to-date information on countries.

Each title looks at each country through a variety of themes such as location, landscape and climate, population and health, settlements, family life, religion and beliefs, education and learning, employment and economy, industry and trade, farming and food, transport and communications, leisure and tourism and environment and wildlife.

Includes maps, statistics panels and simple graphs and charts; and a topic web showing links with this series to other subject areas.

Biographical Notes

Chris Ward is an experienced children's author and education consultant. He has been researching and writing about Kenya for over ten years.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750264112
  • Publication date: 24 Jun 2010
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole
Authors:
Steve Cole
Orchard Books

New Blood (1)

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Wren & Rook

Incredible Journeys: Discovery, Adventure, Danger, Endurance

Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Contributors:
Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies
Authors:
Justin Davies

This book STINKS . . . of monsters!When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous 3

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orchard Books

Scaredy-Dog

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Meet Emily Windsnap! Ordinary girl on land, magical mermaid in water... Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and oceans of adventure. A must-read for girls aged 8+.When Emily Windsnap's boyfriend Aaron is captured by pirates there's only one option - join a rival pirate crew and persuade them to help rescue him. The Pirate Prince agrees, as long as Emily assists in finding the Trident's Treasure first.But as if boarding a pirate ship weren't dangerous enough, Emily soon discovers that pirates hate mermaids. If her true identity is revealed, her life - and Aaron's - will be at risk.How will Emily keep her secret when the only way to win the treasure is by turning into a mermaid?

Orion Children's Books

Hangman's Crossing

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Animal Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Theatre Ghost

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Authors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton

A second, action-packed Secret Seven adventure by prize-winning author Pamela Butchart, brilliantly illustrated by Tony Ross. The Secret Seven are excited to be chosen as extras in a local play, but during the opening performances things go seriously wrong. Could someone be trying to sabotage? The cast and crew are adamant that a theatre ghost must be causing the mysterious accidents, but the Seven aren't convinced. It's up to the gang and their spaniel Scamper to find out who is really behind the mischief - and why! Set in the same world and time as the original stories by Enid Blyton, both Mystery of the Skull and this fantastic new book satisfyingly extent the series for fans old and new. Both stories are brought to life by Tony Ross's brilliant illustrations throughout. Join the Secret Seven for more mystery, excitement, friendship and FUN than ever before! Read all 15 stories in the original Secret Seven series ...Also look out for Secret Seven Brain Games - a fun and tricky puzzle book! *Enid Blyton ®, The Secret Seven ® and Enid Blyton's signature are registered trade marks of Hodder & Stoughton Limited. No trade mark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trade mark and copyright owner.

Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are helping out at Animal Ark when twin sisters come in with their pet hamster. The only thing the girls can agree on is that there's something wrong with their pet. Could the hamster's greedy brother be the problem?When the hamster escapes at the village Food Fair, Amelia and Sam enlist everyone to look for him. From big bigs to tiny hamsters, everyone needs their own space - even the twins!

Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The kingdom of Avantia is shocked by the return of the king's brother, Prince Angelo, believed killed in battle many years ago. But when he banishes Tom and Elenna from Avantia they travel to the Wildlands in search of the truth about Prince Angelo. First of all they must tackle Querzol, a man-eating mangrove tree! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Quercus Children's Books

The Last Life of Prince Alastor

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Franklin Watts

Vet

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon
Franklin Watts

Refuse Collector

Rachel Blount
Authors:
Rachel Blount

Ever wondered about the people who keep our streets clean and take away our rubbish? What is it like to work as a refuse collector? In this book you will meet our refuse collector - Tex - and travel with him on his rubbish truck to see what he does at work every day. Find out about the different equipment and vehicles refuse collectors use, how they stay safe at work and what happens to our rubbish once it has been collected.The Here to Help series of books are for very young readers aged 5 and upwards. The books follow real professionals around their place of work to give a flavour of what it means to work in a particular job.

Franklin Watts

The Seashore

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? Books that take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined together with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. Children will be inspired to take a closer look at objects and the world around them and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.The Seashore looks at some of the different habitats along the coast and the plants, animals and objects that you will find there. From sand lizards hiding in the sand dunes, to all sorts of shells, crustaceans and seabirds. Children will love discovering a bit more about this favourite location. The mixture of full-colour photographs and illustrations ensure maximum impact and levels of detail but without feeling overly educational - even though this book is brimming with scienceBooks that encourage KS1 readers to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.

Orchard Books

The Secret Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. JACK, RUBY AND DANNY FACE A DEADLY ROBOTIC FOE! RUBY'S MOTHER HAS VANISHED INTO THE DEPTHS OF THE JUNGLE. TO FIND HER, TEAM HERO MUST EXPLORE A NEW, VAST LANDSCAPE - AND DO BATTLE WITH A GIANT ROBOT! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Minibeasts

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley