Mick Gowar - Leapfrog World Tales: Issun Boshi - Hachette Children's Group

Leapfrog World Tales: Issun Boshi

By Mick Gowar
Illustrated by Cosei Kawa

  • Paperback
  • £3.99

Brightly illustrated stories from different cultures simply retold in under 180 words, perfect for newly independent readers.

Exciting stories from around the world told in fewer than 180 words, suitable for children who are starting to read independently. The series introduces readers to stories from other cultures and encourages them to find where the story comes from on a map.

This tale comes from Japan. Issun Boshi is a tiny boy, but he is very brave. He sets out to serve the emperor. Can he save the emperor's daughter from the evil ogre? The tale has echoes of Tom Thumb, another miniature hero with a gigantic heart!

Puzzles at the back of the book encourage children to reread and retell the story in their own words, and helps build vocabulary by matching words to characters.

Biographical Notes

Mick has written or edited more than 100 books for children and young people. He visits schools, libraries, colleges and festivals throughout the UK and abroad to give readings, performances and lead workshops.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749686017
  • Publication date: 10 Jun 2010
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

A Bite in the Night

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books. 'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)Rabbit is surprised: some of the trees in the valley seem to be flying south for the winter. His friend Bear is sure that trees can't fly.Then there's a loud CRUNCH! from Very Near By. It sounds like the world's largest rabbit, eating the world's largest carrot. There's a new creature in Rabbit and Bear's valley, and he's trying to Change Everything. From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, Progess, and all kinds of getting muddy.'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman

Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Contributors:
Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Orchard Books

Glitterhoof's Secret Garden

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Aisha and Emily as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Orchard Books

Sparklesplash and the Mermaid Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wren & Rook

How Did I Get Here?

This is the unathorised biography of you. Charting your incredible journey from Big Bang to birth (in about the time it takes to eat your breakfast), Philip Bunting's hilarious and one of a kind history of evolution was created to raise more questions than it answers. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Chris Haughton.

Wren & Rook

A Planet Full of Plastic

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Everything is made of stuff. Some things are made of paper, like this book. And some things are made of PLASTIC. If you look around you, plastic is everywhere. Even in places where it's not meant to be. If it drops to the ground, it doesn't rot away - it sticks around for ever.Our world is drowning in plastic, and it's a big problem. Award-winning author-illustrator Neal Layton is here to explain where plastic comes from, why it doesn't biodegrade, and why that's dangerous for animals and humans alike. But he's also FULL of ideas for how you can help! From giving up straws in juice cartons to recycling all we can and taking part in a beach clean, A Planet Full of Plastic will get young readers excited about how they can make a difference to keep Planet Earth happy.This brilliant non-fiction picture book, illustrated in Neal's trademark collage style, is perfect for readers aged 5-7 who love nature and want to help the environment.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Epic Sticker Book

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry: Up, Up and Away

Francesca Simon
Authors:
Francesca Simon
Franklin Watts

Coyote the Fire Thief

Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Contributors:
Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez

In this retelling of a native American myth, Coyote feels sorry for the helpless humans and steals fire to bring them warmth and comfort. But the humans are not grateful for her gift and use the fire against Coyote and the natural world.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

How Bear Lost His Tail

Mick Gowar, Andy Catling
Contributors:
Mick Gowar, Andy Catling
Orchard Books

Monica the Marshmallow Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

The Pest in the Nest

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books.'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)'PEACE AND QUIET,' shouts Rabbit. 'THAT'S ALL I WANT.'Owch. He's hurt his own ears again.What with Bear's snoring, and a BANG!BANG!BANG! noise from up in the tree, Rabbit knows that Something Simply Has To Be Done.But high in the branches, perhaps Bear can show Rabbit how to see the world from a different place ...From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, wisdom, and how to be REALLY NOISY.'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman*Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award and the Children's Book of the Year in the Irish Book Awards*

Wayland

You are Stardust

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Another brand-new Rainbow Magic story featuring YouTube star Tiana from Toys AndMe!Join Kirsty and Rachel for another adventure with Tiana the Toy Fairy! When Jack Frost steals Tiana's magical candy key, the magical Land of Sweets is under threat. Can the three friends get it back before Fairyland turns sour?

Orion Children's Books

The Loch Ness Monster Spotters

Tony De Saulles
Authors:
Tony De Saulles
Orchard Books

Molly Twinkletail

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

The much-loved series from the creator of Rainbow Magic - abridged for younger readers and illustrated in full colour!Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!On their second adventure, Lily and Jess are invited to the Friendship Forest fair! But Grizelda the witch wants to spoil everyone's fun and her servants, the Boggits, trick little Molly Twinkletail into running away from the party. It's up to the girls to find her - but where in Friendship Forest would a tiny mouse hide?

Orchard Books

Lucy Longwhiskers

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!On their first adventure in Friendship Forest, can the two friends rescue adorable baby bunny Lucy Longwhiskers from the wicked witch Grizelda?

Orchard Books

Ruby the Red Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Fern the Green Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! Join Rachel and Kirsty as they search a secret garden and a magical maze to try to find Fern the Green Fairy.

Hodder Children's Books

Rabbit's Bad Habits

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books. 'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)Bear wakes up early from hibernation. If she can't sleep, then at least she can make a snowman. Rabbit has never made a snowman, but he definitely wants to make one that's better than Bear's. But with an avalanche and a hungry wolf heading his way, Rabbit soon realises that it might be nice to have a friend on his side.From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, gravity, and just a little bit of poo. 'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman*Shortlisted for the Children's Book of the Year in the Irish Book Awards*