Margaret Nash - Toby and The Great Fire Of London - Hachette Children's Group

Toby and The Great Fire Of London

By Margaret Nash
Illustrated by Jane Cope

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Exciting new stories about famous people and great events by top authors.

Toby has forgotten a delivery for Mr Pepys, but as he sets out across London he sees the sky is full of flames!

Hopscotch Histories are brand new stories in historical settings, told in under 400 words, perfect for children who are building up their reading confidence. Carefully controlled text interacts with stunning artwork to help develop visual literacy.

Biographical Notes

Margaret Nash grew up in the industrial West Riding of Yorkshire, and, as a child, was always fascinated by a sense of place, whether in the mill or on the moors. She has worked as a children`s librarian in London and the home counties, has two grown-up sons, and now lives in rural Bedfordshire with a lazy lovable cat.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780749674106
  • Publication date: 14 Feb 2008
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Stories for Every Season

Enid Blyton, Becky Cameron
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Becky Cameron
Hodder Children's Books

Summer Adventure Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Set off on an outdoor adventure with this collection of 25 classic tales by the world's best-loved storyteller. The perfect holiday read for children aged 7 and up!From stolen dogs and disappearing necklaces to journeys to faraway lands, these fun-filled stories are packed full of mystery and adventure. Ideal for newly confident readers, these entertaining tales are the ideallength for reading aloud at bedtime or in the classroom. Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Read all of Enid Blyton's bestselling short story collections: Animal StoriesSpringtime StoriesSummertime StoriesSummer Holiday StoriesStories of Magic and MischiefStories of Wizards and WitchesChristmas TalesChristmas TreatsWinter Stories***Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Hodder Children's Books

Adventure of the Goblin Dog

Enid Blyton, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Mark Beech

Discover the magic! Travel to the top of the Magic Faraway Tree with Peter and Mary on their quest to rescue a princess.Explore Fairyland in this truly magical story, where you'll encounter the Goblin Dog, rescue a princess and visit the Land of Storytellers. This is an irresistible story for all who've ever stepped into the Enchanted Wood and a fantastic introduction to the Magic Faraway Tree stories for new readers. This story first appeared in 1936 and was made part of the Magic Faraway Tree world in 1952, featuring different children discovering the Faraway Tree. The Magic Faraway Tree series is one of Enid Blyton's best-loved and most enduring creations.***The Magic Faraway Tree ®, Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Old Friends New Battles

Ash and his friends from the Poké,on School are visiting his home region of Kanto. They're ready for lots of adventures!When they visit the Cerulean City Gym, Ash and Pikachu take on his old friend Misty and her Gyarados - who will win the mighty battle? Gotta catch 'em all!

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: The Ultimate Collector Card Edition

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Hike

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Henry absolutely, positively HATES hiking...so when his parents force him on a family hike, he'll do whatever it takes to make it miserable for everyone else too...A hilarious and horrid Early Reader from bestselling author Francesca Simon, and illustrator Tony Ross.

Orchard Books

The Pug Who Wanted to Be a Unicorn

Bella Swift
Authors:
Bella Swift

Always be yourself. Unless you can be a unicorn . . . When she's abandoned just before Christmas, Peggy the pug puppy is taken in by a foster family with a unicorn-mad little girl named Chloe. Her older brother, Finn, doesn't little dogs. And Chloe wants a unicorn for Christmas, not a puppy. Believing that anything is possible, Peggy decides that she will somehow turn into a unicorn to make her new friends happy. All she needs is a long silky mane, a glowing horn, and the ability to do magic! Easy-peasy, right? But all of Peggy's attempts to turn into a unicorn go hilariously wrong. From knocking over the Christmas tree to getting lost in the snow and accidentally stealing the show at the nativity play, Peggy remains a pug. How will she ever find a forever home if she can't change who she is?

Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with book three of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.Now with a stunning new cover and exclusive bonus material: The Demon in the Wood (a Darkling prequel story) and a Q&A with Leigh Bardugo. Soldier. Summoner. Saint.The nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.The Darkling rules from his shadow throne while a weakened Alina Starkov recovers from their battle under the dubious protection of the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Now her hopes lie with the magic of a long-vanished ancient creature and the chance that an outlaw prince still survives.As her allies and enemies race toward war, only Alina stands between her country and a rising tide of darkness that could destroy the world. To win this fight, she must seize a legend's power - but claiming the firebird may be her ruin. Read all the books in the Grishaverse! The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy) Shadow and Bone Siege and Storm Ruin and Rising The Six of Crows Duology Six of Crows Crooked Kingdom The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Orchard Books

Shelley the Sherbet Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wayland

I Don't Care - Learning About Respect

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses
Wayland

I Feel Jealous

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon

Young children experience many confusing emotions in their early years and I feel Jealous looks at the emotion jealousy, in light-hearted but ultimately reassuring way. This picture book examines how and why people get jealous, illustrates scenarios of people behaving in a jealous way, and the best way tocope with it with age-appropriate content.Ideal for home or the classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with jealousy.Filled with colourful illustrations by the every-popular, award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.

Wayland

Being a Bee

Jinny Johnson, Lucy Davey
Contributors:
Jinny Johnson, Lucy Davey

Wayland

Proud to be Deaf

Ava Beese, Lilli Beese, Nick Beese, Romina Martí
Contributors:
Ava Beese, Lilli Beese, Nick Beese, Romina Martí

A wonderful child-led book that celebrates Deaf culture and introduces readers to British Sign LanguageMarvellously positive and encouraging throughout, this would be a useful addition to any primary school or public library, as well as being useful to help any child understand a little more about their deaf peers. - The CarouselAva is like any other 7-year-old. She likes to talk and laugh with her friends, is obsessed with dogs and loves being active. Ava is also deaf - and she's proud of it. She loves her Deaf community, that she's bilingual, and that she experiences the world differently from hearing people. In this book, Ava welcomes her hearing peers to her daily life, the way technology helps her navigate the world and explains common misconceptions about deaf people - and introduces some of her deaf heroes who have achieved amazing things. She talks about her experiences at school making friends with hearing children, and teaches readers the BSL alphabet and BSL phrases. Featuring photos of Ava, her friends and family throughout, plus illustrations of hand signs.

Hodder Children's Books

Claude Going for Gold!

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Deep Sea Dive

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Team T. Rex

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard

Frankie and his team love playing football. There's always time for a game. And now that they have their magical football they're playing against teams they never imagined!While on holiday at a summer camp, Frankie, Charlie, Louise and Max the dog are transported to a prehistoric land of dinosaurs. Can they reunite a baby pterodactyl with its mum, and avoid being eaten by a hungry T-Rex? The friends will need to use all their football skills to get home in one piece!

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Great Santa Race

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard

Frankie and his team love playing football. There's always time for a game, even when it's Christmas!It looks like it's not going to be a white Christmas for Frankie and his friends. But then the magic football accidentally awakens an evil penguin, who wants to create a snowy winter that will never end! Can Frankie and the team stop him before it's too late for a very special Santa to enter the Great Santa Race?

Hodder Children's Books

More Wishing-Chair Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

A classic children's story from one of the world's best-loved children's authors, Enid Blyton - be whisked away by these magical Wishing-Chair stories.Mollie and Peter are home for the mid-term break, and Chinky and the Wishing-Chair are ready to whisk them away to magical lands. They'll meet brownies, visit the Land of Wishes and even find gold at the end of the rainbow. But best of all will be helping Santa Claus deliver presents for Christmas!First published in 2000, this edition contains inside illustrations by Rene Cloke and the cover is by Mark Beech.

Franklin Watts

Bob's Bobble Hat

Margaret Nash
Authors:
Margaret Nash
Wayland

It's Not Fair

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

Young children experience many confusing emotions in their early years and It's Not Fiar looks at the situations where children feel they have been treated unfairly, in light-hearted but ultimately reassuring way. This picture book examines how and why people find situations unfair, illustrates scenarios of people acting out because of this, and the best way to deal with it with age-appropriate content.Ideal for home or the classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with situations when things feel unfair.