A. L. Tait - Race To The End Of The World - Hachette Children's Group

Race To The End Of The World

Mapmaker Chronicles Book 1

By A. L. Tait

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Adventure and danger lie just off the edge of the map in this swashbuckling new trilogy!

A map of the world? Why did the King need one of those? Besides, everyone knew that if you went too far in either direction you'd fall off the edge, and if that didn't kill you Genesi the dragon of death would be waiting.

The King is determined to discover what lies beyond the known world, and has promised a handsome prize to the ship's captain who can bring him a map of the whole globe. To do that, they'll need mapmakers - and 14-year-old Quinn is shocked to be one of the chosen. While his older brothers long for adventure, Quinn is content with a quiet life on the farm, but when word of his special talent gets out, he has no choice but to pack his bags and join the mismatched crew of slaves and stowaways on board the Libertas.

The other competitors will do anything to win, but the greatest danger may come from the strange sea monster hot on their tail or the mysterious unchartered lands for which they are bound. Nobody knows what lies off the edge of the map, but Quinn is about to find out that it's more than anyone bargained for . . .

Biographical Notes

A.L. Tait grew up dreaming of world domination. Unfortunately, at the time there were only alphabet sisters B.L. and C.A. and long-suffering brother M.D.M. to practise on ... and parents who didn't look kindly upon sword fights, plank-walking or thumbscrews. But dreams don't die and THE MAPMAKER CHRONICLES, the author's first series of books for children, is the result. A.L. lives in country New South Wales with a family, a garden and four goldfish. A.L. Tait writes fiction and non-fiction for adults under another name.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780734415776
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Not since Emily Rodda's Deltora Quest series has there been such an exciting adventure tale from an Australian author. — Readings
Not since Emily Rodda's Deltora Quest series has there been such an exciting adventure tale from an Australian author. — Readings
Review and giveaway — Queensland Times
a story of bravery, courage and mystery. — Townsville Bulletin
Quercus Children's Books

The Magician's Library (wt)

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday

1945. They have survived the Blitz, but when Simon, Patricia, Evelyn and Larry step through a magical library door, they walk into an enchanted kingdom of fresh adventure and danger. A bewitching wonderland of fairies, bears and tree gods, which is now under threat from the mysterious silver robots of the Unreads. The many stories of the Library are locked in eternal war, and the children's only hope is to find the mysterious Librarian. What they discover will change not just their own lives but the fate of the world forever... 'One of the best writers for children working today'The Guardian

Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at self-esteem and how it's possible to change it. It deals with issues such as a healthy body image, peer pressure, celebrity culture and bullying and provides lots of practical advice for young people dealing with low self-esteem.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Sticker Scenes Book

Gotta catch 'em all! The ultimate sticker scenes book for Pokémon fans everywhereALL YOUR POKÉMON FAVOURITES IN THIS NEW STICKER SCENES BOOK!Enjoy hours of fun with nine new Pokémon scenes for you to explore in this jam-packed sticker book. With over 100 stickers, this is the ultimate sticker book for Pokémon fans everywhere. Eevee, Jigglypuff, Pikachu, Meowth, Charmander - they're all in here! Join thousands of Pokémon fans as you truly immerse yourself in the Pokémon universe. Gotta catch 'em all!

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Worlds Collide

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

The epic conclusion to Chris Colfer's No.1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories! In the highly anticipated finale, Conner and Alex must brave the impossible. All of the Land of Stories fairy tale characters - heroes and villains - are no longer confined within their world!With mayhem brewing in the Big Apple, Conner and Alex will have to win their biggest battle yet. Can the twins restore order between the human and fairy-tale world? Breathtaking action mixed with laugh-out-loud moments and lots of heart will make this a gripping conclusion for fans old and new.

Orion Children's Books

The Ones That Disappeared

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Prisoner of the Black Hawk

A. L. Tait
Authors:
A. L. Tait
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Breath of the Dragon

A. L. Tait
Authors:
A. L. Tait
Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia hasfulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terriblelies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

Hodder Children's Books

Claudine at St Clare's

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Pony in the Porch

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Animal Ark is the veterinary surgery run by Mandy Hope's parents, and if there are animals to be protected and cared for, then Mandy is always there to help.The only thing Mandy likes about stuck-up Susan Collins is Prince - her pony. Susan is determined to win at showjumping, but at what cost? Could Prince be in danger? Can Mandy rescue him before it's too late? PONY IN THE PORCH is one of the all-time best-loved ANIMAL ARK stories. Have you read them all?

Hodder Children's Books

Bunnies in the Bathroom

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Animal Ark is the veterinary surgery run by Mandy Hope's parents. If there are animals to be protected or looked after, Mandy is always there to help.Mandy's new friend John is crazy about rabbits! He's got his heart set on Button and Barney, two baby rabbits in the local pet shop. But when he goes to buy them, they've already been sold! Mandy and James decide to track down the new owner and try to get the bunnies back ...BUNNIES IN THE BATHROOM is one of the best-loved ANIMAL ARK stories. Have you read them all?

Hodder Children's Books

Guinea-pig in the Garage

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Children's Books

A Room Full of Chocolate

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Who would believe that a kid at a sleepover could be a spy? CHERUB: Dark Sun is a short novel aimed at new readers to CHERUB, originally written for World Book Day and now made available in print again by popular demand! To go with it are three stories never before seen in print: The Switch, CHERUB at Christmas and Kerry's First Mission. For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Hodder Children's Books

Animal Ark Pets Christmas Collection

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

The Animal Ark Pets is the younger sister of Animal Ark - they are shorter novels, with more illustrations, but they still feature Mandy and James and all the regulars at Animal Ark. KITTEN KISSES - Can Mandy find a home for an abandoned kitten found in the snow?PETS' PARTY - How can Mandy and James stop a playful pup from being sent away at Christmas?SPANIEL SURPRISE - the exciting story of the search for the perfect pet ...

Hodder Children's Books

Alex, the Walking Accident

Ian Whybrow, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Ian Whybrow, Tony Ross
Hodder Children's Books

The Knights Of The Brown Table

Ian Whybrow, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Ian Whybrow, Tony Ross

Ben's in trouble again! The local gamekeeper's on the warpath. And who does he blame but Sniff, Ben's faithful dog! It sounds like a quest for the Knights of the Brown Table. After all, they can't let all that knightly training go to waste ...From football to go karting, and real heroes and aliens, Books for Boys are packed with high action, adventure and humour, ideal for turning reluctant boy readers into lifelong bookworms. Ideal for fans of HARRY AND THE DINOSAURS who are ready to move on to chapter books.

Hodder Children's Books

Kittens in Chaos

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels