John Marsden - So Much To Tell You - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

So Much To Tell You

25th Anniversary Edition

By John Marsden

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

This remarkable novel, now an established classic, is based on a true story. It was awarded the Children's Book Council Book of the Year Award in 1988, the Victorian Premier's Award, the 1989 Koala Award and the Christopher Medal (USA), as well as being selected by the American Library Association as a Best Book for Young Adults. It has also been widely translated.

'I don't know what I'm doing here. Well, I do really . I have been sent here to learn to talk again. Sent here because my mother can't stand my silent presence at home. Sent here because of my face .'

She watches; she dreams. She sees more than they realise. She has worries and fears, hopes and desires. She is troubled; she is angry. Above all, she is lonely. She may be someone you know. She may be you. In SO MUCH TO TELL YOU she tells her story - with humour and insight, with sensitivity and strength, with painful honesty. You will never forget her.

Biographical Notes

John Marsden is Australia's most popular writer of young adult fiction. His books have sold more than a million copies worldwide and he has won, or been short-listed for, every major award for young adult literature in Australia, including the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year, the National Children's Book awards and numerous children's choice awards. The gripping war series, which began with TOMORROW WHEN THE WAR BEGAN, has broken all sales records for young adult fiction and was recently released as a feature film. SO MUCH TO TELL YOU, originally published in 1987, was his first young adult novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780734413291
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 144
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
'Marsden's work is stunning. Its impact is permanent. Must read.' — ENGLISH JOURNAL (USA)
Hodder Children's Books

Love, Secret Santa

Sareeta Domingo
Authors:
Sareeta Domingo
Franklin Watts

Black History Matters

Robin Walker
Authors:
Robin Walker

Black history matters, today and always.An important and hard-hitting account of the history of black people, looking at African kingdoms, slavery, apartheid, the battle for civil rights and much more. Important and inspiring black personalities, from Olaudah Equiano to Oprah Winfrey, are highlighted throughout, while achievements and progress are balanced alongside a look at the issues that continue to plague black communities. #Blacklivesmatter is a powerful international movement, designed to raise awareness of and end ongoing injustice towards black people. This book is designed to connect with that movement and offer an important resource for all young readers during Black History Month and beyond.

Hodder Children's Books

The Chosen

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

In a world far from our own, where enemies come in many forms, the ultimate battle for survival is about to begin ... An epic new trilogy from the bestselling author of the Summoner series.CADE CARTER IS LOSTConvicted of a crime he didn't commit, Cade is facing a year in reform school when he finds himself suddenly transported to another realm.BUT THIS NEW WORLD IS NO ESCAPEPopulated by bloodthirsty prehistoric creatures and fierce warriors, Cade's surroundings are full of danger. Along with his fellow students, Cade is forced to become a contender in a deadly game of the highest stakes, controlled by invisible overlords.Who are these brutal rulers, and why did they choose Cade? Before he can find answers, Cade must get ready to fight ...BECAUSE IN THIS GAME, FAILURE IS NOT AN OPTION

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Home and Away

John Marsden, Matt Ottley
Contributors:
John Marsden, Matt Ottley
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Nits

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Quercus Children's Books

The Other Side of Dawn

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden
Quercus Children's Books

The Night is for Hunting

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden

A year of war. A year of terror. And a year of loss. Twelve months have passed since the invasion. Ellie has lost friends, she has taken many lives and she is still as disgusted by violence as she is determined to stand up to the invaders. Now the friends find themselves back in their sanctuary of Hell, caring for a band of feral children whose lives have been destroyed by the war. Meanwhile, the conflict intensifies and the enemy draws closer...

Quercus Children's Books

Burning for Revenge

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden

'If only our country hadn't been invaded. If only we could have carried on the way we used to, watching other people's wars on television.' Ellie and her friends are more determined than ever to make an impact on the enemy. But the constant fighting is beginning to take its toll on the group. Kevin is suffering an emotional breakdown, and the friendship that has kept the gang together for so long is under strain. And while there is no time for love in a time of war, Ellie can't forget her feelings for Lee... A tale of relentless action and gripping intensity from one of the world's best storytellers. (Book 5 of The Tomorrow Series.)

Quercus Children's Books

Darkness Be My Friend

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Rainy Day

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Quercus Children's Books

The Third Day, The Frost

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden

Ellie and her friends have achieved more than they ever thought possible as an unarmed bunch of amateur teenage fighters. But it's not enough. The war wages on, their families are in captivity and their country is on its knees. Hiding back in Hell, the friends face a big question: what to do next? The gang have another success when they manage to rescue Kevin. He returns to them equipped with a new knowledge of explosives. Suddenly the question of what to do next becomes clear - launch an attack on the major enemy target of Cobblers' Bay.Can Ellie, Homer, Fi, Robin, Lee and Kevin really stage a major military attack on the enemy? And in their attempt to pull it off, what will they have to sacrifice? They have already lost Corrie and Chris; who else will the group have to lose in their desperation to defend their country? The Third Day, The Frost, draws the reader deeper into the struggle of these ordinary teens attempting to survive in extraordinary times. A tense and moving read that will stay with you forever.

Quercus Children's Books

The Dead of the Night

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden
Quercus Children's Books

Tomorrow When the War Began

John Marsden
Authors:
John Marsden

'Compulsively readable' New York TimesSomewhere out there Ellie and her friends are hiding.Their country has been invaded. Everyone they know has been captured. Their world has changed overnight.They've got no weapons - except courage.They've got no help - except themselves.They've got nothing - except friendship.How strong could you be, if the world was full of people trying to kill you?Fans of Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins and Michael Grant - prepare to be hooked by the Tomorrow series.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Hilariously Horrid Joke Book

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Early Reader: Horrid Henry Gets Rich Quick

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

David Melling

David Melling has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal, the Smarties Book Award and the Independent Booksellers Award. His Hugless Douglas books have sold over 1.4 million copies worldwide, and the loveable brown bear has starred in a World Book Day book as well as his own theatre show. Before becoming an internationally acclaimed author-illustrator, David worked as an animation artist for films including the much-loved Father Christmas by Raymond Briggs. One of his most popular picture books The Tale of Jack Frost was animated and shown on BBC1 on Christmas Day.

David Roberts

David Roberts is a hugely successful illustrator who has illustrated books by Philip Ardagh, Julia Donaldson, Jacqueline Wilson and Chris Priestley. He's also the creator of Dirty Bertie and the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling artist of picture books IGGY PECK, ARCHITECT and ROSIE REVERE, ENGINEER. David lives in London.

Eleanor Hawken

Eleanor Hawken has a degree in Philosophy, and worked as a children's books editor in London and in Bath. She was also part of the team that established the Bath Festival of Children's Literature. She devised the fiction series Will Solvit and has written books under the pseudonym Zed Storm. Eleanor lives in Surrey.

Emily Bolam

Born in Amersham Buckinghamshire into a family of artists and other creative types, Emily has always flourished in art classes and decided she would like to be an artist when she was 5. She attended Brighton school of Art 1987-1990 and continues to live in the town working from a converted warehouse studio close to the beach. Despite spending all day drawing both, Emily has no children or animals. When not thinking of the next book she likes to watch the world perambulate along Brighton seafront whilst eating icecream. Emily has been widely published by Orchard, Macmillian, Orion and DK.Emily Bolam trained at Brighton Art College and is a very successful illustrator of children's books, among them Francesca Simon's MIAOW MIAOW, BOW WOW and MOO BAA BAA QUACK, and Georgie Adams's THE THREE LITTLE WITCHES. She lives and works in Brighton.Her website can be found at http://www.emilybolam.com/

Emma Chichester Clark

Emma Chichester Clark trained at the Chelsea College of Art and The Royal College of Art before becoming a full-time illustrator. She was awarded the Mother Goose Award in 1988 as the most promising newcomer to children's book illustration. She has since illustrated a number of picture books and collections for Orchard Books, Andersen Press, Pavilion and Methuen.For Orchard Emma illustrated The Orchard Book of Greek Myths in 1992 and in 1997 The Orchard Book of Greek Gods and Goddesses. Both books have been retold by award-winning writer Geraldine McCaughrean, who has retold a number of the Orchard Collections. Emma's lively illustrations perfectly match the magic of the stories which bring characters of Ancient Greece strikingly to life. Emma was also chosen to be one of eight artists to illustrate The Orchard Book of Opera Stories retold by Adèle Geras which was published last Autumn to much acclaim.In 1998 Emma has joined forces with major poet and playwright, Adrian Mitchell, to illustrate his retelling of Robin Hood in The Adventures of Robin Hood and Maid Marian published in June.Emma has also written and illustrated a number of her own books, including Tea with Aunt Augusta, Miss Bilberry's New House and Little Miss Muppet Counts to Ten. She also illustrated some collections written by Laura Cecil including A Thousand Yards of Sea (Methuen), and has recently illustrated Thumbelina (Pavilion) and Little Red Riding Hood (Macdonald Young Books). Emma lives in Fulham in South West London, and has featured in the Illustrators Hall of Fame in The Mail on Sunday with other illustrators including Quentin Blake, Michael Foreman, Shirley Hughes, Anthony Browne and Raymond Briggs.