Robert Hoge - Ugly (younger readers) - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Ugly (younger readers)

By Robert Hoge

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A beaut story about one very ugly kid.
Biographical Notes

Robert Hoge has worked as a journalist, a speechwriter, a science communicator for the CSIRO and a political advisor to the former Queensland Premier and Deputy Premier. He has had numerous short stories, articles, interviews and other works published in Australia and overseas. He also enjoys photography, disability advocacy and social engagement. While he never got far with his professional lawn bowls career, Robert did carry the Olympic torch in 2000. He is married and lives in Brisbane.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780733634338
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 160
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Review + giveaway — Queensland Times
Robert defies assumptions about disability and is an inspiration to all children - be they disabled or not... This is a wonderfully accessible memoir with a great message at its heart and is something that every child or adult should read. — Tristan Bancks
Review + Giveaway — Queensland Times
It will help you see past the outside and into the inside, where you will see a beauty of emotion, intellect and humour far, far more precious than any outer skin deep beauty that will change and fade with time... a must for every school library. — Creative Kids Tales
I cried on buses and trains reading this, but also couldn't help but smile at this plucky kid, who had such a tough beginning, and who has achieved so much. — ABC Kids Book Reviews
Reveiw — Words Read and Written
Review — Janet Croft Book Reviews
Review — Weekend Australian

This is an incredible story - of not only a wonderful human being but an exceptional family.

Do yourself a favour and read it. Better still put this on your shelves! The Younger Reader version is eminently suitable for readers of around 10 and up.

— Just So Stories blog

It has taken me a while to get to review this Younger
Readers' version of Robert Hoge's successful memoir. My Year 8
students have been working on an English task which was to research
and write a feature article about an inspirational hero and one of my
young ladies had chosen Robert because she had started reading his
memoir. I had just received this review copy so handed it to her in
case she might find it helpful as well. Not only does the book come
with her recommendation, she was so delighted that Robert
responded to her email to him and she has been able to ask him
questions directly. What a generous human! Thank you Robert you
provided this wonderful young girl with an amazing learning
experience!
Today I spent a very pleasant hour or so reading this funny and moving, honest and
courageous recollection of growing up as the 'ugly' kid. Robert's story is by now pretty well
known to many adults who have either learned about his life via the book or the media but
this new edition will bring his inspirational story to a whole new readership.
When Robert was born with severe physical problems including a large facial tumour, his
family's life changed in many respects but not in the most important aspect. They were still
a loving, supportive unit who when faced with a challenge rose to it with an admirable and
enviable ease.
But let's not make light of this. This is an incredible story of
not only a wonderful human being but an exceptional family.
Do yourself a favour and read it. Better still put this on your shelves! The Younger Reader
version is eminently suitable for readers of around 10 and up.

— ReadPlus
A moving, non-sentimental lesson in self-acceptance, personal strength and endurance, told frankly, simply and with easy humour. — Northern Rivers Echo, Daily Mercury, Northern Star, Coffs Coast Advocate, Queensland Times, Fraser Coast Chronicle, Toowoomba Chronicle, News Mail, Gladstone Observer, Morning Bulletin
Wayland

Adventure Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson

Wayland

Game Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson

Orchard Books

My Little Pony Winter Wonderland Creative Colouring

Discover a world of winter enchantment in this intricate My Little Pony creative colouring book.Get creative, and colour your way through a magical winter wonderland, meeting all your favourite My Little Pony friends along the way. With 64 pages of stunningly detailed patterns and a shimmering foiled cover, this is the perfect seasonal gift for all My Little Pony fans!

Orchard Books

Twilight Sparkle to the Rescue

Orchard Books

Go, Rainbow Dash!

An adorable board book story featuring favourite My Little Pony characters.When Rainbow Dash joins the Wonderbolts flying team, her mum and dad are her biggest fans. They cheer her on at every Wonderbolts event (sometimes very loudly!) At first Rainbow Dash is a bit embarassed ... but she soon realises just how much they mean to her!This fun story about the special relationship between parent and child is perfect for sharing with even the littlest of pony fans.

Wayland

Resting and Sleeping

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft

How much sleep do I need? What happens when I sleep? Why do I dream? Will screen time affect my sleep? Why should I rest? The answers to these and many other questions about resting and sleeping can be discovered in this lively and informative series. The topics of fitness and fun are complemented by charming and humorous illustrations. This book is designed for children to begin to learn about the importance of being healthy, and the ways in which we can look after our bodies to keep fit and well. At the back are notes for parents and teachers that provide additional advice and support as well as further activity ideas and information.These titles support the science curriculum at Key Stage One and Key Stage 2, as well as PSHCE topics.The Healthy Me series is aimed at children aged from 5 and up to explain how people can keep fit and be healthy, forming habits that will last a life time. Other titles in the series are: Exercise and Play, Keeping Clean, Eating Well, Keeping Safe, Taking Medicines.

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Franklin Watts

Create Your Own Story with Scratch

Kevin Wood
Authors:
Kevin Wood
Franklin Watts

Journeys

Caryn Jenner
Authors:
Caryn Jenner
Franklin Watts

Create Computer Games with Scratch

Kevin Wood
Authors:
Kevin Wood
Franklin Watts

Ten Trucks

Chris Oxlade
Authors:
Chris Oxlade
Franklin Watts

Ten Tractors and Farm Machines

JP Percy
Authors:
JP Percy
Orion Children's Books

Early Reader: Emily Mouse's Christmas

Vivian French, Mark Marshall
Contributors:
Vivian French, Mark Marshall

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Emily Mouse is having her friends over for Christmas dinner, but she's left her shopping until the last minute. When she gets to the shops on Christmas Eve, everything is gone! It will take some Christmas kindness for Emily's dinner to go to plan, but is there any to be found? Join Emily Mouse in some festive fun with this charming blue Early Reader from bestselling author, Vivian French and illustrated by Mark Marshall.

Hodder Children's Books

Everybunny Count!

Ellie Sandall
Authors:
Ellie Sandall
Hodder Children's Books

Knight Tales

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

From the bestselling creator of Hugless Douglas, this classic collection features three stories in one and is filled with quests, magic, humour and bedtime kisses.The king is in a hurry and blows his son a bedtime kiss... but it misses. The kiss flies out of the window and a brave knight and his horse are sent on a quest to bring it back. This loveable duo find themselves heading on more quests in their other adventures. David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his stories combine brilliantly imaginative illustrations and unforgettable characters.Includes:The Kiss That MissedGood Knight Sleep TightThe Three Wishes'Melling's illustrations are as snazzy and snappy as his prose.' Guardian

Wayland

the Cold War?

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book looks at how and why World War I was born out of the longstanding rivalries and feuds between European nations, at home and across their overseas empires, and how the conflict sucked in imperial and colonial troops from around the world. It examines the legacy of the the war, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as the rise of fascism and totalitarian rule, and the good things, including developments in medicine and plastic surgery, enhanced aeroplane technology and advances in suffrage and equality for women.

Wayland

Ocean Animals

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim
Franklin Watts

My Body

Caryn Jenner
Authors:
Caryn Jenner

Your body has lots of different parts. Why not make a jigsaw puzzle of your body, use a mirror to draw your face or help a poorly teddy?Learning through play helps children make sense of their world. The 'Play and Discover' series is perfect for developing their natural curiosity. There is lots to talk about and great ideas for creative play. Each book includes notes for parents and teachers with further activity ideas.

Franklin Watts

A Walk From Our Island School

Deborah Chancellor
Authors:
Deborah Chancellor