Garry Disher - The Bamboo Flute - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Bamboo Flute

By Garry Disher

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

. Extensive backlist promotion with dumpbins, posters and bookmarks
. Producing a sampler for the trade market with information about the author, extracts from the books and reviews. Teachers notes added to sampler for education market.
. All books have been rejacketed and branded to give them a distinctive and stylish 'Garry Disher' look
. The Bamboo Flute has sold over 55,000 copies and been reprinted eleven times. It won the 1993 CBC Book of the Year Award, was shortlisted for the NSW Premier's Award, and voted one of USA's Publisher's Weekly magazine's top fifty books in 1993
. Garry Disher is a high-profile, award-winning and bestselling author, with books published in the US, Denmark, Holland, Italy, UK, France and South America
. The acquisition of The Bamboo Flute, Ermyntrude Takes Charge (renamed Good One, Erm), Ratface, Restless and Walk Twenty, Run Twenty brings all of Garry Disher's children's titles to Hodder
. Author available for interview

Twelve-year-old Paul is conscious of the troubled spirits of the people about him, especially his father. Paul is a solitary boy, interested in music. He has few friends because he lives on a farm. The town kids and the teacher ignore him or tease him.
One day Paul encounters a tramp, Eric the Red, camped on the farm. Eric shows him how to make a flute from bamboo. Paul's mother is sympathetic, but Paul knows that he can't tell his father what he's doing. His teacher later confiscates the flute before he can finish it, but he sets out to make another, in secret.

Meanwhile, the district is on the lookout for Eric the Red, accusing him of sheep stealing. Will Paul have the courage to stand up for him, revealing his link with Eric?
First published in 1992, THE BAMBOO FLUTE was Garry Disher's first novel for children. It is an evocative story of hardship, hope, respect and recognition set during the Depression.

Biographical Notes

Garry Disher is one of Australia's best-known authors. He worked as a writing lecturer between the years 1980 and 1988, before becoming a full-time writer. He has published over forty books, including The Divine Wind (shortlisted for the 1999 CBC Book of the Year for Older Readers), The Apostle Bird, From Your Friend, Louis Deane (a CBC Notable Book) and Moondyne Kate.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780733615887
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
'From its exquisite opening line to the moving finale, this elegantly delineated tale never strikes a false note. Disher is a gifted writer. [An] evocative, emotionally charged coming-of-age story. The only downside to this book is its brevity. Like a particularly savoury appetizer, it simply whets the reader's appetite for more.' — Publisher’s Weekly, US
Wren & Rook

Rebel Voices

Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight
Contributors:
Louise K Stewart, Eve Lloyd Knight

A beautifully illustrated celebration of the brave campaigners who fought for women's right to vote. Discover that it was never illegal for women to vote in Ecuador, or how 40,000 Russian women marched through St Petersburg demanding their rights. Find out how one Canadian woman changed opinions with a play, and Kuwaiti women protested via text message. And learn that women climbed mountains, walked a lion through the streets of Paris, and starved themselves, all in the name of having a voice. Tracing its history from New Zealand at the end of the 19th century, follow this empowering movement as it spread from Oceania to Europe and the Americas, then Africa and Asia up to the present day. Meet the women who rioted, rallied and refused to give up. Stunningly illustrated by Eve Lloyd Knight, this book celebrates the women who refused to behave, rebelling against convention to give women everywhere a voice.If you loved Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls, Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World or Women in Science then you'll love this!

Orchard Books

Star Science

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hounds and Hauntings

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham
Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

Ruby's stunning adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.11-year-old Ruby is on a mission to rescue her best friend Fei, who has been kidnapped by dark forces at the heart of Shanghai: but the world she lives in is driven with danger and fear, and since the death of her brother, Ruby has had a new problem - she can see ghosts. On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, and in and out of the Otherworld, Ruby must find her friend, before she loses herself...

Orchard Books

Fight for the Hidden City

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Scorpion Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Falcon of Fury

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Wayland

Sea and Sky Monsters

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Orchard Books

Rise of the Shadow Snakes

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orion Children's Books

Silent Enemy and The Walk of Death

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Orchard Books

Midnight Feast

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses! Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Verak the Storm King

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Don't miss this new bumper special edition of the bestselling series, in which our heroes return to the realm of Gwildor to battle an old enemy and a terrifying new sea Beast - Verak the Storm King!Have you read any other Beast Quest books? Grymon the Biting Horror is a great place to find more adventures!

Franklin Watts

Frankenstein

Mary Shelley
Authors:
Mary Shelley
Franklin Watts

This Little Pebble

Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland
Contributors:
Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Encyclopedia Special Edition: With Exclusive Board Game and Figurine

Gotta catch 'em all! The ultimate guide to the Pokémon animated series - featuring exclusive bonus content!This fantastic Official Encyclopedia Special Edition contains:- Fascinating facts and figures about Pokémon and all the different regions- The definitive reference for key characters, battles and places- Ash's story, his friends ... and enemies!- Pikachu figurine- Exclusive RACE TO PIKACHU board game

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart
Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura

A wonderful new anthology of poems by winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, 2016 Do trianglesever get into a tangle when their sides meet their angles?A wonderful new children's poetry collection, from a celebrated, award-winning poet.From nature and science to identity and inclusion, prepare to be transported on a journey through past and present. This collection from John Agard, winner of the Queens Medal and the Eleanor Farjeon Award, explores the wonders of the world - inviting your child to ponder life's questions with lots of fun along the way!

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Ultimate Creative Colouring