Gary Crew - The Blue Feather - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Blue Feather

By Gary Crew

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

There's a myth in Esperance that's been around for years, apparently going as far back as the arrival of the first Europeans. Locals think there's a huge bird, big enough to carry away adult humans . . .

BLUE FEATHER is a stunningly crafted mystery from one of Australia's most awarded writers, Gary Crew.

Recurring rumours of attacks by a giant raptor lead Greg Muir to seek the truth behind the bird's existence. Is it big enough to bring down a light plane? Can it carry away human beings in its talons? Is it responsible for the mutilation of a hang-glider?

A quest for a creature as fearful as it is elusive . . . Is the story of the huge bird only a myth, or is it reality? And if it is a reality, what part will it play in shaping the lives of those who search for it?

A beautifully crafted novel . . . Fully satisfying. - HERALD SUN

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780733610752
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Hodder Children's Books

Songs About a Girl 3

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell

Music, boy bands, first love and heartbreak in the explosive finale to the Songs About A Girl trilogy - a modern love story for anyone who has ever dreamed of being 'with the band'. From a Zoella Book Club friend.Just as Charlie allows herself to succumb to Gabe's charms, the explosive revelation about her mother's death threatens to pull them apart.Meanwhile, a media circus has exploded around Olly and Fire&Lights: What made Olly walk out? And what future does this leave for the band? As Olly begins his solo career, Fire&Lights announce a US tour and a new band member. Knowing that her mother's last days were in America touring with her band, Charlie is determined to accompany the boys on tour so that she can get to the bottom of her mother's death, once and for all.When Olly's first single clashes with Fire&Lights's latest release, a race for top of the charts begins ... and as Charlie begins to uncover the truth, will she finally be able to follow her heart? It's time to face the music ...'Sweet, sensitive and a joy to read ...' Non Pratt, author of Remix and Unboxed

Orchard Books

Evolution

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Into the fire ...Don't miss the final part of this breathtaking new trilogy from multi award-winning author Teri Terry. Shay has followed Xander and joined his mysterious scientific cult at their remote Scottish compound. She's desperately searching for Callie, who went missing before the start of the epidemic that kills 95% of cases, and leaves a tiny number of survivors with astonishing new powers.Can Shay uncover the truth about the origins of the epidemic, find Callie and perhaps even rekindle her relationship with Kai? Or will Xander's grand plans destroy them all for ever?

Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

In a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Mhairi Anne Bain owns only two things: a gun with no bullets and her identity papers. The world is a shell of what it once was. Now, you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every border checkpoint. And if you are going to survive, your instincts will become your most valuable weapon. Mhairi has learnt the importance of living her own story, of speaking to no one. But then she meets a young boy with no voice at all, and finds herself risking everything to take him to safety. And so Mhairi and the silent boy travel the road north. But there are rumours that things in Scotland have changed since she has been away. What Mhairi finds there is shocking and heart-breaking, but might finally re-connect her to her sense of self and to the possibility of love.An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf

There used to be an empty chair at the back of my class, but now a new boy called Ahmet is sitting in it.He's eight years old (just like me), but he's very strange. He never talks and never smiles and doesn't like sweets - not even lemon sherbets, which are my favourite!But the truth is, Ahmet really isn't very strange at all. He's a refugee who's run away from a War. A real one. With bombs and fires and bullies that hurt people. And the more I find out about him, the more I want to be his friend.That's where my best friends Josie, Michael and Tom come in. Because you see, together we've come up with a plan.

Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: On the Run

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Orchard Books

Not If I Save You First

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

Dear Logan,Someday I'm going to write a book: How Not to Die in Alaska - A Girl's Guide to Fashionable Survival.I bet you don't know that a hair pin can make an excellent fishing hook. You may think you can use just any kind of mud for mud masks, but trust me, you CAN'T! In a pinch, nothing starts a fire like nail polish remover. Alaska is tough. You might know this, if you ever replied to my letters.After Maddie's Secret Service dad takes a bullet for the president, he takes Maddie somewhere he thinks they'll be safe - far away from the White House and the president's son, Logan. But when Logan comes to Alaska, so does the danger. If there's one thing Alaska has taught Maddie, it's how to survive. And now her best friend's life depends on it ...

Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan
Orchard Books

Bubbles's Unicorn Friend

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orchard Books

Mission Impuffable

Quercus Children's Books

Anassa

Josh Martin
Authors:
Josh Martin
Wren & Rook

Mary's Monster

Lita Judge
Authors:
Lita Judge
Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari

Fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online will love this magically messed-up romance.Amber Sand has a gift. Five seconds of eye contact, and she can see your soul mate. She's seen it all, every kind of happy ending there is. Except for one - her own. So when Charlie Blitzman, the most-desired boy in school, enlists Amber's help, she finds herself falling for him. Problem is, her pesky gift doesn't agree - Charlie and Amber are just not meant to be, or are they?How can Amber, an honest peddler of true love, pursue a boy she knows is not the one for her?

Orchard Books

Brain Freeze

Packed with all the quirky fun of the TV show, in these original adventures the Powerpuff Girls will fight baddies, save the day and be home before bedtime! When Blossom, Buttercup and Bubbles find out that the Towsnville Ice Cream Parlour is holding a contest to create a new flavour, they're determined to enter. But they each have very different ideas about what the flavour should be. Blossom wants a classic vanilla with rainbow sprinkles, Bubbles wants triple-fudge-extra-chocolate-oozy-caramel-delight and Buttercup wants ... pizza flavour.As the girls use their superpowers to deliver their ice cream around Townsville, things get a little messy. Meanwhile Mojo Jojo has got a dastardly plan to bring a hoarde of monsters on a day trip to Townsville - to destoy the Powerpuff Girls once and for all! Mwa ha ha!Collect all the adventures in this hilarious series - perfect for fans of the TV show.

Orchard Books

Happy Bethday!

Duncan McCoshan, Jem Packer
Authors:
Duncan McCoshan, Jem Packer

So I'm being chased through the park by a pack of angry zombies, I've got cake mix on my face and MY MOST EMBARRASSING PHOTO EVER IS IN THE SCHOOL MAGAZINE!Beth Orsen is back for her third hilarious adventure. And with a zombie party, Granny's baking contest and Beth's baby photos accidentally being printed in the school magazine, life is about to get messy again!Perfect for reluctant readers and fans of TOM GATES, BADLY DRAWN BETH book 1 won the 2016 Lollies award for funniest book for 6-8 year olds.A laugh-out-loud school story, packed with imaginative escapades and illustrated with eye-poppingly funny pictures. (Book Trust)

Hodder Children's Books

Memorial

Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Contributors:
Gary Crew, Shaun Tan

In 2014 the world will mark the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War. Internationally acclaimed author, Gary Crew, and multi-award-winning illustrator Shaun Tan have created a powerful picture book to help us all remember.When the soldiers return in 1918, a memorial tree is planted... 'Lest we forget'. But generations later, what do those who pause in the shadows of the tree's immense branches remember? A message we should never forget.Memorial serves as a reminder of the lessons to be gained from the past and examine the significance of conservation, respect and remembrance.

Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald