Gary Crew - The Blue Feather - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Blue Feather

By Gary Crew

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

There's a myth in Esperance that's been around for years, apparently going as far back as the arrival of the first Europeans. Locals think there's a huge bird, big enough to carry away adult humans . . .

BLUE FEATHER is a stunningly crafted mystery from one of Australia's most awarded writers, Gary Crew.

Recurring rumours of attacks by a giant raptor lead Greg Muir to seek the truth behind the bird's existence. Is it big enough to bring down a light plane? Can it carry away human beings in its talons? Is it responsible for the mutilation of a hang-glider?

A quest for a creature as fearful as it is elusive . . . Is the story of the huge bird only a myth, or is it reality? And if it is a reality, what part will it play in shaping the lives of those who search for it?

Blue Feather is a stunningly crafted mystery from one of Australia's most awarded writers, Gary Crew.

'A beautifully crafted novel . . . Fully satisfying.' Herald Sun

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780733610752
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Wayland

From Prejudice to Pride: A History of LGBTQ+ Movement

Amy Lamé
Authors:
Amy Lamé
Orchard Books

The Secret Summer

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish
Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Ultimate Book Hugger's Guide

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

A behind-the-scenes look at the world of the Land of Stories - the No.1 New York Times bestselling series, from Golden Globe-winning actor, Chris Colfer.A combination travel guide, encyclopedia, and exciting fan compendium, this ultimate guidebook includes sections such as "Who's Who," "Places to Go," and "Trinkets, Treasures, and Other Things" that explore the backgrounds and histories of the many characters, places, and magic items throughout the beloved Land of Stories series.Perfect for new and mega-fans alike, this full-colour guidebook illustrated by series artist Brandon Dorman captures the magical ins and outs of the Land of Stories we know and love and delivers new, never-before-seen art and information sure to thrill and satisfy readers.

Orchard Books

Mole's Star

Britta Teckentrup, Britta Teckentrup
Contributors:
Britta Teckentrup, Britta Teckentrup

A magical, star-filled picture book about learning to share the wonders of our world.Every evening, Mole comes out of his burrow to watch the twinkling stars in the sky above. How he wishes he could have them for his very own! Then one night he sees a shooting star, and suddenly his wish comes true. There's just one problem: now that Mole's burrow is full of beautiful, shining stars, none of the other animals can enjoy them . . .Written and illustrated by the award-winning Britta Teckentrup, this beautiful picture book will spark conversations about sharing, friendship and using the resources of our world responsibly.Look out for more books from Britta Teckentrup:Little Mouse and the Red Wall The Memory TreeMy Hand in Your HandNever Take a Bear to School

Orion Children's Books

Siege and Storm

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with book two of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.Now with a stunning new cover and exclusive bonus material: Nikolai Lantsov character art and a Q&A with Leigh Bardugo.Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Alina Starkov's power has grown, but not without a price. She is the Sun Summoner - hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Shadow Fold. But she and Mal can't outrun their enemies for long.The Darkling is more determined than ever to claim Alina's magic and use it to take the Ravkan throne. With nowhere else to turn, Alina enlists the help of an infamous privateer and sets out to lead the Grisha army.But as the truth of Alina's destiny unfolds, she slips deeper into the Darkling's deadly game of forbidden magic, and further away from her humanity. To save her country, Alina will have to choose between her power and the love she thought would always be her shelter. No victory can come without sacrifice - and only she can face the oncoming storm.Read all the books in the Grishaverse!The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)Shadow and BoneSiege and StormRuin and RisingThe Six of Crows DuologySix of CrowsCrooked KingdomThe Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

THE TOP TEN BESTSELLERTime is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Hodder Children's Books

Memorial

Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Contributors:
Gary Crew, Shaun Tan

In 2014 the world will mark the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War. Internationally acclaimed author, Gary Crew, and multi-award-winning illustrator Shaun Tan have created a powerful picture book to help us all remember.When the soldiers return in 1918, a memorial tree is planted... 'Lest we forget'. But generations later, what do those who pause in the shadows of the tree's immense branches remember? A message we should never forget.Memorial serves as a reminder of the lessons to be gained from the past and examine the significance of conservation, respect and remembrance.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Stormy Day

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Orion Children's Books

The Darkest Part of the Forest

Holly Black
Authors:
Holly Black
Orchard Books

A to Z of Beasts

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Skor the Winged Stallion

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

The Dark Wizard has sent six fearsome Beasts to capture the good Beasts of Avantia.They are imprisoned in the Dark Realm, and it is Tom's Quest to save them. He and his companions must undertake a perilous journey and defeat Skor the Winged Stallion.Dont miss:TORGOR THE MINOTAUR - NARGA THE SEA MONSTER - KAYMON THE GORGON HOUND - TUSK THE MIGHTY MAMMOTH - STING THE SCORPION MAN

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Frankie's Kangaroo Caper

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard

Frankie and his team love playing football. There's always time for a game. And now that they have their magical football they're playing against teams they never imagined!This time the magic football takes them to Australia - what adventures will they find in the land Down Under?

Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orchard Books

Tikron the Jungle Master

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

A great Monkey-Beast stands in Tom's way as he searches the Dark Jungle for the next potion ingredient. Will Tom prevail against the might of the Jungle Master? Don't miss the other titles in Series 14 - The Cursed Dragon:- Raffkor the Stampeding Brute- Vislak the Slithering Serpent- Falra the Snow Phoenix

Orchard Books

Falra the Snow Phoenix

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Tom's deadliest Quest yet reaches a terrifying conclusion as he enters the Pit of Fire to battle Falra! Can our hero defeat the Beast and find the final potion ingredient needed to break Kensa's curse? Don't miss the other titles in Series 14 - The Cursed Dragon:- Raffkor the Stampeding Brute- Vislak the Slithering Serpent- Tikron the Jungle Master

Orchard Books

Wildflower Wood

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Wicked Queen Malice has cast a spell on Summer's storybook and unleashed all the fairytale baddies into the Secret Kingdom. Now the gnomes of Flower Forest are being terrorised by a giant, who's destroying the precious sugarsap trees! Can the girls catch the giant and get him back in the book before the peaceful land is ruined for ever?

Orchard Books

Swan Palace

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Koba, Ghoul of the Shadows

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade