Jenny Colgan - Polly and the Puffin - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9780349131917
    • Publication date:26 Feb 2015
Books in this series

Polly and the Puffin

Book 1

By Jenny Colgan
Illustrated by Thomas Docherty

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Debut children's book from bestselling adult novelist, Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud.

Meet Polly and her puffin Neil in the debut children's book from Sunday Times bestselling novelist, Jenny Colgan. Illustrated throughout and with recipes, activities and rhymes in addition to the irresistible story.

Polly heard a CRASH downstairs. Was it a monster? NO! Was it a spider alien? NO!
It was a little puffin with a broken wing...

When Polly discovers an injured puffin, she and her mummy look after him in their cottage by the sea.

Slowly, Neil's wing heals and Polly must prepare herself to say goodbye to her new friend. Will she ever see him again?

Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.

Contains recipes, activities and jokes in addition to the story.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349131900
  • Publication date: 26 Feb 2015
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
A classic story about the touching relationship between a girl and her rescued puffin. — Guardian - The Best New Children's Books Summer 2015
Colgan's emotional intelligence and the charming illustrations by Thomas Docherty make this a great gift — newstatesman.com
A sweet tale of a puffin with a broken wing and the little girl who puts him to rights. — Charlotte Heathcote, Sunday Express
An absolute joy, beautifully written and charmingly illustrated, a delight for children and adults alike — hotbrandscoolplaces.com
Such a nice read — mummyfromtheheart.com
A great gift for kids of four and above — New Statesman
A gentle, heart-warming tale — The Herald, Glasgow
Beautiful storytelling...sure to be a popular series for young readers — Carousel
Evocative black and white illustrations feature splashes of red for emphasis while the text is made for reading aloud -- though young readers will manage much of it on their own — The Best New Children's Books 2015
Perfect for bedtime stories and young readers just tackling books on their own, this is a quite delightful story which also contains recipes, activities and jokes for added interest. Thomas Docherty's illustrations are found in abundance through the book, adding to the pleasure of reading. — Parents In Touch
Wayland

Plants

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of two children who find out about how plants grow.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to explore scientific topicsIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: What are forces? What is light and sound? What is electricity? What are materials?

Orchard Books

A Christmas Carol

Tony Mitton, Mike Redman
Contributors:
Tony Mitton, Mike Redman
Franklin Watts

Children's Atlas of the World

Julia Adams
Authors:
Julia Adams
Orchard Books

The Way Home For Wolf

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

Wilf is as strong and independent as a wolf cub can be. He doesn't need help from his friends and family - whatever it is, he can do it ALL BY HIMSELF. But when Wilf finds himself lost and alone in the snow and chill of an Arctic night, he discovers something important - sometimes we all need the help of a friend to keep us safe and show us the way.Look out for more books by Rachel Bright and Jim Field:The Lion InsideThe Koala Who CouldThe Squirrels Who Squabbled

Wayland

Light and Dark

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of two children who find out what light is.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to explore scientific topicsIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: What are plants? What are forces? What is electricity? What are materials?

Orchard Books

Trixie and the Terrible Trick

G M Berrow
Authors:
G M Berrow
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry and the Zombie Vampire

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Henry's class are on a spooky school trip to the local museum, but could there be a terrifying zombie vampire on the loose? Henry soon has his classmates believing Miss Battle-Axe and Miss Lovely might be scarier than they seem . . .A hilarious and horrid Early Reader from bestselling author Francesca Simon, and illustrator Tony Ross.

Wayland

What are Forces?

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of two children who find out what forces are.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to explore scientific topicsIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: What are plants? What is light and sound? What is electricity? What are materials?

Wayland

What is Electricity?

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Orchard Books

Amelia Sparklepaw

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline WilsonEleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Orchard Books

Bertie Bigroar Finds his Voice

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Tell Me a Story, Rory

Jeanne Willis, Holly Clifton Brown
Contributors:
Jeanne Willis, Holly Clifton Brown

A touching, timeless story about love and growing-up from bestselling author Jeanne Willis and rising star Holly Clifton-Brown.Rory the lion can't sleep without a bedtime story and the little girl never forgets to tell him one. But one day the girl - not so little now - goes away. If Rory tells his own bedtime story will it somehow come true? Will it bring his little girl back?Jeanne Willis is an award-winning author who has written over 150 books, including The Bog Baby, the Paddington Movie novelisation and Tadpole's Promise.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Happy Christmas

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty

The fourth children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud - especially at Christmas!Polly and her puffin friend Neil have wrapped presents, practised for the village nativity and written their lists for Santa. But Christmas is taking a very long time to arrive. And Polly isn't enjoying the wait.What's worse, Neil is busy helping to keep an egg warm, so he hasn't got much time to play. Will it EVER be Christmas? And will a tiny little puffling hatch in time for the big day?Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the bestselling author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.Contains lots of fun festive recipes and activities in addition to the story.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The New Friend

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Stormy Day

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Hodder Children's Books

Skellig

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Orion Children's Books

A Monster Helping of Horrid Henry

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

A collection of twelve classic stories about everyone's favourite horrid boy, including the one in which Horrid Henry makes his own scary movie, The Undead Demon Monster Who Would Not Die.

Orchard Books

I Love My Daddy

Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Orchard Books

Tia The Tulip Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

The Petal Fairies have a very important job - together with their magic petals they help to make sure that flowers grow and bloom in the human world. But after Jack Frost sent his goblins to steal the magic petals in the hope they would help to grow flowers in his cold and dreary ice castle, the petals have ended up scattered in the human world. Rachel and Kirsty must help the Tia the Tulip Fairy, Pippa the Poppy Fairy, Louise the Lily Fairy, Charlotte the Sunflower Fairy, Olivia the Orchid Fairy, Danielle the Daisy Fairy and Ella the Rose Fairy to find their magic petals before the goblins get their hands on them. But this time Jack Frost has given the goblins a wand to help them - he's determined to get those petals before the fairies do, whatever it takes!Will the girls be able to find Tia's magic tulip petal first?