Ruth Fitzgerald - 02 Emily Sparkes and the Competition Calamity - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

02 Emily Sparkes and the Competition Calamity

Book 2

By Ruth Fitzgerald

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Join Emily Sparkes for laugh-out-loud observations about life, parents and how to handle the grossest boys in the universe! Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Dork Diaries.

Join Emily Sparkes for laugh-out-loud observations about life, parents and how to handle the grossest boys in the universe! Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Dork Diaries. The first Emily book has been shortlisted for the Scholastic Laugh Out Loud Book Award (The Lollies).

'Lots of fun and a really cool read!' - Cathy Cassidy

Emily Sparkes might have found herself a new best friend and avoided humiliation at the hands of the grossest boy in the universe, but now her creativityness has landed her in a whole new world of trouble . . .

Emily has absolutely accidentally entered her mother into a competition to find the nation's Mum in a Million. So when Mrs Sparkes is shortlisted, Emily is more shocked than anyone! Desperate not to be publicly humiliated on TV, she has to come up with a plan for a mum makeover. Because her eco-warrior, allotment-loving, generally horrendously embarrassing parent can't make her star appearance in a granddad-cap and wellies - can she?

Oh. And Chloe Clarke comes back. Need we say more?

Biographical Notes

Ruth Fitzgerald grew up in South Wales but has lived most of her life in Suffolk.
She wrote her first story at the age of six and immediately announced she wanted to be a writer. Her teacher immediately told her that being a writer was a hobby and she needed to get a proper job. Ruth tried twenty-three proper jobs before deciding her teacher was wrong.
She lives near Ipswich with her family, a tiny dog and five chickens.
Find out more about Ruth and her Emily Sparkes series at www.ruthfitzgerald.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349001845
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
I have read the first Emily Sparkes book and really LOVE it . . . it's lots of fun and a really cool read! — Cathy Cassidy, bestselling author of The Chocolate Box Girls series
Utterly hilarious and utterly relatable, Ruth Fitzgerald just gets all of the awful problems associated with being eleven years old. Everything in Emily Sparkes's life is a crisis, and each crisis is funnier than the last. Bring on the next book! — Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike (Wells and Wong Mysteries)
I laughed and laughed at Emily Sparkes and the Friendship Fiasco! She's like a younger Georgia Nicolson. — Susie Day, author of Pea’s Book of Best Friends (Pea’s Book series)
Lots to appeal to fans of Cathy Cassidy and Dork Diaries in this funny new series — The Bookseller
More satisfying than much junior chick-lit — The Observer
With cool illustrations and doodles, this is a fun read — The Best New Children's Books 2015
Once you start reading this book you won't be able to put it down. It's true to life and very funny. Emily Sparkes is everyone's dream best friend! — Alice, aged 12
I thought this was side-splittingly funny and very realistic. Emily Sparkes is someone I'd want to be friends with! — Sterrett, aged 10
Emily Sparkes is amazingly funny. I thought it was hilarious when Emily named her new baby sister Yoda! — Maddie, aged 12
Emily Sparkes is my new favourite character. She made me laugh a lot! — Piper, aged 11
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Emily Sparkes and the Backstage Blunder

Ruth Fitzgerald
Authors:
Ruth Fitzgerald
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Emily Sparkes and the Disco Disaster

Ruth Fitzgerald
Authors:
Ruth Fitzgerald
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Emily Sparkes and the Friendship Fiasco

Ruth Fitzgerald
Authors:
Ruth Fitzgerald

Join Emily Sparkes for hilarious observations about life, parents and how to handle the grossest boys in the universe! Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Dork Diaries. Now shortlisted for the Scholastic Laugh Out Loud Book Award (The Lollies). 'Lots of fun and a really cool read!' - Cathy Cassidy Emily Sparkes thinks having your best friend move to Wales at the same time as your parents decide to have a new baby is probably more trauma than anyone should have to cope with. But things go from bad to worse when she's paired with revolting Gross-Out Gavin for the school trip! Emily is determined to escape him, and when glamorous new girl Chloe Clarke turns up it seems her prayers might be answered.Unfortunately, everyone has gone Chloe Clarke mad and Emily finds her 'sworn enemy' Zuzanna has had the same idea. Getting and keeping Chloe as a friend proves a lot more troublesome than Emily anticipated and leads her into a whole new set of disasters . . .

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Hilariously Horrid Joke Book

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Moody Margaret Strikes Back

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Early Reader: Horrid Henry Gets Rich Quick

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Horrid Henry needs money - and fast! But just how is he going to do it?

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Wakes The Dead

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Horrid Henry finds a surefire way of wielding the remote control to ensure he always watches his programme of choice, vies with Moody Margaret to become the head of the school, shows off his prowess as a magician in the school talent show, and battles it out with Perfect Peter over who gets the green dinosaur and who gets the purple one.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Holiday

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Birthday Party

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Horrid Henry creates havoc at his birthday party.Read by Miranda Richardson

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Christmas Cracker

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

It's a gift! Four fun and festive stories from one hilariously horrid boy - a perfect addition to a cheeky child's stocking.Four fabulously funny stories full of every family's worst Christmas nightmares, as Horrid Henry sabotages the school play, tries to do his Christmas shopping without spending his pocket money, attempts to ambush Father Christmas, and endures Christmas dinner with the guests from hell. Francesca Simon's Horrid Henry series has sold over 20 million copies in the UK alone, and his antics have charmed adults and children across the globe. Don't miss out on the fun!

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry and the Abominable Snowman

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Building a snowman brings out Henry's competitive streak; he sets up his Monstrous Makeovers business to rival Moody Margaret's Miraculous Makeovers; things go badly wrong when a famous author comes to school; and he thinks 'You'll all be sorry when I'm dead' and spends a rainy day writing his will.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry and the Mega-Mean Time Machine

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four fabulous stories in which Horrid Henry builds himself a time machine and tricks Perfect Peter; Perfect Peter strikes back; Henry dines at Restaurant Le Posh; and he is made to go on a hike.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Underpants

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four hilarious stories, in which Horrid Henry hits on a brilliant way to write thank you letters, negotiates over vegetables, competes with Perfect Peter over which of them is sickest, and finds himself wearing the wrong underpants, with dreadful consequences.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Early Reader: Don't Be Horrid, Henry!

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry and the Football Fiend

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry and the Bogey Babysitter

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four complete stories enhanced by Miranda Richardson's award-winning reading and really horrid music and effects: Horrid Henry encounters the babysitter from hell, traumatizes his parents on a car journey, goes trick or treating at Hallowe'en, and sabotages his school project. Four stories, as brilliant and inventive as ever, to add to 'the funniest series ever written about sibling rivalry and what it's like to be a young child' - Independent on Sunday(P)2004 Orion Publishing Group.Ltd

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Stinkbomb

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

A stinkbomb becomes a deadly weapon in Horrid Henry's long-running war with Moody Margaret; he uses all his guile to win the school reading competition, only to find the longed-for prize is not what he expected; he goes for a sleepover and retreats in horror when he finds that other people's houses aren't always as nice as his own; and he has the joy of seeing Miss Battle-Axe ticked off by the Head when he knows it was all his fault. In short, another vintage HORRID HENRY title!Read by Miranda Richardson(P)2004 Orion Publishing Group.Ltd

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four complete hilarious stories with really horrid music and sound effects.Horrid Henry's Perfect DayHorrid Henry's Dance ClassHorrid Henry and Moody MargaretHorrid Henry's HolidayRead by Miranda Richardson(P)2004 Orion Publishing Group.Ltd

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Nits

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Tricks the Tooth Fairy

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four hilarious unabridged stories with really horrid music and sound effects:Horrid Henry tries to fool the Tooth Fairy into giving him some money despite the fact that his teeth appear to be "superglued to his gums".He creates havoc as a pageboy at a wedding.He gets rid of Moody Margaret, an unwanted guest.He "breaks in" the new teacher.Read by Miranda Richardson