Chris van Tulleken and Xand van Tulleken - Your Brilliant Body - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405529822
    • Publication date:17 Oct 2013
Books in this series

Your Brilliant Body

Book 1

By Chris van Tulleken and Xand van Tulleken

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

A tie-in to the new CBBC hit series Operation Ouch! featuring everything you've ever wanted to know about your body, how it works and how it fixes itself!

Operation Ouch! based on the popular CBBC series and recent winner of the Booktrust Best Book Award for 'Best Fact Book'!

Can you guess which of these amazing facts Operation Ouch! has in store for you?

a) That in your lifetime you'll spend a whole year on the toilet
b) That you shed at least 30,000 skin cells every day
c) That the biggest muscle in your body is in your bum

ANSWER: All three of course!

Join Dr Chris and Dr Xand as they take a tour of YOUR BRILLIANT BODY!

Find out the incredible things your body can do, test your gross-out knowledge and try out cool body tricks at home.

Biographical Notes

Dr Chris and Xand van Tulleken grew up in London and trained in medicine at Oxford University, graduating in 2002.

They have combined NHS work with global health work and television appearing in Blizzard: Race to the Pole, Medicine Men and Medicine Men Go Wild. Operation Ouch! is their first series for children.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780349001807
  • Publication date: 17 Oct 2013
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Wayland

Sports Stadium

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Imagine someone gave you a sackful of money and told you to build a sports stadium. You'd definitely want it to be the best sports stadium the world. But how do you go about designing THAT? Armed with your own imagination and some smart research, find out how you can transform a fantasy design into an actual dream product. You'll apply real-world design considerations to your ideas, refining your design to make it workable and achievable as it takes shape.

Wayland

Fantastic Forces and Motion

Joy Lin
Authors:
Joy Lin
Franklin Watts

Earthquakes

Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury

Natural disasters devastate communities. They reshape the landscape and can alter people's ways of life in an area for years after the event. Learn all about the 10 worst earthquakes in this book from San Francisco in 1906 to Nepal in 2015 .This series explores the world's top ten worst recorded disasters, explaining how and why they happen and where in the world they have taken place. The series also invites the reader to examine what they have learnt about natural disasters and to apply that knowledge by answering critical thinking questions at the end of each book. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Bee to Honey

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Wayland

Materials

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin
Wayland

Space

Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury
Hodder Children's Books

A Recipe for Playtime

Peter Bently, Sarah Massini
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Sarah Massini
Wayland

Computers

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

Take a look at how computers are designed, how engineers program them and how all the data in computers is held. Find out about memory, outputs and inputs, explore amazing feats of computing such as the web, artificial intelligence and virtual reality and imagine what computers might be able to do in the future. Test your understanding with fun activities, such as writing your own program using a programming language such as Scratch.Inject some fun into STEAM topics, with these lively examinations of buildings, robots, computers, vehicles, materials and space! This bright, colourful new series aims to inspire children with a lifelong love of STEAM subjects.

Wayland

Vehicles

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Wayland

The Poo That Animals Do

Paul Mason, Tony De Saulles
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Tony De Saulles
Franklin Watts

A Cry in the Dark - Explore sound and use science to survive

Richard Spilsbury, Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury, Louise Spilsbury

Follow Jess, Ben, Amelie and Zac as they use science to escape from terrifying danger, and try some exciting experiments for yourself. In A Cry in the Dark, the gang uses the science of sound to escape from a mad scientist! Will they find their way back to safety before he catches them?Science has never been more exciting with this attention-grabbing approach which delivers true scientific learning through an action-packed story and spectacular graphic illustrations. The science in the story is backed up through simple experiments that readers can try for themselves.

Wayland

Adventures in STEAM: Buildings

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Take a look at how skyscrapers were designed, how engineers make sure they stay upright and how the science of gravity means they don't fall down. Find out about scale, plans and perspective, explore interesting architecture from bridges and tunnels to cathedrals and stadiums, and admire the work of some of the world's most famous architects. Try activities such as designing your own skyscraper using marshmallows and spaghetti.Inject some fun into STEAM topics, with these lively examinations of buildings, robots, computers, vehicles, materials and space! This bright, colourful new series aims to inspire children aged 8 and up with a lifelong love of STEAM subjects.

Wayland

Robots

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Quercus Children's Books

The Starman and Me

Sharon Cohen, Sharon Cohen
Authors:
Sharon Cohen, Sharon Cohen

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David AlmondHe wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ... except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth.Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted... Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down.Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them...THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

Wayland

Atlas of Everything

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Navigate the world like never before. Featuring over 50 maps of the world - one on every page - this unique atlas includes facts and figures on almost everything you'd want to know. From Nobel Prize winners and popular names, to endangered species and active volcanoes, the combination of maps and infographics makes this the perfect book for children to find out information in a quick and easy way, and remember it.Includes information on the origins of humans, ancient civilisations, the fashion industry, music around the world, film, sport, art and design, politics, the natural world, architecture, animal migration, oceans, natural disasters and space, to name just a few topics in this fact-filled book.

Wayland

the American Civil War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book considers the deadliest war in US history, which killed 750,000 soldiers and many civilians before this young nation was a century old. Its legacy still resonates across the USA today. Did it achieve any of its goals? Did it have unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

Wayland

Zoo Animals

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim
Wayland

Ocean Animals

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim

Find out all there is to know about your favourite ocean animals with these exciting craft projects! Follow the step-by-step instructions to make clown fish, coral reefs, sharks, sea turtles and much more! You can even create displays for your classroom or at home. Each project uses materials that are easy to source, and you will be introduced to loads of craft techniques.Includes QR codes that link to step-by-step videos, showing how some of the crafts are made.Combines fun craft projects with the science topic of animals.Each project uses a range of everyday materials and clear step-by-step instructions to ensure a great result every time!Includes a wide range of craft techniques - from cutting out and tracing to papier-mâché and painting.

Franklin Watts

Sparks, Shocks and Secrets - Explore electricity and use science to survive

Richard Spilsbury, Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Richard Spilsbury, Louise Spilsbury