Chris Higgins - A Boy Called Ocean - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444918984
    • Publication date:14 Jun 2018

A Boy Called Ocean

By Chris Higgins

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing
him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.

Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.

Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies.

Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Biographical Notes

Before writing her first novel, Chris taught English and Drama for many years in secondary schools. She also worked at the Minack, the open-air theatre on the cliffs near Lands End, but now writes full-time.

Chris has won a number of awards including Young Minds, the Lancashire Book Award, the Lincolnshire Young People's Book Award, the KYBA, and she has been shortlisted twice for Queen of Teen.

She lives in the far west of Cornwall with her husband.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340997031
  • Publication date: 14 Jun 2018
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A Boy Called Ocean is such an intense read with all kinds of emotions running high — Sammy's Shelf blog
A Boy Called Ocean definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat... I read it in 2 days. I was that hooked on the storyline. — Autumn Frost blog
Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Wayland

What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From? And Other Big Questions

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Down Under

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Wayland

Problem Solved: 52 Teen Boy Problems & How To Solve Them

Alex Hooper-Hodson
Authors:
Alex Hooper-Hodson

Agony Uncle, relationship expert, journalist and blogger, Alex Hooper-Hodson received upwards of 2,000 letters a month from teen boys and girls aged 12-15. All can be related to 52 core issues that affect teenage boys and girls today - from first sexual relationships, dealing with spots, how to avoid Facebook mistakes, how drink, drugs and on-line gaming can affect your life - to the social and emotional aspects of family, friends and relationships. Through a 'Problem Page' format Alex explores the key issues that today's teens face.

Wayland

Problem Solved: 52 Teen Girl Problems & How To Solve Them

Alex Hooper-Hodson
Authors:
Alex Hooper-Hodson
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Funnier

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Nine-year-old Mattie is excited. Uncle Vez's brother and his wife have come to visit! With their Australian guests, life in the Butterfield household is even more chaotic than usual. Mattie just has one worry on her Worry List ... Has Grandma met her match in Aunty Sheila?

Quercus Children's Books

Coco

Gemma Burgess, Gemma Burgess
Authors:
Gemma Burgess, Gemma Burgess

Coco has always been the 'good one'. But when she catches her boyfriend cheating on her, she decides it's time to break bad. Coco swiftly goes from spending all her time baking and reading to working in (and dancing on) a bar, and falling in and out of love. Meanwhile Coco's best friends are suddenly plunged into break-ups, break-downs, big breaks, and before long the group is on the verge of quitting New York City altogether. Is Coco strong enough to keep them all together - and find herself at the same time?

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Saves the Day

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Mattie thinks her Worry Lists are over now that the Butterfields have won the lottery! But when the council threatens to close Mattie's school because there aren't enough children to go there her worries seem bigger than ever.Can the Butterfields save the day and keep the school open?

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Moves House

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

It's a tight squeeze as usual in the Butterfield house, and with baby Will's stuff taking up all the room it's getting even worse. Lucinda's house has ten times more room for her family than the squished Butterfields have! Mattie's Worry List gets bigger when Mum seems to be unhappy, and wants to move house. But moving house would mean moving schools - Mattie's worst Worry List come true!

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family's Got Talent

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Mum's 30th birthday is coming up and after such a hectic year for the Butterfields, Mattie wants to make it extra-special.Aided by best friend Lucinda, Mattie decides a talent show to showcase the Butterfields' unique skills will be the best birthday surprise for Mum. With a host of unruly Butterfields and Lucinda's parents coming to watch, however, have Mattie and Lucinda bitten off more than they can chew?

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Rain Dragon Rescue

Suzanne Selfors, Dan Santat
Contributors:
Suzanne Selfors, Dan Santat

Ben and Pearl are back at Dr Woo's, eager to spend another day working with imaginary creatures!When Mr Tabby directs them to the roof, they finally have a chance to meet the reclusive dragon that's been hiding out at the hospital - and that Ben and Pearl had spotted flying over Buttonville on Ben's first day in town. But all too soon, they're summoned to the basement, to the hospital's portal into the Imaginary World. A call for help has come in, and with Dr Woo away, Ben and Pearl are the only ones who can respond.Their mission: to rescue the rain dragon and uncover the identity of a poacher who's found a way to enter the Imaginary World. What does this mean for Dr Woo and her mythical creatures? Only time will tell. Luckily, Ben and Pearl are up for the challenge!

Franklin Watts

Breathe and You Die!

Andrew Fusek Peters
Authors:
Andrew Fusek Peters
Hodder Children's Books

It's a 50/50 Thing

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Bigger

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

It's the new school term and, as the baby inside Mum's tummy gets bigger and bigger, the family begins to plan for Christmas. There are lists to be made and presents to be wrapped. But could an unexpected Christmas gift be just around the corner?

Hodder Children's Books

The Day I Met Suzie

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

'My boyfriend could get into trouble if he gets caught. He could go to jail.' I moan softly. 'So could I.''Anything you tell me is completely confidential.' I sigh deeply. What have I got to lose? 'I wouldn't know where to begin.''At the beginning?' she says. 'In your own words.'So that's what I do. I start at the beginning like she says.The day I met Suzie.Indigo (Indie) rings the Samaritans. She is frightened and desperate with no one to turn to. Over the course of one long night, Indie tells her story to the person on the end of the phone. She realises that her friend Suzie has taken over her home, her friends, her work, her boyfriend - and her life. After every few chapters we are brought back to the present moment, and see how piecing the story together helps Indie progress towards resolution.

Wayland

Bullies, Cyberbullies and Frenemies

Michele Elliott
Authors:
Michele Elliott

Friendships and peer relationships are one of the most difficult things about being a teen. Many face bullying of some kind or another, whether in person or on the Internet or social media. Written by Kidscape founder Michele Elliott, Teen Life Confidential: Bullies, Cyberbullies and Frenemies is a friendly, kind and practical guide to navigating these tricky relationships, and beating the bullies. Are there practical things you can do to stop being bullied - at home, at school and online? What are frenemies and how can you deal with them? How can you learn to make friends and respect yourself? If you're a bully, how can you change your behaviour? This brilliant book will tell you what bullying is, where it happens and what you can do about it, as well as how to assert yourself and develop your self-esteem. Advice is supported by quotes from teenagers, who share their own experiences, and will help to make readers feel they're not alone.

Wayland

Sex, Snogs, Dates and Mates

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik

How do you deal with dating and build good relationships? How will you know when you're ready to have sex? Can you resist the pressure and say no if you're not? Designed to make sex education easier for teenagers and their parents and teachers, this age appropriate guide will give you the facts and answer all the questions on sex and relationships you didn't like to ask, from periods and puberty, crushes and contraception to health and harrassment. Topical and helpful, the book includes quotes from teenagers about their own experiences, and is written in a down-to-earth and friendly manner by highly respected author and agony aunt Anita Naik. The chapter listing is as follows: Your changing body; Sex education - what's it all about?; Love and relationships; Thinking about sex; Having sex; Life after sex; Bigger problems.

Wayland

Wolf Boy

Andrew Fusek Peters
Authors:
Andrew Fusek Peters
Wayland

High Stakes

Andrew Fusek Peters
Authors:
Andrew Fusek Peters

A short mystery that's high on suspense!This is a perfect page turner if you want to finish a thriller in one sitting, especially for reluctant and struggling readers.Cool, edgy crime detective duo, Jas and Sam are teens who solve spine-chilling cases - using equal measures of humour and heroism along the way!'High Stakes' is a humorous mystery about first love and vampires, and there's a lot at stake! Vladya Blud-chik is the new girl at Jas and Sam's school. With her red lips and killer smile, she's soon the most popular girl in the class, but Vladya is bad news - as Jas and Sam soon find out!Reading level for this book:-ATOS: 2.4Lexile ® Measure: 320LBook Band: 10 White

Wayland

Self-Esteem and Being YOU

Anita Naik
Authors:
Anita Naik