Hilary Mckay - Zoo In The Attic - Hachette Children's Group

Zoo In The Attic

Book 1

By Hilary Mckay

  • Paperback
  • £3.99

Anything can happen at Paradise House and normally does! This delightful series of six stories about three riotous children and their madcap adventures is written by award-winning author, Hilary McKay.

Danny is mad about animals and wants a sheepdog for his birthday. But instead he gets a goldfish called Oscar. This inspires him to set up his own zoo - in the attic above his flat - a plan that proves to have it's own problems!

Biographical Notes

Hilary McKay won the Guardian Children`s award with her first novel, The Exiles. Her subsequent work has achieved recognition - The Exiles at Home won the Smarties Prize, whilst Saffy`s Angel, the first in the Casson Family series, won the Whitbread Award, for which the third book Permanent Rose was also shortlisted.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340970249
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2009
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Irresistible fun, excellent writing. — Jan Mark
Hodder Children's Books

Love to Everyone

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

A rich and truly heart-warming story set during the First World War. Perfect for fans of War Horse, The Camomile Lawn and CogheartClarry and Peter live in a tall, narrow, lonely house in London. With no mother and an uninterested father, they entertain themselves with old books and an atlas of the stars. Each year, Clarry eagerly awaits their summer trips to Cornwall, with its purple moor and glittering sea. But best of all, it's where they are reunited with their Cousin Rupert. As new friendships are made and promises are formed, those hot summers soon become distant memories. The First World War arrives and Clarry discovers for the first time that knowing nothing is sometimes better than knowing too much. Desperate to keep those summer memories alive, Clarry can only hope that her friendships survive the war ...

Franklin Watts

Little Spook

Penny Dolan, Joshua Heinsz
Contributors:
Penny Dolan, Joshua Heinsz

In this story, Little Spook is afraid of something - but none of the Spook family can work out what is frightening him. Then a little firefly comes to the rescue ...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading: Orange stories are perfect for children aged 5+ who are reading at book band 6 (Orange) in classroom reading lessons.

Hodder Children's Books

Binny Bewitched

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Binny in Secret

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Rose's Blog

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

It's tough being the youngest in the Casson family! It is nearly the end of Year 6, and Rose is preparing for Big School. With absent siblings, a perpetually-in-the-shed mother and finally-here-again-father, Rose's Blog reveals what happens to the Cassons - and Tom, of course.Hilary McKay's Casson family was first brought to life in the Whitbread Award-winning Saffy's Angel. Fierce as a small tiger, Permanent Rose has her own way of seeing the world. After Forever Rose (the last of the books following the Casson family), the eponymous Rose continued to grow up. Hilary posted entries from a blog Rose was keeping on her website, chronicling the further adventures of the Cassons. They are available here as one collection for the first time.

Hodder Children's Books

Charlie and the Haunted Tent and Charlie and the Big Snow

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Charlie and the Rocket Boy and Charlie and the Great Escape

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Charlie and the Cheese and Onion Crisps and Charlie and the Cat Flap

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Charlie and the Tooth Fairy and Charlie and the Big Birthday Bash

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Saffy's Angel

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Indigo's Star

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Binny for Short

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

Binny's life has been difficult since her father died and her dreadful old Aunt Violet disposed of her beloved dog, Max. Her world changed then, to a city flat with not enough space for her Mum, her big sister Clem and her small brother James. Definitely no room for a pet.Then one day Aunt Violet dies, leaving a small cottage in Cornwall to Binny and her family. Binny finds herself in a new world once more, full of sunshine and freedom and Gareth, the enemy-next-door and the ideal companion for dangerous dares. But Max is still lost in the past, and it seems impossible that she'll ever find him again...

Hodder Children's Books

Permanent Rose

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

It's a long hot summer - to Permanent Rose it seems never ending. Rose misses Tom, Indigo's friend who went back to America, and new friend David is no replacement. Caddy's fiancee, Michael, tries to cheer her up by delivering a rose every day, but that just provides temporary relief. What with Daddy leaving her mother Eve for younger model Samantha, Caddy getting cold feet, and adoptive sister Saffron deciding to find her real father, no one seems to have time to come to Rose's rescue. But Rose is determined, and in her heart of hearts is sure she will find Tom again - but what else will she find on the way?

Hodder Children's Books

Caddy Ever After

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

It's Valentines Day and everything's changing in the Casson household. Indigo sets out to do something special to win over Sarah and ends up organising the Valentines Day disco and playing cupid. Saffy has a strange new boyfriend who teaches her all about the stars. Sarah falls very ill - when she can no longer laugh it off Saffy gets scared. And Caddy has fallen in love and is getting married ... but not to Michael. With a wedding to plan everything's a little crazier than usual in the Casson household. Especially as the only one who seems to be happy for Caddy is Bill.But it's Permanent Rose who's taking the news the hardest. She made a BIG promise to Michael - how is she going to keep it now?

Hodder Children's Books

Forever Rose

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

It's the Casson Family finale, and Permanent Rose takes centre stage. It's tough being the youngest - Rose is lonely. Her family are always busy doing their own things so Rose comes home to a dark, quiet, empty house every day. Saffy is off with Sarah, Indigo has his paper round and guitar lessons, Eve's in quarantine in the shed, Bill's not much use in London, and who knows where Caddy is since she disappeared with Michael's postcards! The only one around is David and Rose would rather be alone than be with him! At least Rose still has her friends at school: the brilliant Kiran and the nice but boring Molly. But school is no longer a peaceful place where Rose can daydream. Mean Mr Spencer is always shouting about SATs. And now he's cancelled Christmas! But one thing Mr Spencer cant cancel is the Christmas School Trip which means Rose can help Molly with her ONE BIG IDEA ... but what could that be? Will it be a very merry Christmas for Class 6 and the Casson family?

Hodder Children's Books

Caddy's World

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

The Amber Cat

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Dolphin Luck

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

It's Christmas, and the inhabitants of Porridge Hall are suffering from the winter blues. The weather is horrible, Mrs Robinson's ill, and, to top it all off, the Brogan's dog, Old Blanket, dies. So when the children hear the tale of a dolphin sword which brings good fortune, they're determined to track it down . . .Unfortunately, however, Mrs Robinson is in decline, so Ant and Perry are shipped off to stay with Aunt Mabel, while Beany and Sun Dance are left with Mrs Brogan. Aunt Mabel, it transpires, is a silver-haired eccentric living in a menagerie - and not at all what the children expect. Then Sun Dance discovers a burglar, and the mystery of Aunt Mabel is revealed . . .

Hodder Children's Books

The Exiles In Love

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

The four Conroy sisters find themselves falling prey to what Big Grandma calls the 'family failing'. Impracticably. Desperately. Unsuitably. And usually quite hopelessly!Ruth is the hardest hit, falling for the school bus driver, the temporary English teacher and the boy who works at the butcher shop simultaneously. Naomi shares her love for the English teacher, Rachel fancies French visitor Philippe and Phoebe is occupied spying on everybody else! And as always, all four girls seem unable to avoid hilarious situations . . .

Hodder Children's Books

Dog Friday

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay