Saci Lloyd - The Carbon Diaries 2015 - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444906332
    • Publication date:16 Jun 2011

The Carbon Diaries 2015

Book 1

By Saci Lloyd

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A sharp and witty story from an outstanding new author: this is what global warming will really mean to the current teenage generation.

It's January 1st, 2015, and the UK is the first nation to introduce carbon dioxide rationing, in a drastic bid to combat climate change. As her family spirals out of control, Laura Brown chronicles the first year of rationing with scathing abandon. Will her mother become one with her inner wolf? Will her sister give up her weekends in Ibiza? Does her father love the pig more than her? Can her band the dirty angels make it big? And will Ravi Datta ever notice her?

In these dark days, Laura deals with the issues that really matter: love, floods and pigs.

The Carbon Diaries 2015 is one girl's drastic bid to stay sane in a world unravelling at the seams.

Biographical Notes

Before becoming an internationally-acclaimed author and activist, Saci has held down a bewildering variety of non-jobs, including being a storyboard artist, a cartoonist, a singer in a band, an animator and a script editor for Camouflage Films. She recently stepped down as Head of Media at NewVIc, but continues her association with the East London college. Saci's first novel, The Carbon Diaries 2015, was shortlisted for the Costa Book Award and her third book, Momentum, was shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. Momentum is currently in development with Revelation Pictures. Visit her website at www.sacilloyd.com.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340970157
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2008
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Powerful and impressive ... There is backs-to-the-wall fun in this novel. But it is also intensely serious. — Books for Keeps
Simultaneously zany and serious, it's a book successfully opperating on different levels — Ham & High
An engrossing and engaging novel — The Independent on Sunday
A real eye-opener of a book ... told in a funny and interesting way, this book made a good -- if somewhat scary -- read — Esther Hodges, aged 14, First News
Fresh, hugely impressive and very readable — The Irish Times
Loses sight of neither the seriousness of the subject matter nor the reader's funny bone — Financial Times
This book is perfect from cover to cover ... original, clever, funny, well worked out ... A superbly presented great read you'll never forget — Chicklish
A perfect example of how to blend an important message into an entertaining novel — The Independent
An uproarious, scathing and pathos-filled romp -- Adrian Mole does the apocalypse — Financial Times
A brilliant mix of teen drama and bleak British science fiction, this is a cross between Adrian Mole and JG Ballard ... an entertaining, gripping read — Books Quaterly (Waterstones)
Completely gorgeous ... entirely plausible — The Bookbag
Frank, honest and gripping ... should instantly be put onto the GCSE reading list — Hack Writers
It's smart and assy, as all the best teen diary novels are ... But it's also dark and dangerous ... a very, very, very clever book — The Bookbag
An absolutely brilliant read — The Guardian
I thought that it was a brilliant read ... I really want to read the sequel — Rachel Blair, Trinity Academy, Teen Titles
Saci Lloyd's portrayal of an angsty teenager squaring her infatuation with the boy next door and ambitions to be a new punk angel with a state clampdown on everything that powers her lifestyle is smart, funny and all too believable — The Guardian
'Much more than a clanging gong signalling the end of days, this is a charming tale full of laughs and angst, with a message both accessible and relevant to today's teenagers.' — Bookseller's Choice, Publishing News
'It's edgy, it's appealing and it's contemporary and it makes for utterly compelling and frightening reading.' — Lovereadingforkids.co.uk
'an uproarious, scathing and pathos-filled romp - Adrian Mole does the apocalypse.' — Financial Times
'A daunting vision of global chaos.' — Books for Keeps
An absolutely brilliant read. — Guardian
Wayland

I'm an Advanced Scratch Coder

Max Wainewright, Maria Cox
Contributors:
Max Wainewright, Maria Cox

I'm an Advanced Scratch Coder is perfect for those who have mastered the basics of Scratch, and want to try building some more tricky programs before progressing to real-world coding languages. Try writing thirteen different programs in Scratch, and get to grips with key coding concepts like loops, variables and functions.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an HTML Web Page BuilderI'm an App DeveloperI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The BasicsI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan
Orchard Books

Holly the Christmas Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A beautiful full-colour adaptation of the beloved Rainbow Magic special, abridged for younger readers.The King and Queen of Fairyland are all in a fluster. Jack Frost is up to his old tricks and has kidnapped the Christmas elves. Without the elves to make the presents and decorate the trees, there won't be any Christmas this year. Can Rachel and Kirsty save the day, with a little help from Holly the Christmas Fairy?

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

'I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!' Zoella'... this is my new favorite book. I'm proud to be a Moxie girl!' Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the UniverseVivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her high school teachers who think the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes, hallway harassment and gross comments from guys during class. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.Viv's mum was a tough-as-nails, punk rock Riot Grrrl in the '90s, and now Viv takes a page from her mother's past and creates Moxie, a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She's just blowing off steam, but other girls respond and spread the Moxie message. As Viv forges friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, she realises that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution.TIME TO FIGHT LIKE A GIRLA page-turning read with a feminist message, for anyone who has ever had to deal with #everydaysexism'MOXIE is sweet funny and fierce. Read this and then join the fight!' AMY POEHLER

Orion Children's Books

Crooked Kingdom

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Franklin Watts

The Power of Advertising

Ruth Thomson
Authors:
Ruth Thomson
Orion Children's Books

White Storm

M. G. Harris
Authors:
M. G. Harris

Ben Carrington is a member of an elite, top-secret rescue organisation - Gemini Force. When he finds himself and his friends in danger, Ben must compete with hostile ice and storms to pull off their most gruelling mission yet. Impossible rescues. Maximum risk. This is Gemini Force 1.An action-packed new installment, perfect for fans of Charlie Higson, Anthony Horowitz and Robert Muchamore.

Hodder Children's Books

It's the End of the World as We Know It

Saci Lloyd
Authors:
Saci Lloyd
Wayland

Radio Waves

Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Contributors:
Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse

Wayland

Car Wars

Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Contributors:
Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse

Dan's latest work experience trial is at a car yard. All Dan has to do is sell a car. What could possibly go wrong?Freestylers are a range of reading books with low-level text for readers of both sexes with a reading age of 5-7. The engaging stories are perfect for older, struggling readers as well as emerging readers. The books can be used for both guided reading and independent reading. A core character throughout the series of four Funnies titles, provides familiarity, which builds confidence and eases readers from one story to the next, accelerating reading progress.All texts have been checked by reading consultant Dee Reid. Dee is an expert in the field of children's literacy and has produced many award-winning series and some of the best education books and training programmes available to teachers looking to support children's literacy.

Wayland

Dig It!

Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Contributors:
Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse

Wayland

Flower Power

Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Contributors:
Tom Easton, Sophie Escabasse
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Frankie vs The Rowdy Romans

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Wayland

Environment

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

From algae producing oil and driverless cars to Tsunami-proof towns and farmer-bots, welcome to how our environment may look in the near future! Find out all about the mind-blowing science and technology the future has in store for us.

Wayland

Entertainment

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

From 3D printing and tables as loudspeakers to space diving and asteroid resorts, welcome to the future of entertainment! Find out all about the mind-blowing science and technology the future has in store for us.

Wayland

Communication

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

From microchip mobile phones and Google glasses to mind-controlled computers and dream modification, welcome to the future of communication! Find out all about the mind-blowing science and technology the future has in store for us.

Wayland

Medicine

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson
Hodder Children's Books

Monument 14

Emmy Laybourne
Authors:
Emmy Laybourne

Fourteen kids stranded inside a superstore. Inside they have everything they could ever need. There's junk food and clothes, computer games and books, drugs and alcohol ... and without adult supervision they can do whatever they want.Sounds like fun? But outside the world is being ripped apart by violent storms and chemicals leaking into the atmosphere that, depending on blood type, leave victims paranoid, violent or dead. The kids must remain inside, forced to create their own community, unsure if they'll ever be able to leave. Can they stop the world they've created inside from self-destructing too?'Riveting' New York Times'A post apocalyptic wild ride' Huffington Post

Wayland

Wolf Boy

Andrew Fusek Peters
Authors:
Andrew Fusek Peters

A short mystery that's high on suspense! This is a perfect page turner if you want to finish a thriller in one sitting, especially for reluctant and struggling readers. Cool, edgy crime detective duo, Jas and Sam are teens who solve spine-chilling cases - using equal measures of humour and heroism along the way! In this humorous mystery, 'Wolf Boy', Jas and Sam are called to solve the case of an escaped dog. The moon is full and suddenly, a mass of fur and teeth looms out of the shadows towards them. That's no dog - there's a werewolf on the loose!Reading level for this book:-ATOS: 2.4Lexile ® Measure: 340LBook Band: 10 White

Wayland

High Stakes

Andrew Fusek Peters
Authors:
Andrew Fusek Peters