Lucy Daniels - 2: The Curious Kitten - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

2: The Curious Kitten

By Lucy Daniels

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

A junior Animal Ark series by best-selling author Lucy Daniels.

Shamrock is a tabby kitten, with bright green eyes and tiger stripes. Mandy thinks he's very cute - but also very nosy! When Shamrock goes outside for the very first time, he soon runs into trouble . . .

Biographical Notes

Lucy Daniels was born and brought up in the Yorkshire countryside, where she still lives. She has always loved animals. She is a full time writer who gained experience of writing working on Sweet Valley High, Little Sister, and Mystery Club.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340932513
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2007
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

The Dark Wizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Earthquakes and Tsunamis

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Orchard Books

Scaredy-Dog

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are looking after chocolate labrador puppy named Coco for a week. They take the playful little pup to dog training classes, but their classmate Tiffany doesn't want to join in - even though her own puppy, Sparkle, is scared of everything from loud noises to other dogs. When Tiffany hosts a birthday party with loud fireworks, Sparkle gets frightened and bites Coco. Can Sam and Amelia help the poor little scaredy-dog overcome his fears? And will the two puppies ever become friends?Two stories in one for even more animal adventures!

Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
Contributors:
Justin Davies, Kim Geyer

This book STINKS . . . of monsters! A hilariously funny debut, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?

Franklin Watts

The Ancient Egyptians

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Which genius ideas and inventions began with the ancient Egyptians? What did they develop that we use to this day? In this book, aimed at readers aged nine and over, find out how the ancient Egyptians built their temples and pyramids, irrigated and farmed their land, and took care of their people during life and after death. Discover their brilliant developments in farming, paper-making, time-keeping and medicine and how they have influenced the way we live today. The 'Genius Of' series explores the major discoveries, inventions, influence and legacies of key periods in history.

Franklin Watts

Volcanoes and Avalanches

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Look inside natural disasters and discover how they work!Natural disasters devastate communities. They reshape the landscape and can alter people's ways of life in an area for years after the event. Learn all about volcanoes and avalanches. Find out how they form, where they are most to happen and how scientists study them through diagrams and case studies.Explore how natural disasters work by cracking them open and looking at them from the inside. How do they happen? How are they destructive? What happens on the inside of each phenomena? And where in the world are the danger zones? This series explore each of these questions in detail.This series uses detailed artwork, cutaways and images from real-life to give a rounded view of each event. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Wayland

A Guide to Space

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Wayland

Meet the Minibeasts

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Wayland

First Man on the Moon

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

A powerful look at how plastic pollution is becoming the biggest environmental disaster of a generation Once hailed as a miraculous invention, plastic has become the indestructible scourge of our Earth. It has infiltrated every part of our planet, from the deepest oceans to most remote ice fields. It chokes our wildlife, litters our beaches and even pollutes our drinking water. The world is reaching a crisis point.Plastic Planet looks at plastic through the ages, exploring what it is, how it's made and how we have become so dependent on it in a single-use, disposable world. It highlights the social inequality of plastic pollution and explores how plastic has become a widespread and dangerous pollutant that is inextricably linked to climate change. The book looks ahead to possible solutions to our plastic crisis, from global changes such as changing people's mindsets, to innovations such as compostable plastics, to practical solutions such as recycling and bottle return schemes.

Franklin Watts

Who Did That?

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks

This story expores the issue of responsibility and owning up to our actions. In the story, seven-year old Sasha smashes a window by accident but blames her little brother Henry. When Henry runs away Sasha has to confess and say how sorry she is. Sasha's grandma explains how we should always face the consequences of what we've done and things will turn out better that way. The story is suitable for children aged 5+ who are learning to read or for sharing with an adult.The book is a part of the British Values series which explores tricky subjects such as democracy, the rule of law, mutual respect and tolerance through fun illustrated stories. Each book includes teacher notes for discussing the theme of the story.

Franklin Watts

The Town Makeover

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

A Noble History of Knights

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

In Knights, find out all about the very first knights who served King Charlemagne. Battle your way through the Middle Ages with spears, swords and lances and find out about Knights overseas, including what happened during the crusades. Discover the samurai and sipahis - knights from Japan and the Ottoman Empire. Find out whether you'd have the skills to keep the peasants in line, to loyally serve your king, or win a jousting tournament.Blast Through the Past takes a look at some of the most influential jobs (legal or otherwise!) and gets under the skin of of the most famous and infamous, the cleverest and the barmiest people who have shaped history. Take a chronological look at knights, spies, ancient warriors, explorers and more, and discover if you have what it takes to be a pirate on the high seas, an undercover agent or a fearsome gladiator.Blast Through the Past is a series aimed at children aged 8+.

Franklin Watts

In the Home

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Franklin Watts

Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered what made human beings want to reach for the skies by building higher and higher? And how they did it? Learn all about the the history of construction in It'll Never Work: Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels, a book that explores the medieval castles, underwater hotels, tunnels under the sea and the successes and failures that have led to the building feats that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Space

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

What is Space? This is the question that will be explored in this exciting book. Planets, asteroids, space travel and exploration are just some of the incredible topics you will learn about in this book. Discover what they are, what we know about them and how scientists intend to find out more about them.There are eight titles in the series Visual Explorers. High-impact books with incredible information about the world around us. Perfect for KS2 and children aged 7+ with an interest in natural phenomenon and natural history.