Neal Layton - Oscar and Arabella and Ormsby - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Oscar and Arabella and Ormsby

By Neal Layton

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Neal Layton once again captures the magic of the ice age in this tale about friendship.

Oscar and Arabella don't always see tusk to horn in this paperback edition. While two is company, three most definitely seems like a crowd... until one day when Arabella needs their help.

A simple text that perfectly captures the theme of friendship.

Biographical Notes

Neal Layton was born in Chichester, West Sussex. Many of his ideas come he says from his childhood. In the past he has worked on a lettuce farm, in a chocolate factory, a teapot factory, a book shop and has delivered papers. Neal has illustrated more than 40 books to date working with award winning authors such as Michael Rosen and Roger McGough. `Oscar and Arabella` which he both wrote and illustrated won him the Smarties prize in 2003. He now lives in Southsea, Portsmouth with his girlfriend who is also an artist

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340884553
  • Publication date: 07 Feb 2008
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
... it's a hilarious send-up of machismo and rivalry, with an ending that's totally down to earth. — Publishers Weekly
Hodder Children's Books

Frockodile

Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis
Contributors:
Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis

Celebrating acceptance and being who you really are, this joyful story is about Cliff, the crocodile who wants to wear a dress.When the hyenas laugh at Cliff, he pretends he's dressing up for a play. But no play exists! Luckily his friend Freddy comes to the rescue and creates a show for Cliff to star in. But what will his dad say when he sees him?A funny story about inclusion and supporting your friends and family.Jeanne Willis is an award-winning author who has written over 150 books, including The Bog Baby, the Paddington Movie novelisation and Tadpole's Promise.

Hodder Children's Books

Think Big

Kes Gray, Nathan Reed
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Nathan Reed
Orchard Books

A Christmas Carol

Tony Mitton, Mike Redman
Contributors:
Tony Mitton, Mike Redman

A captivating picture book retelling of Charles Dickens' classic tale about the true meaning of Christmas. Mean old Ebenezer Scrooge hates everything. Even Christmas! Until, one frosty Christmas Eve, Scrooge receives a visit from three ghostly spirits, who whisk him away on a magical journey through past, present and future... melting Scrooge's frozen heart, as he discovers the transformative power of kindness. Introduce even the youngest of children to this timeless story and share in the true spirit of Christmas, with this magical picture book retelling - combining an accessible, rhyming text with evocative illustrations.

Hodder Children's Books

The Invincible Tony Spears: Lost in Space

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.When things get too much, Tony climbs aboard his spaceship called The Invincible to chill amongst intergalactic life. But this time, Tony hears some strange noises over his communicator - is it an alien trying to communicate with him, or his new baby sister? Whatever it is, the something is controlling the movements of the spaceship and Tony is sent hurtling towards a parallel universe inhabited by strange creatures called the Blue Bloos. If he has any way of getting home, he will have to work with his friends, old and new ...

Hodder Children's Books

Is it Really Nearly Christmas?

Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Contributors:
Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Hodder Children's Books

When I Was a Child

Andy Stanton, David Litchfield
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, David Litchfield
Hodder Children's Books

P is for Paris

Paul Thurlby
Authors:
Paul Thurlby

A richly illustrated alphabet book - perfect for children and adults alike.See the sights of Paris as never before - through the eyes of award-winning illustrator Paul Thurlby. Join him as he visits the Arc de Triomphe, the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame and the Louvre, as well as discovering some lesser known gems. This unique book is packed to bursting with the sights, sounds and smells of this unique and stunning city.Also look out for: L is for London and NY is for New YorkPraise for Numbers: 'Stunning collection.' Guardian'Paul Thurlby's prints are so ludicrously beautiful that I am seriously tempted to blow the budget, order the whole lot and paper a wall with them.' India Knight, journalist and author

Hodder Children's Books

Wishing for a Dragon

Becky Cameron
Authors:
Becky Cameron

This gorgeous picture book from a debut author-illustrator celebrates the imagination and all adventurous children.The sun has almost set, but Olive, Barney and Ella are wide awake and ready for adventure! Ella wants to go to the jungle, Barney hankers to be a pirate, but Ella has a secret wish . . . to see a dragon! So off they clamber into a hot-air balloon and are whisked away to magical lands. They see pirate teddybears and unicorns and tigers, but will they ever see a dragon? Becky Cameron is an extraordinary new talent with 80,000 Instagram followers. She has also illustrated the NSPCC Paddington Bear picture book to accompany the 2017 M&S Christmas advert. www.beckycameron.co.uk

Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family, the strength of parental love and the wonders of nature.Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish - with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home. With its lyrical storytelling and evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, Jo Weaver's story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child and the majesty of their underwater world. Perfect for fans of BBC's Blue Planet.Jo's previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Hodder Children's Books

Friends for a Day

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

Hole in the Zoo

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen

An exciting new story from the bestselling team behind Kipper, I Will Love You Anyway and Fred. At Upalongdownalong Avenue in the garden at Number 2, there's a hole in the wall that belongs to the Zoo and things have started coming through...Jam-packed with mischievous animals swinging, splashing and crashing through the pages, this energetic rhyming adventure is a breath of fresh air.Praise for Mick Inkpen:'You simply cannot fail to win smiles with a new book about Kipper.' Daily Mail'The charmingly comical Inkpen, as always, hits the spot.' GuardianPraise for Zoe and Beans:'These books will become well-loved members of any child's book collection.' CarouselFor activities, competitions and other fun stuff check out www.chloeinkpen.comMick Inkpen has been a bestselling children's author for over 25 years. He is one of today's most popular picture book author/illustrators and the famous creator of both Kipper and Wibbly Pig. Mick has won the Children's Book Award for Threadbear and the British Book Award twice, for Penguin Small and Lullabyhullaballoo. Kipper won a BAFTA for Best Animated Film. It wasn't until Mick became a father that he began his career in children's books. Now father and daughter have come together for a unique and exciting picture book partnership. Chloë Inkpen grew up surrounded by picture books and has a natural gift for storytelling. A love of language and art saw her swap an English degree course at Nottingham University for a degree in Illustration at the Glasgow School of Art. In her final year Chloë was awarded second place in the Macmillan Prize for Illustration. Chloë's events in schools, libraries and festivals across the UK regularly receive glowing reviews. Mick and Chloë are the co-creators of Hole in the Zoo, the Fred series and the Zoe and Beans series.

Hodder Children's Books

The Invincible Tony Spears and the Brilliant Blob

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

Merry Christmas, Hugless Douglas

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

Danny McGee Drinks the Sea

Andy Stanton, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

The Invincible Tony Spears

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Orchard Books

Bumpus Jumpus Dinosaurumpus

Tony Mitton, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Tony Mitton, Guy Parker-Rees
Hodder Children's Books

Cheer Up Your Teddy Emily Brown

Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton

Emily Brown and her side-kick rabbit, Stanley, are back and this time they're on a mission to cheer up one very unhappy teddy bear. But, no matter what they try, the teddy bear is STILL miserable. Emily Brown has had ENOUGH!With an important message that children will understand, this is storytelling at its best, from an exciting creative team in children's books.'Will both delight fans, and give them something to reflect on. Layton's illustrations are a joy, matching the text perfectly.' - BooksellerWritten by Cressida Cowell, the bestselling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series. http://www.cressidacowell.co.uk/Illustrated by award winning Neal Layton, creator of Stanley's Stick. http://www.neallayton.co.uk/

Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and the Elephant Emergency

Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton

Emily Brown, Stanley the bunny and Matilda the elephant are busy going on adventures, but every time they get to a particularly exciting part . . . Ring! Ring! goes the Emergency Telephone and it's Matilda's mummy on the end worrying that Matilda isn't wearing her wellies, or eating properly or almost anything. How can Emily Brown persuade her that sometimes adventures are good? This brilliant title from this award-winning team is a witty and poignant book about the importance of spending quality time with your children and allowing them to explore the world around them.'A sensitive and witty handling of fears that has a valuable lesson for adults too. Great fun.' - Daily MailWritten by Cressida Cowell, the bestselling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series. http://www.cressidacowell.co.uk/Illustrated by award winning Neal Layton, creator of Stanley's Stick. http://www.neallayton.co.uk/

Orchard Books

Katie: Katie and the Waterlily Pond

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew
Hodder Children's Books

That Rabbit Belongs To Emily Brown

Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton

A stunning reissue of this classic picture book. When the Queen steals Emily Brown's favourite toy and erstwhile companion, a toy rabbit called Stanley, Emily sets out to get him back and teach that naughty queen a valuable lesson! Winner of the 2006 Nestle Gold Award, chosen for the Richard & Judy Christmas book party, a Bookaboo Book Club book as seen on CITV and read by Amanda Holden.'Charming, funny and gets my vote as the best picture book of the year.' - Financial TimesWritten by Cressida Cowell, the bestselling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series. http://www.cressidacowell.co.uk/Illustrated by award winning Neal Layton, creator of Stanley's Stick.http://www.neallayton.co.uk/