Gill Munton - Superphonics: Green Storybook: The Zebrapotamus - Hachette Children's Group

Superphonics: Green Storybook: The Zebrapotamus

By Gill Munton
Illustrated by Neal Layton

  • Paperback
  • £3.50

Part of a series of graded readers using the highly acclaimed Superphonics approach. 'The Zebrapotamus' focuses on the following sounds: double consonants, e.g. 'll' as in 'hill', blended consonants, e.g. 'ng' as in 'long' and two or three consonants together, e.g. 'gl' as in 'glad', and 'nd' as in 'band'.

This Green Storybook will help children to learn to read using Ruth Miskin's highly effective Superphonics method. There are four levels in the Storybook series - Blue (the easiest), Green, Purple and Turquoise (the hardest). Each level is linked to one of the core Superphonics books. Green Storybooks practise the sounds taught in Superphonics Book 3.



All the Storybooks are fun to read and beautifully designed and illustrated in colour.

Biographical Notes

Gill Munton is an experienced editor and writer of primary school material. She has written stories for reading schemes, workbooks, short stories and a number of differentiated texts, fiction and non-fiction. Gill was a managing editor before becoming a freelance writer and editor of children's and educational books in 1995.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340798935
  • Publication date: 14 Feb 2002
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Children using Superphonics will move ahead faster than others in their class. — The Daily Telegraph (July 2000)
Ruth Miskin's results - objectively tested against the rest of the country - seem to speak for themselves. — Sunday Express (November 2000)
...it [Superphonics] is the best. — TES (September 2000)
Superphonics Storybooks from Hodder offer a welcome structure. — Right Start
Orchard Books

Ten Little Aliens

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Hodder Children's Books

A Bite in the Night

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books. 'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)Rabbit is surprised: some of the trees in the valley seem to be flying south for the winter. His friend Bear is sure that trees can't fly.Then there's a loud CRUNCH! from Very Near By. It sounds like the world's largest rabbit, eating the world's largest carrot. There's a new creature in Rabbit and Bear's valley, and he's trying to Change Everything. From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, Progess, and all kinds of getting muddy.'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman

Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Contributors:
Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff

There's no ducking out - it's time for this ordinary, wise-quacking duck to become . . . A Hero!Ay, chihuahua! Adventure Duck and his zebra sidekick, Ziggy, have a spicy new mission. Their nemesis, Power Pug, has a dastardly new scheme to take over the world with a range of mind-control chocolate treats. With the help of a llama with projectile spit, Adventure Duck and Ziggy set out to foil the pug's nefarious plans to dig up the rainforest to build an enormous chocolate factory. But an army of armadillos stands in their way... Can the superhero amigos find a chink in the armadillos' armour and save the rainforest from destruction?

Hodder Children's Books

Hello Moon

Francesca Simon
Authors:
Francesca Simon
Orchard Books

Glitterhoof's Secret Garden

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Aisha and Emily as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Orchard Books

Sparklesplash and the Mermaid Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Aisha and Emily as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Orchard Books

The Little Mermaid

Geraldine McCaughrean, Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett
Contributors:
Geraldine McCaughrean, Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett

Hans Christian Andersen's entrancing tale of love, set between land and sea, is retold by renowned storyteller Geraldine McCaughrean and brought to life in magical silhouette artwork by illustrator Laura Barrett. When she falls in love with a prince, the little mermaid persuades a sea witch to replace her tail with legs so she can live on land. But the price demanded by the wicked sea witch is great: the mermaid's beautiful voice . . .

Wren & Rook

How Did I Get Here?

This is the unathorised biography of you. Charting your incredible journey from Big Bang to birth (in about the time it takes to eat your breakfast), Philip Bunting's hilarious and one of a kind history of evolution was created to raise more questions than it answers. Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Chris Haughton.

Wren & Rook

A Planet Full of Plastic

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Epic Sticker Book

Read all about the Pokémon of Alola then add your stickers to complete the Pokédex. Plus, there are lots of fun activities with Ash and Pikachu and over 1,000 stickers!

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry: Up, Up and Away

Francesca Simon
Authors:
Francesca Simon

Number One for fiendish fun!Four brand-new, wickedly funny and totally brilliant stories featuring the inimitable Horrid Henry! Contains four stories:Horrid Henry: Up, Up and AwayHorrid Henry Changes HistoryHorrid Henry Steals the ShowHorrid Henry and the Zoom of Doom Illustrated by Tony Ross, these timeless stories offer an irresistible introduction to reading for pleasure, featuring one of the best-loved characters in children's fiction.

Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Orchard Books

Monica the Marshmallow Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Kirsty and Rachel are delighted to be invited to Fairyland for the annual Candy Harvest. But when Monica the Marshmallow Fairy's magical object goes missing, they find themselves in a sticky situation! Can the girls defeat Jack Frost in time to save the Fairyland Sweet Factory from a bitter end?

Hodder Children's Books

The Pest in the Nest

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

Gorgeously illustrated and with a classic feel, this is a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and a bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend. Ideal for readers moving on from picture books.'A perfect animal double-act.' (The Times, Book of the Week)'PEACE AND QUIET,' shouts Rabbit. 'THAT'S ALL I WANT.'Owch. He's hurt his own ears again.What with Bear's snoring, and a BANG!BANG!BANG! noise from up in the tree, Rabbit knows that Something Simply Has To Be Done.But high in the branches, perhaps Bear can show Rabbit how to see the world from a different place ...From novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, this is a tale of friendship, wisdom, and how to be REALLY NOISY.'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil Gaiman*Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award and the Children's Book of the Year in the Irish Book Awards*

Wayland

You are Stardust

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Another brand-new Rainbow Magic story featuring YouTube star Tiana from Toys AndMe!Join Kirsty and Rachel for another adventure with Tiana the Toy Fairy! When Jack Frost steals Tiana's magical candy key, the magical Land of Sweets is under threat. Can the three friends get it back before Fairyland turns sour?

Orion Children's Books

The Loch Ness Monster Spotters

Tony De Saulles
Authors:
Tony De Saulles

A charming and humorous Early Reader story about one of the world's best known mythical monsters, from HORRIBLE SCIENCES illustrator Tony De Saulles.Meet the McFee family. They are Loch Ness Monster spotters. They wear Loch Ness T-shirts, Loch Ness hats and Loch Ness badges. But the Loch Ness Monster spotting family have one problem. They have never EVER spotted the Loch Ness Monster!Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books perfect for building confidence in new readers and reluctant readers. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Orchard Books

Molly Twinkletail

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Lucy Longwhiskers

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!On their first adventure in Friendship Forest, can the two friends rescue adorable baby bunny Lucy Longwhiskers from the wicked witch Grizelda?

Orchard Books

Fern the Green Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! Join Rachel and Kirsty as they search a secret garden and a magical maze to try to find Fern the Green Fairy.