Gill Munton - Superphonics: Green Storybook: The Zebrapotamus - Hachette Children's Group

Superphonics: Green Storybook: The Zebrapotamus

By Gill Munton
Illustrated by Neal Layton

  • Paperback
  • £3.50

Part of a series of graded readers using the highly acclaimed Superphonics approach. 'The Zebrapotamus' focuses on the following sounds: double consonants, e.g. 'll' as in 'hill', blended consonants, e.g. 'ng' as in 'long' and two or three consonants together, e.g. 'gl' as in 'glad', and 'nd' as in 'band'.

This Green Storybook will help children to learn to read using Ruth Miskin's highly effective Superphonics method. There are four levels in the Storybook series - Blue (the easiest), Green, Purple and Turquoise (the hardest). Each level is linked to one of the core Superphonics books. Green Storybooks practise the sounds taught in Superphonics Book 3.



All the Storybooks are fun to read and beautifully designed and illustrated in colour.

Biographical Notes

Gill Munton is an experienced editor and writer of primary school material. She has written stories for reading schemes, workbooks, short stories and a number of differentiated texts, fiction and non-fiction. Gill was a managing editor before becoming a freelance writer and editor of children's and educational books in 1995.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340798935
  • Publication date: 14 Feb 2002
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Children using Superphonics will move ahead faster than others in their class. — The Daily Telegraph (July 2000)
Ruth Miskin's results - objectively tested against the rest of the country - seem to speak for themselves. — Sunday Express (November 2000)
...it [Superphonics] is the best. — TES (September 2000)
Superphonics Storybooks from Hodder offer a welcome structure. — Right Start
Orchard Books

Padma the Pirate Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Hugless Douglas and the Baby Birds

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

Join Douglas for springtime magic in a new adventure. This bestselling series has sold over 1.6 million copies to date in 26 languages!When a nest full of eggs comes crashing down Hugless Douglas offers to look after them until Swoopy Bird has built a new home. But Douglas soon discovers a hug is not enough to keep a little egg safe. David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his ninth book about Douglas the brown bear is as funny and compelling as the first. It combines brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.'A new Hugless Douglas book is always a cause for celebration.' - Daily Mail

Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of Happy

Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Contributors:
Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar

A beautiful exploration of feelings shown through colour as one little boy navigates a range of emotions - from happiness and excitement to hope and love, all on his way to present a gift to his mum.Blue is for the calm I feel wandering in the spring.Yellow is for happy when I spot a special thing.This book is the perfect introduction to both emotions and colours.

Orchard Books

Happy to Be Me

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd

A fun-filled, rhyming book celebrating bodies of all kinds, from Emma Dodd, the bestselling author-illustrator of Forever and Sometimes.Thank you, hands, you touch and hold.Ears, you hear the things I'm told.Thank you, eyes, you let me see. Oh, I'm so happy to be me!From arms that let us hug, to feet that are perfect for tickling ... our bodies are amazing. And the most important thing of all? Our hearts that let us love!Emma Dodd's simple, heartfelt story offers children and their parents a way of talking easily, and with gratitude, about their bodies and the wonderful things they can do. This is the perfect way to build body confidence and self-esteem in even the youngest children!Look out for these other amazing books from Emma Dodd (written by Giles Andreae):I Love YouI Love My MummyI Love My DaddyI Love My GrandmaI Love My GrandadI Love My PuppyI Love My BirthdayI Love My DinosaurI Love My Teacher

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Alien

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

Aliens at the door can only mean trouble in this hilarious rhyming counting book that is out of this world! A little girl is in for an interstellar adventure when the noisy space invaders hijack her house to get home. Can she get back down to Earth - without waking Gran?!The follow-up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur and Knock Knock Pirate - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of Supermarket Zoo, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.

Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Hodder Children's Books

Everybunny Dream

Ellie Sandall
Authors:
Ellie Sandall
Orchard Books

Cinderella

Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Contributors:
Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Franklin Watts

Anansi and the Box of Stories

Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Pirate

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

A rhyming pirate counting book with a difference - the follow up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of How to Grow a Dinosaur, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.A visit from a pirate might sound like fun . . . but when the Captain's whole crew turn up too - causing mayhem and chaos - it's time for this little girl to panic. What is Dad going to say when he gets home?!Caryl Hart has won the Stockport Children's Book Award, the Oldham Brilliant Books Award, the Rotherham Children's Book Award, and has been shortlisted for the Red House Children's Book Award.Follow Caryl at carylhart.com and @carylhart1 Find Nick at nickeastillustration.com

Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Hodder Children's Books

Santa Claude

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Orchard Books

Alola Adventure

Gotta Catch 'Em All! A fantastic full-colour early reader that Pokémon's youngest fans have been waiting for!Ash and his mum are on holiday in the Alola region, along with Pikachu and Mimey, and having a great time. Join Ash for a new adventure, exciting challenges and of course - more Pokémon battles!

Pat-a-Cake

First Writing

Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down

Give your children a head start at primary school with this essential wipe-clean activity book.A fun and engaging First Writing activity book that will give children a head start as they get to grips with handwriting at school. Designed to complement the National Curriculum, it gently introduces children to handwriting skills and equips parents with the tools and information needed to support them. The consultant-approved activities are fun to do and combined with funny pictures and silly jokes that children will love. The first steps to school success!This book includes: Carefully chosen practice words that increase a child's vocabulary. Directional instructions for right and left-handed children. Wipe-clean pen. Also available: First Phonics, First Numbers, First Day, First Phonics Flash Cards, Times Tables Flash Cards

Orchard Books

Magical Story Collection

A luxurious padded treasury containing FIVE bumper stories about magic and friendship, starring your favourite My Little Pony friends!Twilight Sparkle and her My Little Pony friends have decided to write a journal to tell YOU all about their best adventures! This magical story collection contains hours of storytelling fun: discover how the pony friends stop mischievous Discord from destroying Equestria; join them as they explore a spooky castle; find out how the Magic of Friendship is the most powerful magic of all . . . and much, MUCH more!With a padded hardback cover and super sparkly pink foil, this is the perfect gift for Pony fans!My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic TV series is the number 1 series on TinyPop and PopTV, and is also available to stream on Netflix and BinWeevils.Brand-new feature film with star-studded cast coming to cinemas across the UK in Autumn 2017!Look out for more brilliant stories about your My Little Pony friends:The Big Book of EquestriaPrincess Cadance's Royal HolidayMagical Baby Flurry HeartRace Day in Rainbow FallsTwilight Sparkle and the Crystal EmpireAdventure in Everfree Forest!The Secret of Gabby GumsA Springtime SurpriseCutie Mark Crusaders Forever

Orchard Books

My A to Z of Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

The final collection of four brand new utterly horrid stories; Horrid Henry's Bake-Off sees Henry and Margaret go head-to-head in a hotly contested baking competition, Henry triumphantly reveals his top tips in Horrid Henry's Extra Horrid Guide to Perfect Parents, he reads an interesting book about Evil Evie, a really naughty girl not too dissimilar to himself in Horrid Henry's Bad Book, and conjures up an ancient cannibal's curse to deal with his enemies and small, annoying brother in Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse.Horrid Henry is illustrated by Tony Ross, who also illustrates David Walliams' children's books, as well as his own picture books.

Hodder Children's Books

The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

A celebrated classic which continues to delight millions of children. Kipper has found a soggy blue balloon in the garden. At first, it seems like an ordinary balloon, but it's not. It's full of fun and magic. This is a book to be treasured, loved, read time and time again, with fantastic fold out pages.