Mwenye Hadithi - Greedy Zebra - Hachette Children's Group

Greedy Zebra

By Mwenye Hadithi
Illustrated by Adrienne Kennaway

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

The story of how all the animals chose their clothing, except for Greedy Zebra, who had to take the left-over pieces . . .

When the animals discovere a cave full of furs and skins, they discarde their drab skins for glossy new ones. Greedy zebra, arrives late, after a delicious snack, only to find a few stripes of black cloth. He squeezes into them but Greedy Zebra iis too big for them and his new coat bursts open!

The story of how all the animals chose their clothing, except for Greedy Zebra, who had to take the left-over pieces . . .

Biographical Notes

Author: Mwenye Hadithi was born in Nairobi in a rambling brick and wood house surrounded by ten acres. His early life was full of animals. He attended London University, studying languages and foreign literature. When his first attempts at short stories and radio plays were sold immediately, he decided to be the next great African Writer.

Illustrator: Adrienne Kennaway moved from Kenya to London when she was 15 to study at the Ealing School of Art. Later she attended L'Academia de Belle Arte in Rome. It was on her return to Kenya that she began illustrating the picture books that have made her well known.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340409121
  • Publication date: 15 Apr 2004
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
An exceptionally attractive picture book. — The Junior Bookshelf
A book with much to offer. — Books for Keeps
A book that both adult and child will welcome. — Junior Education
Orchard Books

Secret Agent Elephant

Eoin McLaughlin
Authors:
Eoin McLaughlin

Watch out, supervillains. There's a new spy in town . . .Secret Agent 00 Elephant has struggled through his secret service tests and how he's ready to take on his first spy mission: to find feline supervillain Vincent le Morte and stop him from destroying the world.He just needs to stay away from those mini pizzas . . .Good luck, Agent Elephant. The world is counting on you. AND REMEMBER: DO NOT GET DISTRACTED BY THE MINI-PIZZAS!

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn Eats Christmas

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Orchard Books

My Pet Star

Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Contributors:
Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw

A magical story about the importance of kindness.When a little girl finds a lost star, she takes it home and cares for it, just like a beloved pet. She reads it stories, makes it special snacks and tucks it into bed at night. The more she cares for the star, the brighter it glows. Until, one day, it's time to let go ... A heartfelt story about caring for others, from BAFTA award-winning writer and CILIP Greenaway-nominated author Corrinne Averiss. Perfect for sharing at bedtime.

Franklin Watts

Max is Cooking

Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Pink 1B stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 1B (Pink) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, Max is cooking in the mud kitchen. But will anyone want to try it?

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Hodder Children's Books

Happy Easter, Tooth Fairy!

Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Garry Parsons

Everyone's favourite fairy meets everyone's favourite bunny in this rhyming Easter egg hunt!The Tooth Fairy helps the Easter Bunny hide eggs inside wellington boots, under logs and inside a wheelbarrow. All is set for the Easter egg hunt until one of the children loses her wobbly tooth! Will the Tooth Fairy come to the rescue?Following the much-loved The Tooth Fairy's Christmas and The Tooth Fairy's Royal Visit - from Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner Peter Bently and Garry Parsons, the bestselling illustrator of The Dinosaur That Pooped series.Praise for The Tooth Fairy's Christmas: 'Garry Parsons does both characters proud with his swirling, atmospheric illustrations.' - Independent

Wayland

It Wasn't Me! - Learning About Honesty

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

This classic picture book, illustrated by internationally-renowned artist, Mike Gordon, explains to young children why it's good to be a champion truth teller and have the courage to own up when they do something wrong. This book is part of a series called Values, which helps children to develop their own value system and make responsible decisions. Notes for parents and teachers show how ideas in the books can be used as starting points for further discussion at home and in the classroom or in assemblies. Other titles in the Values series: Learning About Respect and Taking Responsibility

Hodder Children's Books

Sleepy Cheetah

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway

An African tale with a traditional feel, celebrating the speed and grace of the Cheetah - a brand-new title in this successful series of African folktales.Long ago, Cheetah was sandy-coloured and lay snoozing all day on the Great African Plain. There was no need to run to hunt because animals tripped over her. But one day there is a fire, and all the other animals are fleeing. This is the story of how Cheetah got her markings, and discovered that she can run as fast as the wind. The first book in the series - Greedy Zebra - was published in 1984 and the series has stayed in print ever since.Praise for the series: 'Their books are beautiful to look at and to feel, and perect for reading aloud.' School Librarian'A delightful book.' Books For Keeps

Hodder Children's Books

Running Rhino

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway

Rhino runs everywhere. And as he runs, he leaves a wake of devastation in his path. The other animals are fed up of this rampant running and so Lion confronts him, telling him he must stop. Rhino refuses and challenges anyone to try and stop him. Out of all the animals it is little Tickbird who takes up his challenge, with interesting results!

Hodder Children's Books

Bumping Buffalo

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Hodder Children's Books

Cross Crocodile

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Hodder Children's Books

Handsome Hog

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway

On the Great Grassy African Plain Handsome Hog had a beautiful smooth coat and an extremely elegant tail. This is the story of how Handsome Hog lost his looks and became known as Warthog to the other animals.Mwenye Hadithi is a pen name and means a story-teller in Swahili.

Hodder Children's Books

Enormous Elephant

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Hodder Children's Books

Laughing Giraffe

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway

In the days long ago, Giraffe was the noisiest animal on the Great African Plain. He shouted a lot and he laughed all the time. This is the story of how the littlest Egret proved to Laughing Giraffe that you don't need to be loud to be heard.

Hodder Children's Books

Baby Baboon

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway

Leopard is hungry, but he is also lazy. How will he catch his dinner? Leopard recruits the help of Baboon and Baby Baboon to trap Hare whom he plans to eat for his dinner. But Leopard is outwitted and Baby Baboon laughs and laughs.This is the story of how Leopard came to lie in wait in the trees and why you just might hear Baby Baboon laughing and laughing.

Hodder Children's Books

Crafty Chameleon

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway

Tormented every morning by leopard and bullied by crocodile, the clever little chameleon decides to play a trick on them. He manages to get the better of his two oppressors without them even knowing how he did it! This is the story of why Crafty Chameleon changes colour and hides when he hears you coming.

Wayland

I Don't Care - Learning About Respect

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

This classic picture book, illustrated by the award-winning artist Mike Gordon, explains to young children what it means to be a respectful member of society and the importance of having respect for other people's needs. It suggests ways of doing this, such as giving up your seat in a public place so that an elderly person can sit down. It encourages children to think about what respect means to them and looks at why it is important to have respect for library books, rules, animals, public places, as well as the concept of self-respect. This book is part of a series called Values, which helps children to develop their own value system and make responsible decisions. Notes for parents and teachers show how ideas in the books can be used as starting points for further discussion at home and in the classroom or in school assemblies.Other titles in the Values series: Taking Responsibility and Learning About Honesty

Wayland

I'm Worried

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon

This classic picture book, illustrated by award-winning Mike Gordon, helps young children with feelings of anxiety and worry they may feel in their early years. From feeling left out when playing with friends, taking a test, or speaking in a school assembly, to a stay in hospital or seeing other family members worry during anxious times, this book suggests ways that can help children put their worries into perspective.This book is part of the Your Feelings series, which examines feelings in an amusing but ultimately reassuring way. Each book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with their emotions.Other titles in the series: I Feel Bullied and It's Not Fair

Wayland

I Feel Jealous

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon