Rae Earl - Hachette Children's Group

Rae Earl



Rae Earl (author)
Rae Earl was born in Stamford, Lincolnshire in 1971. After some adequate schooling she went to Hull University & won the Phillip Larkin prize for a frankly magnificent dissertation. She then did every job in a radio station except 'accountant'. Her books My Mad Fat Diary and My Madder Fatter Diary have been made into a TV show that is shown in more than 50 countries worldwide. My Mad Fat Diary has been nominated for a host of awards, includng two BAFTAS.
Rae lives in Hobart, Australia where she is currently writing, amongst other things, a TV drama about a female soccer team.

Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Wren & Rook

It's All In Your Head

Rae Earl, Jo Harrison
Contributors:
Rae Earl, Jo Harrison

"A warm hug of a book ... a true gem" BuzzfeedThis witty, honest and enlightening guide to the whirrings of your brain is the perfect read for any young person who's ever felt overwhelmed, at a loss or in a downward spiral. From the author of My Mad Fat Diary, Rae Earl, it's full of friendly advice, coping strategies and laugh-out-loud moments to get you through the difficult days. Most of all, this is a book from someone who gets it - someone who won't try and fob you off with confusing jargon or irritating slogans, but instead will help you through it with a smile and a cup of tea on hand.Rae says: As a teenager, I was very adept at hiding my OCD, my anxiety, my depression and my eating disorders. That's why I've written this book - because I hate to think of any teen going through what I did, and feeling like they can't talk about it, or need to hide it. So let's break down some taboos and start a conversation. I want to help you come out the other side feeling happier and healthier, with a deeper understanding of what's going on in your head and how to navigate through life without feeling overwhelmed or isolated. Where my lack of medical background becomes an issue, Dr Radha swoops in to the rescue. As a GP, mental-health expert and co-host of BBC Radio 1's The Surgery, I've worked with her to make sure all the information and advice is spot-on. She's clever, she's kind and she GETS it. I wish my teenage brain had had access to Dr Radha.This is a book for fans of Gemma Cairney and Open, Ruby Wax and Frazzled, Matt Haig and Reasons to Stay Alive, Bryony Gordon and Mad Girl. And most importantly, it's a book to make you feel like you're not alone. You're really, really not.