Phil Earle - Hachette Children's Group

Phil Earle



Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. In 2016, Phil was appointed as Reading charity BookTrust's new writer-in-residence. He lives on a hill in Yorkshire with his wife and three children and his favourite place to write is on the bus. Visit Phil's website, www.philearle.com, or follow him on twitter @philearle.
Orion Children's Books

Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

Phil Earle
Authors:
Phil Earle

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand.Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Orion Children's Books

Grandad's Medal

Phil Earle, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sarah Horne
Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

The third hilarious children's novel from Demolition Dad and Superhero Street author Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams. Winner of the Hull Children's Book Award. Masher is the bully of Storey Street. No one ever dares stand up to him and that's the way he likes it. But then Jemima and her family move into the plot of land next door. Jemima isn't afraid of him at all, and she's making him look like a bit of a wimp. To Masher, that just means one thing: war. (At least until teatime...)

Orion Children's Books

Superhero Street

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Elsie's always known that there's something a little bit magical about her Grandma's biscuit tin, and when she discovers that it can grant wishes, there's only one thing she wants - chocolate! But Elsie's wish to turn everything she touches into chocolate (even Grandma!) soon causes chaos.Can she get the magic biscuit tin to grant her one last wish to help change everything back? The second Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed. His first Early Reader, ALBERT AND THE GARDEN OF DOOM, and his first middle-grade title, DEMOLITION DAD, were released in 2015.

Orion Children's Books

Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

CBBC Book of the Month, June 2017Perfect for fans of David Walliams, Roald Dahl and Liz Pichon, this is a hilarious and warm-hearted story about family, friends and wrestling by multi-award-shortlisted author Phil Earle, illustrated by award-winning artist, Sara Ogilvie.This is the story of Jake Biggs and his dad, George. George spends all week knocking down buildings ... and all weekend knocking down wrestlers! He's the Demolition Man, and Jake couldn't be prouder. But when Jake hears about a pro-wrestling competition in the USA, and persuades his beloved dad to apply, things don't quite turn out the way he expected ...Phil Earle's first novel for younger readers of 9-11, DEMOLITION DAD is DANNY THE CHAMPION OF THE WORLD in Spandex, a book bursting with humour and heart. Perfect for Father's Day this June!

Orion Children's Books

Albert and the Garden of Doom

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Albert LOVES football. But he HATES the Garden of Doom next door. He's always kicking his footballs into it, and he can't go and get them back - Mr Creaky lives next door, and Albert is terrified of him. But when he kicks his friend Errol's ball into the Garden of Doom, Albert knows that he has to be brave. Could there be more to Mr Creaky than meets the eye? Could he be a jewel thief? A wizard? A secret agent?Albert doesn't know... but he's about to find out!The first Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortlisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed.