Mark Illis - Hachette Children's Group

Mark Illis



Mark Illis has written extensively for TV - including EastEnders, The Bill and Emmerdale. He also wrote the award-winning screenplay for Before Dawn. He has had three adult novels published by Bloomsbury, and more recently two by Salt. The Impossible won a Northern Writers Award in 2015. He lives in West Yorkshire with his wife and two children.
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: On the Run

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible

Mark Illis, Bimpe Alliu
Contributors:
Mark Illis, Bimpe Alliu

When Hector Coleman and his mates genetically mutate overnight, their lives change in impossible ways ... A comic-book inspired adventure for fans of Stephen King and Charlie Higson.Hector Coleman. Just your average angst-ridden teenager, living a normal rubbish life in a normal rubbish town with, let's face it, a rubbish name. But then all the teens in Hector's small town develop weird mutations, and not in a superhero-type way. Someone gets transparent skin, someone else starts breathing fire ... and that doesn't end well. What the hell is going on? Hector and his friends need to find out, before it's too late.It's a bit like Stranger Things, only stranger. Everything has changed. Apart from Hector's name. And his girl trouble. And his embarrassingly low number of Twitter followers. All those things, unfortunately, stay the same. For now ...A warm, funny novel about friendship, family, and being different - oh, plus aliens, mutants and some serious scares ... 'This is one of the weirdest books I have read - I loved it! If you ever imagined that people who get special gifts always turn out to be super-heroes, think again ... a sort of cross between super-hero story, sci-fi, detective story, love story ... More like this, please.' Melvin Burgess